We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor meal in the "Lounge Bar"”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stopped off for a light lunch and was disappointed by the quality of the food. We both had sandwiches, me a hot steak and onion sandwich and my husband a club sandwich. The sandwich arrived in dry toasted cheap bread, we had to ask for butter. The fillings were well cooked but in small quantities. We were told as we had eaten them they must have been OK!! Expensive poor café style food with staff that clearly need to go on customer care courses...they were politely rude. Lovely setting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 237 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have stayed many times at the Royal in Comrie and have enjoyed all my visits, both for accommodation and food. On New Years Eve, Hogmanay, we were given a generous Scottish experience. We enjoyed afternoon tea, canapes and champagne, viewing the Comrie fireworks on the bridge, a gala dinner and the Comrie traditional Flambeaux parade, starting at the Melville Square, outside the hotel. The staff were very busy all day and evening, (and the following day) but were friendly and welcoming, at all times.

Room Tip: All rooms comfortable but some with views over the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I spent last night at the bar for Hogmaney and thought I'd have a 'Scottish' experience. Instead the juke box was blaring out very loud music making it impossible to have a conversation. The young staff were asked to turn it down and they turned the volume down 2 notches making to difference at all. The foreign visitors must have been utterly disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Geraldine2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My daughter and I stopped here for lunch, the food was excellent and the staff polite, friendly but not obtrusive. Toilets clean, molton brown toiletries were a nice touch. Would recommend and definitely return

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen65_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently stayed here with a shooting party , the hotel is very cosy , rooms first class and dinner was excellent , great value for money and very homely , would stay again without doubt or even call in for a meal

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

we stayed in room 1, suite like in size with a sitting area, daybed and comfy armchair, The biggest surprise was having a log fire in the working fireplace. Comfortable superking ironwork four poster with blankets rather than a duvet. White tiled bathroom with molton brown toiletries and numerous towels of various shapes and sizes. Some wear and tear to the rugs and old fashioned furniture but this added to the charm. Only real criticism of the room was that the tv was miniscule
Pleasant bar and adjacent sitting area with another log fire
We were there on a sunday with few guests so that is probably why there was no fire on in the attractive library which had couches and armchairs. It was accordingly somewhat cold.
Dinner was,bar one course, of a good standard
the thai crab cakes were stuffed with crab and not overspiced and the dipping sauce had a chili bite to it. main dishes had fresh vegetables rather than frozen. The sticky toffee pudding and chocolate pudding were excellent. The only but was my steak and ale pie. Clearly made in house the pastry was not fully cooked and the chips overcooked. The meat itself was tender.
Breakfast on the other hand could not be faulted. The toast was hot which is not always the case in hotels. Excellent sausages, bacon and black pudding. Both my wife's fried egg and my scrambled were freshly made for us.
helpful staff and the barman wine waiter having actually drunk the wines we were interested in was able to recommend the one we chose which was spot on.House wines were just over £16 and our decent marlborough sauvignon blanc just over £22.
we will certainly be returning and cannot recommend room 1 too highly. Bed and breakfast for the two of us in that room was £180

Room Tip: it has to be room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jock16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The ambience is good, the Staff are welcoming and friendly, definitely the best Breakfasts' I have encountered in UK - the Kitchen is to be complimented.

I enjoyed staying at this hotel, the Lounge and Bar areas have a Country House feel - warm, welcoming and intentionally old fashioned. One feels - just comfortable. What more can one say.
The open fire in the Lounge Bar was marvellous after the chill of the outside.

Comrie is well positioned for exploring Central Scotland and the Autumn colours at this time of the year are staggeringly beautiful. I travelled up Loch Earn past St Fillans and over to
Killin and there cannot be many places in the World that can be scenically more beautiful.

I would have rated this Excellent but for the Attic Room, no fault of the present owner, just the construction limitations of an old building. However I felt this should have been taken into account in the Tariff.

Room Tip: I was, unfortunately, on the top floor, Room 8. I gather the lower floor rooms are better, so req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comrie
5.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
938 reviews
5.2 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
814 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
304 reviews
5.9 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Melville Square, Comrie PH6 2DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Comrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Price Range: $122 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Comrie
The Royal Hotel Comrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing