We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Comrie Hotel(Comrie)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achray House Hotel(St. Fillans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cromlix(Kinbuck)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardeonaig Hotel(Ardeonaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Clachan Cottage Hotel(Lochearnhead)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
105
76
27
26
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
76
27
26
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour posterlounge barfirst floorlog firepublic roomsboth nightscomfortable hotelfirst classfull scottishpre dinner drinksbrown toiletriesgreat nightyoung manfront of houseroast beefqueen victoriaperiod furniture
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 241 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2012. Booked through Itison voucher deal. Rooms were clean although a bit small and dated. Our window wouldn't stay open without the help of a shoe or hair brush, but we coped. Found the bathroom a bit tired looking, but liked the added touch of Molton Brown sample toiletries. Staff were ok, tended to be a bit distant, but felt approachable enough.

Could not fault the breakfast, huge! Couldn't finish it and good selection to choose from.

Don't know if I would pay the going tarriff at the hotel as feel it is a bit on the high side for the quality of rooms, but if you are looking to travel around the glens it is a great base. Pity Comrie doesn't have more plaes to eat though.

Room Tip: Maybe the four poster room is the nicest, rooms not as shown on the web site.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This could be a wonderful hotel but at the moment they are charging far too much for poor quality rooms. One room we stayed in was very pokey with nowhere to put anything in the bathroom; beds were comfortable but ghastly black satin eiderdowns which fell off all night so did not sleep well. Another room we stayed in was much nicer but over the dining room and after dinner the staff dragged the tables back for breakfast, on one occasion - a Saturday night - the noise went on until well after midnight,accompanied by chatter and laughing.

There was a big hole in the carpet leading to some of the bedrooms - a definite trip hazard. We were told it was booked in for repair next February! Carpet was also very grubby and badly worn on the stairs - also dangerous. Most of the staff were pleasant but it felt as though no-one was really in overall charge. Yet they were charging £140 a night for a standard room - very standard!

The menu was passable but although we were there for several days the Chef's Specials stayed the sAame every single night. Breakfast very average. Muesli offered but never available.

Overall, they were extremely busy in all areas of the hotel - rooms, bar, dining room - obviously taking a considerable amount of money. This needs to be re- invested back into the rooms - saying that a carpet cannot be replaced or cleaned until the quiet season in February is nonsense. A carpet can be replaced in a few hours, much cheaper option than being sued when a guest trips and falls downstairs!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swanphoto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

By far and away a treasure of a hotel! Sunday lunch is an absolute treat! This hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere but with all the style and promise of a boutique hotel. A very welcoming bar and lounge area equipped for either a nestle down with the sunday papers or a family game of cards or scrabble. The menu was traditional and did not scrimp on portions. We love traditional cooking and to have kidneys, followed by Aberdeen Angus carved at the table(by chef!) with all the trimmings followed by sticky toffee pudding was an absolute delight! our two children both thrilled with smoked trout and salmon / gruyere mushhrooms and roast beef and lemon sole folowed by hot choc pudding and crepes yum yum! a great wine list to boot. will def be back and would sincerely recommend too!

Room Tip: childrens activities include baord games but thats not why you would come to this little gem of a hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I dropped by for lunch today, and was pleasantly surprsied by this hotel. I've drive past it many times, but only visited it once before. Lunch in the bar was a pleasant affair, the two staff who served me were courteous and prompt.

I had hoummous and black olives served with toast, quite the best hoummous I have had: just right for texture with a bit of a nip at the back, and not oily at all. Main was a Spanish style fish soup, mussels, squid, octopus, and cod (I think) in a tomato sauce, which was really good although I would have preferred the tomato stock to be a bit lighter, and potatoes rather than bread, but thats a personal foible. Dessert, well you can't go wrong with Eton Mess and this was a good one. Overall, a great little hotel, and well worth visiting. The bill was just under £30 - quite fair.

I took a room tariff home too, the prices are reasonable, and deals are on offer depending on how busy or quiet the hotel is. The Royal would make an ideal spot fot a two night retreat, and in the glorious county of Perthshire, you could not ask for anything better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Will1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Let me start by saying that I really should have done a review on this before - after all, I have been coming here for around 20 years now. It has changed hands since the early visits, but the hotel continues to carry on in a great way.

Let me tell you the bad things I can think of, then just assume all the rest is so good, it makes up for any failings... This hotel is old - built 1746 I recall. But, although it has this old feeling, it really isn't falling down around your ears.... Some of the carpets need a make over, and perhaps some of the heating radiators need a little attention, and if you look carefully, you might find a cob web.

That's it - seriously, this is a fantastic hotel and THEY WILL DO A DEAL if you ask - tell them I sent you.

Over the years, I have just popped in for a meal, or a drink (or several) when walking or staying elsewhere in the area. The food is MAXIMUM value for money. No, it's not cheap, just average pricing, around £15 to £20 for a steak with all the trimmings. There is a wide variety of starters, mains and puddings. I would heartily recommend the venison on haggis... :)

The wine list is extensive and varied so you will have plenty to chose from. Again, about average pricing for any reasonable restaurant. They welcome kids, including to the dining room, and dogs are always looked after.

The rooms are very clean, albeit they might need a bit or an upgrade here and there (please don't take that as a criticism, it's not, they are very comfortable and nice. Room 1 is great - the one with the 4 poster (not traditional style, but nice). I wish they had the fire sorted but it wasn't classed as winter yet.... It's a large room with comfy seats in front of the fire etc..

As well as the bar in the hotel itself, there is also one for the general public at the back with a beer garden

All in all, most of the people that go there are really friendly and like a chat etc (one or two toffs who think they are above all turn up, but just ignore their ignorant attitude and leave them to rot in their overblown juices...).

the village of Comrie is quaint, very clean and well looked after. You will be amazed at the amount of hanging baskets and window boxes.

Go and try it, and if you are not as pleased as we were, I will buy you several drinks next time we meet

Room Tip: Just ask for a deal when you phone to book - they will do B&B or with dinner....
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Real_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews