We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had fabulous time here. The hotel is relaxed with really tasteful rooms, bar etc dinner was very good. Molten brown toiletries , bathrobes, excellent friendly service. Our room had four poster, dressing room area, sofa, bookcases with choice of novels and huge bathroom. It was quiet and really comfy bed. Breakfast was amazing and their old resident dog lovely.Two lovely beer gardens/ garden to enjoy sun, Def returning to this wee gem.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

I had noticed this hotel whilst passing through Comrie and it looked lovely. I mentioned it to a friend who said he had been told it was very good so decided to look on the website and book for last Saturday night for D,B&B. The pictures of the bedrooms looked really lovely, spacious and beautifully decorated and comfortable. They had a few rooms with four posters and also standard doubles and twins. The four poster rooms were £180.00 per room per night for B&B and the standard £140.00. I think this is quite pricey so my expectations of the rooms were high. I checked Trip Advisor and mostly all reviews were good but not all. A few reviewers said the rooms on the top floor were very compact.So when I rang the Hotel to book I asked for a room on the first floor explaining I wanted a spacious room and asking if any of the ones on the website were free. They said room 11 was the most spacious and booked us in. I would say the girl I spoke to was neither unfriendly or particularly friendly but she seemed helpful and said we could bring 'well behaved' dogs. I booked the room and was asked for a £50.00 deposit which I paid with a credit card. This was at the end of the Comrie Week so the town was busy but the Hotel would have been well aware that it would be. We arrived at about 5.30pm and found it difficult to park in the spaces outside the Hotel and there didn't appear to be an overspill park. We waited and did eventually get a space. I wasn't impressed by the receptionist who booked us in. She gave us the key waved in the direction of the stairs and said go up to the very top floor. I immediately said that I had requested a room on the first floor. However we went up lots of stairs and eventually found the room. It was 'compact' and by that I do mean small!! and very dark and felt grubby. The fawnish carpet had stains and needed to be replaced or have a good clean. The bed looked like a double, not king size, as I had been told. The bedspread also had old washed in stains and inspite of the window being wedged open in was stiflingly hot. The bathroom was small with shower over bath with very little water force. We were so dissappointed and the final straw was a very uncomfortable matress and motel like bed linen. We tried to ring reception three times but it rang out and then went on to answerphone. Downstairs at reception a different person was booking in another couple and our receptionist was waiting on tables. Both saw us, neither acknowledged us and I stood for about 15 minutes trying to be patient. When the receptionist returned, from showing the couple booking in, their room (a service not afforded to us) he asked if he could help. I explained we were unhappy with our room and why and also now with the service. He was extremely polite and very apologetic. He said if he could have upgraded us to one of their three bigger rooms he would have ( I had asked if they had a larger room free) but would show me a double on the first floor. It was very very tiny! We said we would leave as we weren't happy and he offered to refund our deposit, so full marks to him.

The Hotel downstairs looked lovely and the menu sounded delicious so we were very disappointed but to pay £140.00 for a room that I think I would have expected to pay about £80.00 for would have been silly as we only live 45 mins away. I will return to try the food but until they price the rooms more sensibly I woudn't recommend staying there. If the owner or manager reads this please look up Kinnaird Guest House near Dunkeld. Have a look at the rooms they offer for £130.00 per night B&B and you will understand where i am coming from. I have no problem with somewhere charging upwards of £120.00 per room for B&B but I think it really should meet a much better standard than The Royal Hotel in Comrie is offering.

My deposit hasn't arrived back in my account yet but I rang them today and was told they had definitely given me a refund. That went a long way in redeeming the service.

Room Tip: I think you need to try the four poster rooms but I never actually saw one. The standard rooms are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dalguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a lovely hotel, small, quaint and in a great location.
Situated in the village centre, room spotless, dinner menu
varied and bar meals just as good. Breakfast is large,the
" full Scottish" is a meal and I mean a large meal. Staff very
friendly and helpful, the atmosphere in the whole hotel is
one of the best I have ever came across. Enjoy if you try

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just back from here, what a great place to eat in as well as stay. The Roast on Sunday is a must and if you live within a reasonable travel distace a great day out can be had by stoping by here for a meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked a 2 night stay here on a B&B basis. The room was comfortable, spotlessly clean and well furnished. The staff were polite and helpful. The breakfast was tremendous. We also ended up eating here both evenings and the food again was tremendous. Can't praise highly enough.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay - we loved it! Clean comfortable room on top floor, good food and very friendly staff despite there being a Comrie power cut at the time. Library, Bar and Dining rooms were just right. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Sleep is fine if you are used to peace and quiet. Service a little slow when they are busy (but who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricF186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I can only say that this was a good hotel , gone bad. The staff seem to be from the Basil Faulty era and the food was expensive and tasteless.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank iskander29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comrie
5.4 mi away
Knock Castle Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Four Seasons Hotel
The Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 2 in St. Fillans
938 reviews
5.2 mi away
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
Achray House Hotel & Lodges
#1 of 2 in St. Fillans
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
814 reviews
21.8 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
304 reviews
5.9 mi away
Murraypark Hotel
Murraypark Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crieff
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Melville Square, Comrie PH6 2DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Comrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Price Range: $122 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Comrie
The Royal Hotel Comrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing