We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good coffee & cake in Comrie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansen's Kitchen

Hansen's Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Comrie
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, Delicatessen, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,663 reviews
950 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 866 helpful votes
“Very good coffee & cake in Comrie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We dropped in here for coffee and cake with my son and family who have recently moved to Comrie from Crieff. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the coffee was pretty good (albeit they have not yet perfected our favourite flat white) as were the cakes.
And there was lots to buy in the shop too, so I am sure that this will become a regular haunt on our Scottish visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpsDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    19
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, wholesome food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in the beautiful village of Comrie for 6 nights on our travelling holiday and were delighted to find an exceptionally high class deli in town. We tried the soups, quiches, breads and cold meats. Everything was superb, including the friendly and happy staff. Foods were well priced, fresh and amazingly tasty. A great little find in a terrific little village.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely little place with a great range of tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

A lovely little shop in the small town of Comrie, close to Loch Earn and Crieff in Perthshire. We stopped by just for a wee look around, and ended up buying some nice chocolate, beer, etc. We then came back to buy picnic provisions and got some amazing cheeses, fresh baguette, quince and venison salami. Good advice from the friendly staff who knew their products, and all in a welcoming setting and atmosphere. We did not try them but the sandwiches we saw being handed over to local lunchers looked fantastic. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ncjttn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hansen's Kitchen, Comrie, Perthshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

In desperate need of a bite to eat and something to wash it down with, we bought a couple of sandwiches, tea, coffee, and a couple of cakes here. Sandwiches freshly prepared with their own home baked bread were " the best egg mayo sandwich I've had for years" according to my partner, and I have to agree. A tasty cup of tea and a similar one of ground coffee washed it all down admirably, and our ad hoc meal was completed with a cherry and coconut slice, and a chocolate and peppermint slice, could have been home made but I didn't think to ask. Suffice to say that after we'd eaten, I returned to the shop and bought one of their loaves of bread, plus another cherry and coconut concoction and another chocolate and peppermint slice to repeat the experience at home.
I also passed on my partner's comment about the egg mayo sandwich to the person who made the sandwiches, which isn't something I ever feel the need for in a branch of Greggs.
We will be back, the next time we're in Comrie.
Also, prices were very reasonable - especially after rejecting another sandwich bar on the same street because they didn't have wholemeal bread.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David_Lees55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous little delicatessen.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stopped off in Comrie on our way to St fillans for a holiday, we had come away from Glasgow without our Paella rice and thought there was no way we would get it in a tiny village like Comrie, well we were wrong Hansen's kitchen sells everything, its one of these places you go in for a browse and come out with lots of goodies, their breads, cheese's and biscuits are to die for, you could spend ages looking at their stuff.
Great quality produce.
If you are near the comrie area please visit, you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MagsGovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hansen's Kitchen also viewed

Comrie, Perth and Kinross
Comrie, Perth and Kinross
 
Comrie, Perth and Kinross
Comrie, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Hansen's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing