We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun filled day”

Auchingarrich Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Comrie
Certificate of Excellence
Comrie, Perthshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun filled day”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent the day at Auchingarroch in memory of my late husband who loved all animals, so we thought going here would be a good way to spend the day in his memory and entertain our 3 young grandchildren at the same time. We planned in advance and had purchased a couple of Groupon vouchers which helped with the price as there were 4 adults and 3 children. The weather was glorious which meant we could make good use of all the facilities and the children loved it. There is so much to do, from zip slides, swings, see saw, rabbit burrow, soft play, crazy golf, air ball machine. Not to mention all the different animals., especially those two days old chicks which the wee ones loved. We ate in the cafe and found the portions very good value for money and the food was delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful and when we discovered the battery was flat on my car owing to one of the wee ones having left the headlights switched on, they were on hand to help with a jump start for which I can't thank them enough. We had a wonderful day out for a very special and emotional day and we will most definitely be back again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annieadams1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    109
    29
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I visited Achingarroch recently and had a great day. Entry was reasonably priced and included a bag of feed for the animals. My toddler loved it and enjoyed the animals so much we didn't even make it to the play barns (which looked excellent). The playground was fab as was the food in the cafe. The cakes looked delicious and I'm still kicking myself that I didn't have one! A brilliant day out and highly recommended!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank meg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent wildlife centre”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We decided to visit this excellent wildlife centre while staying in nearby Comrie. It was a fantastic find. The place was quite quiet with it being a Monday and the staff were so helpful and kind and were always ready to tell us about the animals with obvious passion and love. There are lots of animals of all sizes to see and some you can feed - you get a free bag of food on arrival which is a lovely touch.

Even though it was just the two of us with no kids we had a great few hours at the centre looking at everything. The view from the higher fields is stunning.

The tea shop is well staffed and provisioned and we enjoyed a coffee prior to leaving. The cost was not expensive and well worth the experience and I would recommend the centre to all staying in the local area

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JudeDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We hadn't heard of Auchingarrich before, but got an Amazon Local deal for a good rate at Crieff Hydro along with free entry to this Wildlife centre. We had no expectations prior to our arrival, but were so pleased to have found this place. We visited on a Monday during school term so the place was quiet. There were no set times for animal handling, but staff were on hand any time had a question. We lucked out, as we happened to be near the Lemur enclosure during feeding time. Both my kids (aged 4 and 9) got to help out by hand feeding the Lemurs selected fruit and veggies. The Lemurs were very gentle and took the food right our of their hands (and the kids could even put food directly into their mouths). The keeper was very patient and obviously loved her job working with these friendly creatures. The cafe has great food. I had soup with a baguette and my children enjoyed their lunch boxes. The facilities are clean and the animals appear happy and well looked after. We will definitely recommend this place to friends visiting Crieff Hydro. It would even be a good day trip from Edinburgh or Glasgow, as the scenery is stunning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank vkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Beautiful place, friendly animals. For ticket everyone gets a bag of food in order to feed such as goats, ponies and donkeys. Great fun not only for children.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kylliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchingarrich Wildlife Centre also viewed

Comrie, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Auchingarrich Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing