We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good day out”

Auchingarrich Wildlife Centre
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Comrie
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Good day out, for families or even couples as there are good walks and amazing 360 degree views from the top of the hill. There is a hatchery where you see chicks hatched and a great variety of animals. There are also prairie dogs all over the place, they are so cute. And even a tartan sheep! Although I have ticked family with young children, we have a teenager also, who loved this park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank carolanns4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    104
    29
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good fun but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stumbled upon this wildlife centre almost by accident on a fairly dull, cold, January afternoon. The park is currently undergoing maintenance so entry was free and that's a big thumbs up. The animals were easily seen - a bonus for our wee one and all well looked after. It was great fun to see the peacocks wandering about and the monkeys were particularly amused by our baby in his snuggly bear suit - i think they thought we had a big monkey with us. All in all we enjoyed the animals and that part of the park. The play area was also a hit with our toddler and the tunnels near the entrance were particularly loved. Overall i would recommend this wildlife park, except we found the cafe staff to be unfriendly and did not project a welcoming feeling when we arrived (there was only an hour til closing and we felt it). We would certainly go again but the cafe won't get our custom.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wish We'd had More Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just recently heard about a play area thing tucked out behind Comrie & went for a wee nosey. Even on a dull, dreich January afternoon when the place was semi closed with maintenance going on, it was great fun. Cafe was open - bright and warm with good selection of food. We were surprised to find that we could take our dog around with us if it was on a lead and behaved. The dog was in heaven with the smells.

We'd never seen meercats in real life - absolutely gorgeous & fascinating to watch. Loads of great animals to see. The staff were friendly and really enthusiastic about their work.

They don't charge at this time of year as it's not fully open but it's a great way to spend an afternoon. It would be fantastic when it's fully open to take the family. They've got a scheme for folk to pay to be a keeper for a day/ half day? helping feed the animals which sounds brilliant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FoostyDug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The park was very big and there was a lot of exploring to do. The park staff were wonderful, but the staff in the cafeteria were less than happy!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank louiexpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Children love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We visited in November, although cold, we were all wrapped up. This is a great little place with honest farm type style, it's not pretending to be Edinburgh zoo, it's a family run place that the children love, the food is surprisingly good and we had a lovely day here.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Winebulance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auchingarrich Wildlife Centre also viewed

Comrie, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Auchingarrich Wildlife Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing