We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming staff but needs renovation”
Review of Comrie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Comrie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comrie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

$80 (British pounds) per night seemed a lot for a hotel that is in such need of renovation. Fire Alarm went off in middle of the night, water pressure was non existent, no shelf or counter in the bathroom to put anything on (we had to put our wash bags on the floor) and we could not get out early in the morning because the front door was locked.

We checked out early after one night.

Food was great and the staff could not have been nicer. The hotel has potential, especially with the fantastic staff, but needs renovation and should not be charging the rates it is charging until that is completed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comriehotel, Owner at Comrie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we value all feedback.

We have been extensively renovating the hotel over the last two years and we are almost there. All our rooms have been refurbished, as have the restaurant and the bistro is now open since your stay. It is extremely hard to ensure customer satisfaction if there are any issues which are not brought to the management's attention at the time of a guest's stay. I wish you had approached us with these at the time when we would have been able to resolve them.

As this is an old building there are a few quirks that we have to live with and unfortunately upstairs the water pressure can be sometimes be low when there are several rooms using the supply at the same time. This is an issue which we would have gladly helped you with had we only known.

All businesses are subject to fire regulations, one of which is that fire alarms must be installed, this is for the safety of all our guests and staff. This system is not under the control of the hotel, we don't set it off simply for the sake of it and I think it is unfair to note this as a negative point about the hotel. If the fire alarm goes off the reason for it must be found and although this may seem an inconvenience it is surely better safe than sorry.

For guests wishing an early check out it is noted in the room literature that reception or a member of staff must be advised the previous evening, this is quite standard in most small hotels.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. I would like to invite you to come back for another visit, I am confident we can provide you with a wonderful experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 127 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

our stay was three years ago but I just could not help writing this review. we were staying in Aberfeldy and literally "strayed " into Comrie. Christmas eve and the kids were hungry. and then we saw that this hotel was open and Margaret said "but ofcourse" when the kids wanted fish and chips.....and that was the best I have had in Great Britain. We became good friends with John, Margaret and Andrew and drove back 25 kms 2 days later for fish and chips. The next time we stayed with them for a few days. This is my home in Scotland.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAVI K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comriehotel, Owner at Comrie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it.

John and Margaret are no longer the owners but we would love you to come and meet us. We have extensively refurbished the entire hotel and would love to know what you think of it. Also we are getting a reputation for the best fish and chips in the area!

Please do come back and visit Scotland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff very friendly but rooms were very dated. At £80 B&B I think it was
very over priced. Downstairs was being renovated but our room hadn't been.
Horrible nylon curtains and bed spread. Burn marks on the carpet. Decor awful. I think they should not be charging these prices until they modernise the rooms.

Room Tip: Go to the Royal Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasgowsundown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comriehotel, Owner at Comrie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we value all feedback.

I am sorry that you didn't like your room, I do wish that you had brought this to the management's attention at the time of your stay when we would have been able to resolve this issue for you. It is very difficult to ensure customer satisfaction when we are unaware that there is a problem.

The hotel has undergone extensive refurbishment, this now includes all of our bedrooms which have new carpets, beds, and furniture throughout and have blackout shutters fitted instead of curtains. As a small family run hotel we have, for example, been unable to close the hotel for a long period, renovate completely, then reopen and as a result have had to approach things in a more organic way. However because we are a small family run hotel we are able to respond to our guests needs more immediately and we do pride ourselves on excellent service.

On the issue of pricing, I believe we are competitively priced compared with other hotels in the wider area, we strive for excellent customer service, serve fantastic food and provide good value for money.

I would like to invite you to return to stay with us in the future, I am confident we won't disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

We went to stay for a wedding in the area. The hotel is slowly being upgraded and the dining room is a glimpse of the style to come - clean, modern, fresh. The rooms were clean and perfectly adequate, good sound insulation and a comfy bed. The staff were the shining beacon in our stay - ever so welcoming, helpful and cheerful. A beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nedalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comriehotel, Owner at Comrie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to submit it, we really value feedback.

We pride ourselves on excellent service and it is so nice to know that this has been noted and appreciated. For all the staff here making sure that our customers have a wonderful experience is the most important aspect.

The hotel has been extensively refurbished, including all the bedrooms and our cafe bistro is now open. We would love you to come back for a return visit and see it for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stopped for a few nights during the week and was warmly welcomed by the owner and her family. The room was neat, clean and comfortable which was more than adequate.
Food was varied, good, freshly made and at a reasonable price.
Friendly atmosphere in the bar made for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The cottage next to the beer garden could be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DunkDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comriehotel, Owner at Comrie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to post it.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we aim to provide a fantastic experience for all our guests and diners.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing weekend away and thanks to the friendly, first-class hospitality of June and her staff we got exactly what we wanted. The hotel was clean, tidy and fresh amid ongoing refurbishment, the food was all freshly prepared and excellent value for money and the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. We left on Sunday afternoon feeling recharged and ready to start another week. We wish June and her team every success and look forward to visiting again in the not too distant future.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BigRusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A very warm welcome from the staff. A lovely hotel for a weekend break. Rooms clean and very comfortable. They have a nice beer garden at the back of the hotel which would be lovely to sit in if we ever get a sunny day! We had a meal in their resturaunt in the evening - food lovely and reasonably priced. Good Scottish breakfast with as much tea/ coffee as you want.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felixfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Hello felixfaescotland,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you had a good stay and enjoyed our faciities. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Comrie
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Comrie
238 reviews
12.7 mi away
CLC Duchally Country Estate
CLC Duchally Country Estate
#2 of 3 in Auchterarder
816 reviews
3.1 mi away
Riverside Cabins
Riverside Cabins
#2 of 4 in Comrie
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comrie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comrie Hotel

Address: Drummond Street, Comrie PH6 2DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Comrie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Comrie
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely family run hotel is situated in the picturesque village of Comrie nestled in stunning Scottish countryside. The village is famous both for its Comrie Fortnight programme of community activities and celebrations and also the Flambeaux Procession on Hogmanay. It has won the prestigious Britain in Bloom award several times. Comrie is perfectly situated for discovering the delights of Perthshire and the Highlands with numerous activities such as hill walking, cycling, running, golf, fishing and shooting close by. The hotel comprises 10 comfortable en-suite bedrooms, bar, new cafe/bistro and stunning new restaurant. Meals prepared by our popular chef are served daily, with an emphasis on Scottish, particularly local, produce. Children are very welcome. There is ample car parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comrie Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing