We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Journey break”
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Coatbridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 2, 2010

While the rooms are in need of a full refurbishment they are clean and comfortable. The food is simple but very good, the staff are very pleasant and helpful and in terms of value for money this hotel can not be faulted.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trippersrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

Got checked in, was given keys to room, put bag down then a knock at the door telling me they had given me the wrong room.

Bedroom - New room had 2 single beds crammed against 2 wardrobes allowing no access to the wardrobes. No chair. Shabby decoration. TV was a small portable on a shelf against the ceiling with 5 channels. Bed was like a brick. No internet.

Bathroom - Cracked floor tiles, shower rail and toilet roll holder both lying on the floor having been ripped off the wall leaving holes, no sink (it was in the bedroom).

Breakfast - Diluting orange juice, instant coffee sachets, bacon OK.

Really horrible hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eric-russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

The worst hotel i have ever visited it should be a 1 star no where near a 2 star staff the rudest I have ever came across disgusting

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barrowfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I have stayed here three times, 1989, 2000, and July 2009. Each time our stay has been great. This year we stayed with our children, ages 15 and 18. We had a room with a double bed and two twins. Everything from the breakfest to the pint of lager after a day of sightseeing was wonderful. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brenfroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Avoid it like the plague, that's my advice.
I only stayed one night, thank goodness. No toilet roll, toilet didn't flush, room dirty and the bacon was off at breakfast. When I say the bacon was off I mean it was past it's sell by date by a long way and tasted off.
On the plus side the staff were friendly and helpful.
I'd rather sleep in the car next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pikergraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

We booked in to this hotel for a weekend and it couldnt end quick enough..

Upon checking in we were told "I have given you the biggest room as you are here all weekend" wow we thought this sounds good..how wrong we were..

Upon walking to the rooms,we walked along a long narrow corridor where the walls needed decorating,the floors all creaked and the carpets fitted badly..mmm sign of things to come..

Upon entering the room we were greeted by a beautiful view via the bay window,in reality the 3 window bay was in fact the length of the room..the width of the room allowed you to walk around the bed...if this was the biggest room what were the other rooms like..

Upon going to bed that evening we noticed that it appeared a single sheet had been placed on the bed instead of a double as it was so badly fitting...then we noticed the stains on the mattress and the base,no protective cover over the mattress...
The Tv was fitted to the wall at ceiling height...so you had to lie in bed to watch it (there was no room anyway for a chair)..

We went to breakfast in the morning and found that to be the highlight of our stay,although we had to chase up tea and request clean dishes..

Upon returning to our room that evening and going for a shower(which was poor)..we expected some clean towels as we left some dirty towels in the shower in the morning but no...the dirty ones had been folded up and placed on the window ledge and were still in fact wet from the morning...needless to say we didnt stay the 3rd nite as planned even though all I wanted was a good base and somewhere to sleep..

The fact breakfast was included made it appear a good deal...budget hotels can usually offer a good deal but sadly this needs a complete revamp,I will stick to the major players in future

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a_scotatheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottish1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: The Grange Hotel 1-2 Mayfield Place, Coatbridge ML5 4SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Coatbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coatbridge
Price Range: $60 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grange Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange Hotel Coatbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing