We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Gourock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Co Down
Level Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Little Castle”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We received a present of a Celtic Castle voucher for a wedding gift. Since we were going over to Scotland decided to look and see what castles were on offer! Found Castle Levan and booked 1 night . My wife was a bit worried as it did say it was in a development, but she need not have worried. When we arrived the lady of the castle showed us to our room and what a room! 4 poster bed and tartan frills every where. Next morning breakfast served by the Lord , then a bit of history and a tour of the castle. Lovely experience and 2 lovely people looking after us.

Room Tip: Stay in the Master Bedroom .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

This B&B was just such a surprise at how wonderful a stay in a castle could be. All the mystery of the 1500's castle expectation with the luxuries of the 21st century. Lydia and her husband were wonderful hosts and gave us a wonderful tour of the ramparts, gardens and other rooms in there home (castle). The food the best in our two weeks on Scotland/Ireland... huge breakfast with lots of fruit, yogurts and home baked treats. Bedding was luxurious and comfortable, lots of hot water. Would recommend a tutorial on the bath tub, the drain is different and once I knew how to use it.. it was all good. Highly recommend and when I go again, I will stay longer!!! Loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank twin411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamorna, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What more can I say?

Hogwarts in the middle of a run down council estate. Probably need the battlements to keep the locals out! But for all that, crazy and wonderful, especially if you like gothic/hammer horror!
the guardsroom bedroom is dedicated to it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus_Clark_Lamorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The castle is kept up very well, very clean. Very nice surroundings. Really comfortable bed, huge room, and very large bathroom all to yourself. Paypal was accepted without problem. Breakfasts were enormous and delicious. Great walking area down to the water. Best bet is getting a cab into Gourock. Go to Cafe Continental to eat! Great food, and Tony is a great waiter-request him!
Also Lady Lydia has her artwork all over the castle, and it's for sale :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Not a typical B&B. A bit like Gryffindor Common Room meets the Weasley Burrows in a corner of the Room of Requirement in Hogwarts at the end of Privet Drive. Cosy, very cluttered, homey castle at the end of a residential street. It was an experience for all of us to remember and talk about.
Be aware that since this is a real castle, the spiral staircase is very narrow and winding. You will need to walk down a few flights from the street to the main entrance. The twin bedded room is on the ground floor but the main bedroom is a few flights up. So is the dining room. If you have any difficulty with climbing, or if you have large suitcases, just understand that there are no shortcuts.
Our hosts were very kind and got up early to serve us breakfast at 6:30 am so that we could arrive at the Glasgow airport before 8 to return our rental car. Jan entertained us with stories of how the castle came to belong to them while Lydia made us all English breakfasts.
I had looked into staying at other castles in Scotland. My son insisted that he would want to stay in a "real" castle, not a more modern hotel that looked like a castle only on the outside. He was pleased with our choice of Castle Levan and I am glad we had the experience for one night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the big double room upstairs and my two college aged kids shared the twin bedded room d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Caslte Levan. The castle's large upstairs bedroom was clean and nicely decorated. The dining area was cluttered with books and cd's stacked all over, not what I had expected.
I was also surprised to find the castle was amongst other houses in a sub-division rather than in a more secluded area. I am very sensitive to cigarette smoke and the moment I walked into the entry door of the castle, I could smell smoke residue and knew someone in the castle was a regular smoker. Lydia should invest in a high quality air purification system. Keep these two things in mind when booking.

Room Tip: Ask to reserve the master bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a wonderful experience! My wife and I arrived late and soaking wet after a long motorcycle ride through horrible weather. We were too tired and cold to go back out and get food, so Lydia fixed us a nice dinner even though we hadn't reserved it with the room. The castle itself is everything we wanted. A traditional styled family castle that still has "unfinished" interiors. It's great because you can tell you are in a castle from your room. The hosts were happy to chat at dinner and tell stories about the castle. The bed was nice and comfy, and best of all, THE FLOORS ARE HEATED! Nice toasty feet in the cold weather is wonderful. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightsnsiren79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gourock
122 reviews
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
310 reviews
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast

Property: Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast
Address: Levan Castle Stirling Drive, Gourock PA19 1AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gourock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic castle Bed &Breakfast located only 20 miles from Glasgow Airport... A unique character filled fun place to stay located in Gourock on Scotland's wild wonderful West coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Levan Bed And Breakfast Gourock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing