We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Bath Street Arches

Bath Street Arches
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Gourock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: International, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Scotland’s smallest Restaurant/Bistro With 6 tables & having just 16 seats, you are offered an intimate & affordable dining experience without being intrusive. The restaurant is situated in Gourock on a quiet ( & often seldom known) Bath Street which is just a stones throw from Gourock train station. It serves a la carte lunches & dinners as well as tasting menus along with paired wines. The restaurant was set up in 2012 with a focus on using contemporary techniques to serve beautiful but often very humble food in a fun way within an intimate setting. The food does not fit into any one category or cuisine - it isn't even fusion food, but this unclassified genre is a good thing. At Bath Street Arches we firmly believe, being outside the bounds of any one category is what allows us to innovate & create without any constraints such as, if one was a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a French brassiere etc. Classification of food and cuisines can bind creativity in the kitchen. All the food is created with an aim to offer the diner not just a delicious but also an interesting combination of flavours while keeping a balance of tastes & textures on the plate. This delicious & unusual combination, is what allows a Bath Street Arches meal to become interesting, which can then lead to what is hoped will become a memorable experience.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great restaurant. Food always fantastic. Wonderful atmosphere and is now our favourite local restaurant. Ambrish takes great pride in what he's doing so thank you once again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey0477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at Bath Street Arches, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the compliments Tracey. It means a lot to us that we have customers who love dining with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    31
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I was at the restaurant twice this week to celebrate my birthday with two different groups of friends. Everyone loved the food, great atmosphere and service, Ambrish thanks for looking after us and putting up with all noisy celebrations :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jame c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at Bath Street Arches, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for bringing so many people to eat with us! We are happy to hear that both nights of your birthday celebrations were a success. As long as people are enjoying themselves, we don't mind a bit of noise! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“'Excellent Arches'”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a great little place. Super international 'tapas' style bistro serving a delicious mix of very well prepared, cooked and beautifully presented dishes. All dishes can be had either as tasters or mains. The staff are all welcoming and attentive. Price wise - excellent value. Open all day serving brunch, lunch and dinner. Our party of 4 went for the tasters - 3 each for £7.95 - eg Steak Pie, Lamb Tagine, Mango Chicken Rice, Mini Burgers, Smoked Haddock, Prawn Cocktail, Chicken & Apricot Terrine, Caesar Salad - many other choices were available plus vegetarian options.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hattie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at Bath Street Arches, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Hattie, thank you so much for the great review you have given us. It's customers like you and recommendations like this one that keep our Bistro busy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Break”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Yea have to agree.Have been a couple of times for lunch and the food and teas have been delicious..Must go back soon:))

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaureenH199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at Bath Street Arches, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thanks Maureen for your kind comments. Nice to hear you enjoy our specialty teas. We hope you can come for your dinner one weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having read the good reviews for Archers we were really looking forward to eating there.The starters were fine. Have to say 3 out of the party of 4 were really disappointed with their main course. They said that th food was very bland & with very little flavour. Portions were also a bit small with one dish only having about 4 small bite size pieces of chicken in it. Unfortunately we didn't get to try any sweets as on arrival we were told we could only have the table for an hour & a half. Would have been nice to be told this when we booked it earlier on in the week. Chef/owner did come & apologise & offer not to charge us for the meal but as we has eaten the food we felt it was only right that we shoud pay for it, He didn't however charge us for a round of drinks. Staff & decor lovely. Disappointing experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2012SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina B, Owner at Bath Street Arches, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
So sorry to hear your evening with us was less than satisfactory. As we are such a small place and we are new, I'm afraid we were still trying to get used to turning tables over. We apologize for not giving you advance notice on the amount of time you had on your table. We have taken action to ensure that this does not happen again. We were unhappy to hear our food was not to your liking, our chef has been looking at these recipes to find a way of improving them. We hope you are willing to give our Bistro another chance to give you a great dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bath Street Arches also viewed

Gourock, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Gourock, Inverclyde
 
Greenock, Inverclyde
Gourock, Inverclyde
 

Been to Bath Street Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing