We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O Flower of Scotland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Spinnaker Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gourock
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Four of us from Huddersfield stayed three nights at this hotel because we have visited the Cowal games in Dunoon annually for almost 25 years. We had a comfortable stay and the breakfast was superb, but we did not feel totally welcome. As we left, we told the management that we would not be in Scotland in 2006 for the games, because we had chosen to go to Paris instead. However, we would like to book for 2007 - almost 2 years in advance. No problem, we were told. One of our number tried several times to e-mail the hotel to book for 14 people (or as many as the hotel could accommodate). He was told that no bookings were taken so far in advance and that we could book between Christmas and New Year 2006. He rang the hotel yesterday to ensure that rooms would be available and was told that all the rooms had been booked 'for quite some time'. We have to ask the question - why could others book when we couldn't. Could be the English accent? I would not like to suggest that there is racism here, but you have to wonder...........
Fortunately, we have been made more than welcome everywhere else we have gone in Scotland. As most of us are in our 40s and 50s, we tend not to be lager louts, but we do spend an inordinate amount of money when we go away. Hard luck, Spinnaker - hope the Scots are as generous and well-behaved as us!

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandMistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2008

It's rather late to reply to this review but as it's still live and the only review of the Spinnaker I feel it's important I do.

I'm never pleased to read, be told or hear any of my guests had a bad experience when at the Spinnaker and will do my best to ensure that this doesn't happen. I'm genuinely fortunate that I don't get many serious complaints. I do get constructive critisism and I can accept that and at times realise it's beneficial.

I'm sorry the party from Huddersfield felt it necessary to post a negative view of the Spinnaker Hotel on Tripadvisor.

The 3 points I feel I have to address are why if they didn't feel particularly comfortable at the hotel why did the want to book again? To imply they weren't allowed to book is because they 1) aren't lager louts and 2) are English couldn't be further from the truth. I probably get more guests / clients staying at the hotel from England than anywhere else, the business is very much appreciated and welcome.

Going by the words of the reviewer - "Hard luck, Spinnaker - hope the Scots are as generous and well-behaved as us!" suggest to me the reviewer is of the the opinion there is a them (Scots) and us (English) problem.

Just for the record my mums English and I love her to bits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 142 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demander avec vue sur le Clyde. Dommage que l'escalier soit un peu raide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean-Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
Thank RalfWehrhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank CatwomAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpinnyGourock, Owner at The Spinnaker Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jean-Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm-rf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
2.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
335 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
3.1 mi away
Custom House Hotel
Custom House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Kilcreggan Hotel
Kilcreggan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilcreggan
138 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Helensburgh Seafront
3.2 mi away
Hunters Quay Hotel
Hunters Quay Hotel
#2 of 11 in Dunoon
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spinnaker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spinnaker Hotel

Address: 121 Albert Road, Gourock PA19 1BU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gourock
Price Range: $73 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 25 miles west of Glasgow we are now the only small hotel in Gourock providing breakfast, lunch and dinner daily to both residents and non-residents. Well established venue providing great meals with a wide range of wines, craft ales, draught beers as well as hot beverages. Our chefs provide numerous popular homemade dishes as part of the main menu along with daily specials and a weekly Sunday Roast. We have 8 letting rooms, some over looking the River Clyde. Ideally located when exploring west & central Scotland. Gourock and the surrounding area offers an good number of interesting things to do and places to visit. The Spinnaker has a small beer garden/outside sitting area. Wonderful and very popular in the summer when dining alfresco is an option along with an ice cool drink. Functions and private partys' can be catered for at the hotel also. Let us know what you want and we'll do our best to provide it. If you would like any further information please telephone or email. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Spinnaker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spinnaker Hotel Gourock
The Spinnaker Hotel Gourock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing