We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Firth Hotel Gourock has changed owners now Known as No1 Ashton Road” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buckley's Firth Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gourock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckley's Firth Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Gourock B&B and Inns
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Firth Hotel Gourock has changed owners now Known as No1 Ashton Road”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This hotel has changed hands and is now known a No1 Ashton Road. The change has not been for the better. We went with friends (two couples) we were advised it was best to book. When we arrived at 7.30pm on a saturday night we were the only people there, we should have realised why!

On ordering our choice of meals, half of the dishes asked for were not available, incredibly we were told there was no mashed potato available with the balmoral chicken, what kind of restraunt cannot provide mashed potato, incredible!

On arrival a function was also being set up, dragging table and chairs past us whilst we tried to eat. There was only 3 staff on duty so our 'waitress' was serving behind the bar, so we had to go to the bar and wait in a queue to get served drinks.

The pasta dish was poor, the starters were even worse, this establishment needs to decide what type of business it aspires to be, as it is trying to be a pub, restraurant, hotel and private function hall all at the same time within a very limited public space area.

The standard of food is appaling, the service was exteremly poor, we had to sit with our coats on as the dinning area was freezing it should be avoided at all costs, as all four of us had upset stomachs the following morning. Overall disgusting

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    1
    1
    0
    6
See reviews for
4
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ate in Buckleys Firth regularly and always found the staff excellent, the food exceptional and the overall experience extremely good. it is a rel shame that this restaurant has closed. I only hope the replacement restaurant now open 1lives up to its predecessor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

what a lovely restaurant. the food is the best we have had in scotland. the service and staff were great. the location is perfect and we sat by the window overlooking the river, it was perfect.
would recommmend the steak pie and we will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

First visit in many years to this restaurant and only then because our first choice was closed. Food was excellent and very good value. We had the special two course lunch and could not fault it. A bottle of nice wine at a reasonable price complimented the meal. Excellent service from the friendly young waitress. I think we have found a new favourite restaurant in Inverclyde.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josieb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
334 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had the 2 course lunch for £9.99 .Didn't fancy any of the starters on the menu so opted for main+desert.Steak pie came with fries or a choice of mash and veg. Meat in the pie was fine but the crust left a lot to be desired.Fries and veg were fine. The steakburger and lasagne both looked OK. Opted for the ice cream-3 balls of a very acceptable vanilla.

Service was slow.Fellow diners at the table had finished thir tea/coffee before the deserts arrived.
Place was really busy when we visited.
Would give it another go. Nice location overlooking the river with outdoor seating.
.

Room Tip: Not sure if this hotel still has rooms to rent. We have only visited for food. Property has recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visit09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Went to Buckleys on Sunday evening of holiday weekend. It was very quiet to our surprise. Unfortunately when we got our meal we realised whyl We had haddock and chips. little bigger than your average childrens portion! Which I might add cost us 7.95 each. Most definitely not worth the money. Food wasn't up to usual standard pub grub! Will never go back and most certainly WOULD'NT recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peggyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gourock hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We booked a small private function here and it was fantastic. The food was excellent and service was brilliant. All our guests had a great day and we would HIGHLY recommend The Firth.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TB767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gourock
0.0 mi away
The Spinnaker Hotel
The Spinnaker Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gourock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tontine Hotel
Tontine Hotel
#2 of 5 in Greenock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Greenock Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Bay Hotel
The Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Greenock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Greenock
1.2 mi away
Castle Levan Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckley's Firth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckley's Firth Hotel

Property: Buckley's Firth Hotel
Address: 1 Ashton Road, Gourock PA19 1BY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Inverclyde > Gourock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gourock
Also Known As:
Buckley's Firth Hotel Gourock, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing