We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa day”
Review of Foxhills

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Foxhills
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spa day”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Absolutely stunning hotel and gorgeous food. Myself and my mum booked a spa day and had a fab time. The therapist Steph did a fabulous massage - just wish it was longer. Lunch was included and that was delicious and loads of choice. The service was wonderful all the staff we encountered were so polite and helpful. Have not given five stars as I feel it would have been better to have more choice in the spa- more heat and ice choice, also i would of liked tea and coffee available in the spa area, nonetheless great day and a bargain!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taheya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review about your recent Spa Day at Foxhills. Your kind words made for very pleasant reading and I will be sure to share them with your therapist Steph and the relevant heads of departments. I’m sorry to hear that you were unable to acquire any hot beverages within the spa area. Tea & coffee’s are available in our Relaxation Room after receiving your treatments, however we don’t allow drinks around the pool area, simply due to health & safety reasons. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    207
    81
    26
    20
See reviews for
142
257
16
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights whilst attending a business function. The whole experience was very impressive - from check-in to check-out - these people seriously understand 'customer service and care!'
The drive up to the hotel is stunning and once you're there, the whole place feels relaxing and is immaculately clean. The hotel dinning experience is just like eating at your favourite restaurant, with a good selection through all courses - with prices for drink and wine comparable to similar restaurants.
There are very good and modern Spa, Gym, Golf, Squash and Tennis facilities available to all residents and didn't appear busy when I was at the hotel (mid-week).
I was so impressed, I've just booked another stay...............!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 1st floor level room next to one of the outdoor pools - extremely spacious and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russ06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Russ, thank you for your review and we’re so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Foxhills. I am pleased that you found the Resort both impressive and of a high standard. I will distribute your kind feedback to the relevant departments as it is feedback such as yours that encourages them and shows that their efforts are appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a great place to stay in Ottershaw and the surrounding areas. It feels like you are in the countryside - with a golf course, spa, gym. The rooms are huge and the bed very comfortable. I used the gym and it is really modern and large - so lots of equipment to cater for everyone. The bathroom is also large but a little dated.

There is a cosy bar which doubles as a dining area - very relaxing with a good range of drinks on offer. Note to hotel: The food was disappointing - serves were probably a bit too large and the compromise was on quality (steak was a bit boot leather like) and the fries were short and oily.

If I was in the area I'd definitely go back - it is definitely the best in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the bed on the same level as the living room. Avoid room 6 as the bed is up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussienando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, Front Office Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed our luxury Health Spa it’s gym facilities. I am however sorry to hear that the food in Nineteen was not up to its usual standard. I can assure you that our Food & Beverage Manager will be made aware of your review and shall follow up on your feedback with the relevant Chefs in Nineteen. However, I’m pleased to see that you would definitely revisit Foxhills again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were booked in through Golf Breaks well in advance for October 16-18 and with bad weather predicted were lucky and amazed that although it poured with rain every night it was brilliant weather through the day.Amazing luck for the golf on both courses which were tough but worth it.The evening meals in the XIX bar were a high standard as were breakfast in the Manor.Room 23 where I stayed upstairs overlooking the outdoor pool in the courtyard was to a high standard with all facilities equal to a 5 star facility.The ensuite separate bath and shower stall suited me , a soak in the bath after my round of golf and a great bracing power shower in the morning,to wake me up!!All of the Foxhills staff from every aspect were a dream,smiling and helpful!Other resorts with these facilities would be hard pushed to compare!Recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, Front Office Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for such a lovely review, I am very pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay despite the weather. It’s great to see that our team’s ongoing hard work on the golf courses regarding aeration of the greens to increase water filtration is paying off and allowing our residents and members to still enjoy the greens, even after a heavy rainfall. It also pleases me to hear that our staff were “a dream, smiley and helpful”. We will be sure to pass on your compliments to the relevant heads of department and we look forward to welcoming you back to Foxhills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had my 50th Birthday Masquerade black-tie Party in The Clubhouse at Foxhills on Saturday night. I first booked the venue c 1 year ago and particularly in the last c 6 months have worked closely with Chris Collard on all the planning. As I work in the events business myself I´m used to working on the sales side for our large financial events that we run worldwide. I therefore have very clear ideas of what I like and don´t like and I found true professionalism and flexibility within the whole team at Foxhills. I have to say there wasn´t a single item that I could fault, I had the most wonderful weekend! I should make special mention to Chris Collard, the Event Coordinator – he was always helpful, patient and happy despite my various requests – a true professional. To Sam, Head of Banqueting, for the actual event and to her banqueting team – thank you all for their unending support - nothing was too much. The food was excellent and along with my external suppliers the party venue looked amazing with my Masquerade theme. I would highly recommend the Foxhills event and hotel team (senior-junior) for their professionalism as well as The Clubhouse as a fantastic venue to hold a private party for 75+ guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, Front Office Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your 50th birthday with us. I have passed on your kind comments to all the team at the hotel, including our Wedding Coordinator Chris Collard so they can see how much their efforts are appreciated by our guests. I understand the night was a great success and I believe our very own managing director Marc Hayton and General Manager Jeff Condliffe have both been in contact with you. I am glad that our team provided you with a “professional” & “flexible” service and we look forward to you visiting us again soon. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here with family because it was convenient for a family funeral. Not quite what I'd expected from the website, Foxhills is very much a "resort" rather than a hotel. We stayed in the Lyne House accommodation block which is one of a number of separate blocks of accommodation in this sprawling resort. Rooms were of very good quality and I would be happy to stay there again.

We came by train and had to use taxis to and from the church, relatives' house and station and this was very expensive. The taxis were booked by the hotel and a short journey of about 3 miles cost us £16 one way!! So I would recommend that you drive here.

When we arrived we went for a walk around the complex. We'd taken our swimming costumes, but the only pool we could use as residents was outdoor and felt rather "exposed". We went looking for the brasserie to book an evening meal. The brochure in the hotel represented this as the place to go for a casual family meal. In fact it was next to another outdoor pool and was more like a cafe than a brasserie, shutting at 6pm!

Meals in the restaurant were too gourmet for our tastes, starters around £12 and mains around £25. We opted for the basic room service menu and were pleasantly surprised.

Breakfast is a buffet, pretty good, although on the second morning we ate at 8.45am and the staff were clearing the tables around us, so we took this as a sign that we needed to go, even though breakfast is served up until 10am. Service wasn't good in the restaurant for breakfast unless you are particularly pushy.

Overall the service was great, very pleasant staff. After the funeral, we returned for a quick tea of warm scones before setting off to our relatives' house for dinner. A table had been reserved by the fire, which was very welcome.

More of a golf hotel/sports complex than a hotel, although I can imagine the main house would be lovely for a wedding or similar celebration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, Front Office Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Susan,

I am sorry to hear that your stay here at Foxhills was not to your satisfaction. I would also like to apologise for the confusion regarding the swimming facilities; all Residents of the Resort are entitled to full use of the facilities during their stay, allowing you to experience Foxhills from the perspective of a temporary Member of the Club. This includes our luxury £5 million Health Spa, 4 swimming pools both indoor & outdoor, 3 unique restaurants, 3 Championship golf courses, tennis & squash facilities, state-of-the-art gym, outdoor running & nature trail, along with access to over 40 fitness classes and complete facilities for the children as well. Foxhills isn’t just a hotel; we pride ourselves in being a Family Resort & our aim is to cater for all.

I am also disappointed with the feedback regarding your experience in the Manor Restaurant during Breakfast and I can assure you that this is not reflective of the usual standards of service that we provide on a continual basis. In response to the staff clearing the tables upon your arrival, I would like to take the opportunity to point out that the majority of our residents aim to check out of the Club in the mornings, therefore the majority of our residents arrive in the restaurant from as early as 6am, it isn’t until around 8.30am that the number of diners begin to decrease. This consequently is a prime time for staff to begin clearing tables to maintain the standards of cleanliness throughout the Restaurant for our other morning diners. However, if you felt that staff were more attentive at cleaning tables than attending to you as a customer we can only apologise and this will be something we’ll pass on to the relevant department for them to address further.

I can assure you that we do take your comments on board and we are extremely grateful for your feedback. I hope that you will return to Foxhills in the near future so that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Recently treatted my husband to a 24 golf stay at Foxhills, with some friends. Its a really lovely place -very resort like - and careful to think about all the different users and what they might like. The staff bend over backwards to try and make sure you have a good stay and there are lots of different areas and activities to take advantage of, with or without children. The men managed a very enjoyable round of golf on the Longcross, while we ladies lazed away in the spa with some treatments. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and retired to our rooms around midnight. We played tennis the next day and left regretfully at lunchtime. Its not cheap but then you don't get all the extras in this kind of place for nothing - it was worth it, believe me

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CooksAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoxhillsSurrey, General Manager at Foxhills, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We’re so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Foxhills and were fortunate enough to experience most areas within the Resort during your stay. We thank you for taking the time to give your feedback; we will distribute your positive response to the relevant heads of departments to ensure our levels of service are kept high. We hope you left feeling better than when you arrived and we look forward to welcoming you back to Foxhills in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ottershaw
3.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,058 reviews
6.8 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
2,567 reviews
4.6 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills

Property: Foxhills
Address: Stonehill Road, Ottershaw KT16 0EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Ottershaw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ottershaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxhills 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly recommended by the AA Hotel Guide 2016, Foxhills in Ottershaw is the ideal getaway. Guests become members for the day, enjoying access to the award-winning healthspa and gym, fitness classes, par three 9 hole Manor golf course, three restaurants and bars including fine-dining in The Manor Restaurant, tennis and squash courts, and more. The ultimate playground, visit the historic Manor House to check in for your stay, before enjoying modern luxurious touches in your bedroom. Foxhills is also available for weddings, parties and conferences, with nine flexible event spaces on offer and complimentary WiFi throughout the resort for visitors and guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Foxhills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Hotel Ottershaw
Foxhills Resort Ottershaw
Foxhills Surrey/Ottershaw, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing