We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean, charming and close to Rainier”
Review of BaseCamp Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
BaseCamp Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super clean, charming and close to Rainier”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Jasmer's Fireplace Rooms (specifically the Bird's Nest unit). The room was perfect for 1 - 2 people, super clean, full of country charm, stocked with the right amount of amenities (including granola bars, coffee, hot chocolate, etc.) and reasonably priced. The owner was super friendly and provided helpful advice on the mountain. The place is conveniently located to Mount Rainier and walking distance to a few restaurants/diners and a small grocery store. It's the perfect place for a short retreat or getaway, and I hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seattlegal65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    22
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
22
123
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver
Level Contributor
137 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Even though we stayed 6 nights, we only scraped the surface of all the different activities in this area. And what a perfect base from which to explore: the Tahoma Vista cabin!

The moment we walked into this well-appointed, immaculately clean cabin, we felt relaxed and welcome. It became a true home-away-from home for the week. Every time we opened a drawer or cupboard, we found another thoughtful touch designed to make our visit comfortable.

After a day of hiking in Mt. Rainier National Park, it was pure bliss to sink into the hot tub and then relax in front of a fire.

Specifics: the bed was good and comfortable, generous supplies of linens are provided, the kitchen is fully stocked if you want to prepare your own meals (we did most nights). It also has a microwave and conventional oven if you prefer to reheat. Good quality coffee and tea are also supplied. There is a cupboard of games as well as a library of DVD’s, CD’s, and videotapes for at home evenings.

In our seven days in this cabin, we only heard one other human voice once: a woman calling her dog quietly as she walked past.

Our hospitable hosts, Tanna and Luke, offered a wealth of information about the area and places of interest. Even though we only saw them three times during our stay, we felt more like part of their family than paying guests, in the best way possible.

A couple of thoughts if you are going to this area: plan on rain. If you don’t get it, you won’t be disappointed. If you do get it, well there is a full sized washer and dryer in the cabin and you can dry off quickly.

We live in the mountains ourselves so we know they can be shy and sometimes the peaks disappear from view for days at a time. If you only have a day or 2 day in this area, there are no guarantees you will get the breathtaking view of the mountains. But if you wake up to sun – get out there and carpe diem. The clouds can roll in without much warning. If you miss the view of the mountains on one visit, it's a good reason to plan a return trip!

What to do if it rains? Or even snows?

One day we took a long car drive, around the perimeter of the park through Buckley. What beautiful verdant scenery. Elk grazing beside the road. Small herds of deer. The riches of nature are abundant here. Also there are great museums and interpretive displays in the area. Drive up Mt Rainier and stop at Longmire and the visitors’ centre at Paradise. The rangers’ talks are educational and fascinating. There are hands-on exhibits. There is history to absorb. Or drive West toward Eatonville and stop at the Northwest Trek Wildlife Park. http://www.nwtrek.org/ You can ride around in heated, dry tram-bus and see free range animals like bison, elk, mountain goats and even moose.

Or just light a fire, stay indoors, and enjoy the comfort of this cozy cabin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCountryWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Looking for a romantic getaway within minutes of Mount Rainier National Park? Look no further than Jasmer's Fireplace Rooms in Ashford.

We chose to commemorate our 30th wedding anniversary at the Mountain and reserved a room at Paradise Inn. The many negative reviews convinced us to cancel. We re-booked into Jasmer's Wild Bird cabin. It was one of the best lodging decisions ever!

Located about six miles from the park's Nisqually entrance, Jasmer's Wild Bird cabin is quaint, quiet, and cozy. We loved the oak flooring, pine wood interior and gas fireplace. The breakfast nook sits next to a bay window that overlooks a bird feeder, where varied thrushes, finches, wrens and cowbirds dart in and out and play "feather-and-fur" with the local feline.

Luke and Tanna thought of everything to make our stay pleasant and comfortable. Besides being sparkling clean, Wild Bird includes the usual amenities - fridge, microwave, phone, TV, hair dryer, DVD player, shampoo and lotion - and then some. Like extra seed for the bird feeder, sunscreen, a small collection of DVDs and books. Cutter's insect repellant, folded napkins, tea candles + matches. Wine glasses. Twinkling lights hugging the bay window. A couple of York peppermint patties and breakfast bars in the kitchenette, which is well-stocked with essentials. (We brought our own plates and utensils but didn't need them.)

Bonus points: Tanna greeted us by name at every opportunity and Luke served with The Few. The Proud. Semper Fi!

Wild Bird is one of the loveliest, coziest accommodations ever. Restful, relaxing and snug. A treat to return to after a day out on the trails, slogging through snow. We're looking forward to returning for our 35th!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 days and had a great time. The cabin was just right for two, and well stocked. The hot tub was nice and hot, clean too. It was only about 7 miles from the entrance to Mt. Rainer, which was nice for a day ride. I would recommend it for a couple looking for cozy accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosered05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a room at Jasmer's for a weekend winter trip to Mt. Raineer. We were very delighted with everything - the room was good sized, the fireplace was very nice and relaxing after a whole day of snowshoeing in the Mt. Raineer area. It is also very convenient that there is kitchenette with a fridge and a microwave, as well as all necessary dishes and utensils. The host was very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely stay at Jasmer's the next time when we visit the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonHiker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

First I would like to comment on how easy it was to book this rental. Luke and Tanna were very responsive to email questions. From there, things only got eaiser and better. Everything was easy to find, Luke and Tanna were very friendly and helpful. We rented their smallest cabin, the Rainier Retreat and were happy with what we got. It was small, enough room for just two people, a queen size bed a few other furnings and a decent size bathroom. It was very clean, bed was very comfortable and it did have everything one would need for a shorts stay. It does not have a stove, but there was a gas grill on the deck with a gas burner should someone want to cook, although there are some simple dining options in town that were nice. The hot tub was wonderful and had pleanty of privacy. The only negatives I would say, and believe me they are very minor ones, was the tap water is well water, so it comes out cloudy and while they said it was safe to drink that way, opted to purchase two gallons of bottled water from the local store ($2 cost) and while the cabin does have satellite TV, it only is for the very basic local Seattle channels. But on the plus side the Wi-Fi was easy to use and extremly reliable.

So if you are looking for a great place to stay for a get a way, or for a visit to Mt. Rainier (which is less than a 10 minute drive) this is a great place for 2 people. We are certainly planning on staying there again in late summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaInSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place is clean, well taken care of, very well stocked for you. My husband and I spent a weekend here in the Big Creek cabin and it was very relaxing. The creek sound makes my day any day. It is very cozy here. The staff is very friendly. I would suggest bring music, dvd's, books, games to give you something to do. They do have movies here and cd's and games but it wouldnt hurt to bring your own. They have everything you need to cook your own food. They provide seasonings and other helpful stuff. They even had mugs in the freezer for your drinks. So overall I would definately recomend this place. No cell service! They do have a landline phone in the cabin if needed. They do have WiFi but the only way it worked was to hook our computer up directly to router.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenifers028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke O, Owner at BaseCamp Cottages, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Jenifer,
Thank you for the glowing review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write. We will check the wireless tomorrow. We have had several power outages and probably just needs a reboot. Generally we are wireless at Big Creek Cabin, but streaming movies "speed" has not yet become available in that area of town. Bring movies or rent them at Suver's General Store. Truly well worth the nostalgic trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
4.8 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
21.4 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaseCamp Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaseCamp Cottages

Property: BaseCamp Cottages
Address: 30005 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9805 (Formerly Jasmer's Fireplace Rooms)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing