We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cottage a 10 / uncomfortable beds 0”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The charm and ambience of the cottage was great. It was quiet,clean private and away from noise. The three beds were beyond uncomfortable. The two twin beds were uncomfortably "Lumpy". In my double could feel the wire of the box springs every time I moved. No one slept.UPGRADE YOUR BEDS !!!! They are way past their prime!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diva70Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 106 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2010

This is a remodeled ( and moved) bunkhouse built for loggers years ago. The room we had was very nice and very large. Very reasonable rates. The folks at the Coffee/ice cream shop where one checks in were very cheery and helpful. Many people staying here are climbers. They have dormitory accommodations as well as private rooms.
My husband loved the bed. But for me it was like sleeping in a marshmallow. We found the room to be very clean with a rustic look. Beautiful hardwood floors. As we spent much of our time at Rainier, we were not in our room or the town very much. Would have like another day even considering the squishy bed and pillows.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poodletoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Its proximity to Mt. Rainer NP clearly is a major selling point. With all the best and highly recommended places long since booked, this was one of our few options for a 3 night stay in Ashford to explore the park. We checked in to The Cottage which is a small cabin about 1.5 miles up the road towards the park. No wifi or any other internet connection there. At a rate of $165 per night for 4 people, given its location, it's certainly not expensive. Unfortunately some of its key lodging characteristics were below par. Most dramatically: the very poor quality, worn out mattresses. Two twins and a queen should sleep 4, but we had a hard time getting ours. If the proprietors would consider upgrading the sleep hardware this basic cabin accommodation would certainly benefit.
The whole place could do with a thorough cleaning, just some good old TLC would go a long way (had to replace 3 light bulbs myself). But that seems to be the stumbling block: nobody cares at Whittaker's Bunkhouse. Certainly not the young ladies that run the front desk. For them it's just another summer job it seems. No hospitality atmosphere, communication is kept to the bare minimum to the point of being rude. They make good coffee though, I'd recommend it.
No housekeeping at the The Cottage by the way. Had to share 3 towels between the 4 of us for 3 days. It may be cheap, but that's not cheerful anymore.
Again, put some love in the place, get the essentials right (beds) and the location sells itself, you could even consider charging a little more.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0rtelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

This place has a real youth hostel feeling, full of climbers tackling Rainier and their stories. If you are an armchair moutaineer (or a real one!!), this is definately the place for you!!

This is a simple place built for excellent value and "the feeling." The hotel itself has a turn-of-the-century forest tourism feeling about it. Clapboard construction and a wraparound porch with plenty of places to sit out and talk to fellow guests on this L-shaped building add to the friendliness and ambiance of the place. Many of the rooms have been refurbished, including ours (rm 11, 2 twin beds), but the bathroom could still have used a little work. (Their website shows photos of every single room available, so you can choose your favorite interior).

Excellently located minutes from one of the main entrances to Mt. Rainier Park (stop for pancakes at the Copper Creek Cafe (or lunch...or dinner!!). Whittakers also offers a coffee shop which also serves breakfast sandwiches (ice cream and snacks on offer the rest of the day) at its reception area. Next door is a mountain information center and fully stocked shop and a grill serving killer pizzas, burgers,etc. The feeling here is very open. Staff here are young, energetic, super-friendly and helpful about the area. We didn't expect much here and it is simple, but this was perhaps the most pleasant surprise of our whole vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amylmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed here for a quick trip to Mt. Rainier and really enjoyed the feel of the place. Our vacation was centered around being outside and enjoying nature, and with that in mind, we wanted to stay somewhere a bit more rustic. Because of this, Whittaker's was perfect for us. The floors are hardwood, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom adequate for our needs. Now for those of you wanting five star luxury, this isn't the place for you. For those of you who have fond memories of going to summer camp as kids or going camping with your family, this place will feel very nostalgic, and I think you'll enjoy it. Plus they have a great little coffee shop with everything you need to get you started in the morning before your day on the mountain.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DP79DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

My husband I stayed here for 1 night in July. We had spent the day visiting Rainier and just needed a place to lay our heads. Whittaker's Bunkhouse is that perfect place. The room was small but quiet and had everything we needed. I thought it would be weird not having a television, but it was very relaxing. They do offer free wireless internet access in their rooms.

We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlp0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

We only stayed one night to explore Mt Rainer, after a cruise from Seattle. We had room 21 which was just fine for us. The room had what we needed and was very clean. There is a great place to eat lunch next door, the Base Camp (Pizza, burgers and beer). There is an info center and hiking rental there also. This is a great place to return to after a visit to the mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mike_Balt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
4.6 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
328 reviews
20.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
21.3 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
287 reviews
3.5 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
147 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mill Village Motel
Mill Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Eatonville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse

Address: 30204 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: $70 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing lodging for all climbers, hikers, skiers or anyone visiting the Mount Rainier area. Whether you are climbing with a Guide Service or Independently, hiking in the Alpine Meadows, or just want a place to relax, Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse has been the spot since 1990! The Bunkhouse was built in 1912 to house loggers and mill workers in the Ashford Valley. Renovated in 1990 by Lou and Ingrid Whittaker, Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse offers lodging in 18 cozy rooms with private baths, or for those seeking a more Hostel-like environment, the Bunk Room sleeps up to 6 people with shared bathroom and shower. Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse is located in "downtown" Ashford, a tiny community in the Nisqually Valley. Enjoy the rustic charm of a former logging town with a panoramic view of the foothills of the majestic Mount Rainier, all within walking distance of shops, restaurants, post office and a local Pub. Rainier Mountaineering Inc. Is also based next door at the Whittaker Mounaineering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittaker`s Motel And Historic Bunkhouse Hotel Ashford
Whittakers Bunkhouse Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing