We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....Rustic but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We staying at the Bunkhouse for our visit to Mount Rainier. The staff at the Bunkhouse is great and very helpful. The facility is rustic but clean. Our family of 5 stayed comfortably in room #23. The weather was a tad warm and there is no AC in the bunkhouse so it can be a little stuffy. For the convenience to Mount Rainier though....it is worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrNoName2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 106 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband & I wanted to take his mother to Mt. Rainier during her visit to WA & we booked Whittaker's Cottage, which is located about 1.5 miles towards the park from the historic bunkhouse. I was a little nervous because I could only find one photo of the inside & multiple people warned against the lumpy beds. I was pleasantly surprised! The cabin is clean, bright, cheerful, and well equipped. Although the gas fireplace was on the fritz during our visit. There is a stereo, no TV or wifi, but lots of board games. The beds weren't THAT bad - the queen could really benefit from a mattress topper, but we slept fine. The two single beds actually seemed like they did have a topper of some sort added. I'll try to post a bunch of photos, so you can make an informed choice, but I do recommend the Cottage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank darcyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

So, this was my 10th time or so staying here. Always before and after a climbe of Rainier. It is a very convenient staging area and a great luxury after being on the mountain a few days. The beds are comfortable, always clean, nice coffee shop out front and a great all around historical feel. This is not the Ritz but if you are a climber, like to hang out with us or looking for a nice basic place to stay in Ashford, Longmire, etc. this is it. True, the places in the park are a bit nicer but much pricier! After a climb this is sanctuary!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank SHCharlotteNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is all about location - near Mt Rainier. It was raining when we arrived and the room was cold, but because it was small, it got heated up quickly. The downside was a short bed and that there was only a small heating fan (built in wall) which made noise throughout the night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Compared to what you'd pay for a cabin or a trendy lodge, it's a decent deal. Especially since they have a hot tub, which was much appreciated after a full day of snowshoeing. But don't expect too much comfort. The beds are extraordinarily soft and lumpy and the walls are thin enough to hear conversations next door.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were initially hesitant about booking Whittaker's because it is fairly basic, but then the well known Hotels in the National Park are a lot more money, and Whittaker's has plenty of character, an interesting history and it gets you into the feel of the mountain; the Motel/Bunkhouse is used a lot by people making the ascent. Ok our room, a double with bathroom (so not that basic!), was quaint but provided little other than a place to sleep (although even here there is free WiFi). It wasn't that comfortable, and I wouldn't have wanted to spend many more nights there (two was enough for us to see the sights, walk the skyline trail). The people were friendly and helpful, although it can get busy in the cafe/breakfast/ice cream/check in etc. The drive to Mount Rainier wasn't too long and all in all we found Whittaker's a great value and convenient stop, with just a touch of a sense of adventure present in the air.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reachargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed three nights before and after climbing Mt. Rainier. The motel is very clean and comfortable, but dated. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Flower pots everywhere give it a nice look. It's without modern conveniences of TV and phones in the room. Relax, decompress and bring good reading material. Cell service is non-existent for ATT users, but Verizon users had much better luck. Don't use the pay phone except with a calling card. Rates are outrageous. For example, a collect call home was $32.60 for 6 minutes! The cafe provides light breakfast, snacks, sodas, coffee, ice cream. Next door at Whittaker Mountaineering there's a grill with hamburgers, pizza, salads, etc., and beer/wine. So you can see this place has all the basics. There are other restaurants down the road and staff can recommend whatever you are looking for.

Room Tip: Stay away from Room 8. It's a good room, but too close to the kitchen, so in the morning at 5:30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
4.6 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
329 reviews
20.1 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
21.3 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
288 reviews
3.5 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
148 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mill Village Motel
Mill Village Motel
#1 of 1 in Eatonville
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse

Address: 30204 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: $70 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing lodging for all climbers, hikers, skiers or anyone visiting the Mount Rainier area. Whether you are climbing with a Guide Service or Independently, hiking in the Alpine Meadows, or just want a place to relax, Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse has been the spot since 1990! The Bunkhouse was built in 1912 to house loggers and mill workers in the Ashford Valley. Renovated in 1990 by Lou and Ingrid Whittaker, Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse offers lodging in 18 cozy rooms with private baths, or for those seeking a more Hostel-like environment, the Bunk Room sleeps up to 6 people with shared bathroom and shower. Whittaker's Motel & Historic Bunkhouse is located in "downtown" Ashford, a tiny community in the Nisqually Valley. Enjoy the rustic charm of a former logging town with a panoramic view of the foothills of the majestic Mount Rainier, all within walking distance of shops, restaurants, post office and a local Pub. Rainier Mountaineering Inc. Is also based next door at the Whittaker Mounaineering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whittaker`s Motel And Historic Bunkhouse Hotel Ashford
Whittakers Bunkhouse Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing