We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude server.”

Highlander Steakhouse & Lounge
Ranked #9 of 9 Restaurants in Ashford
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rude server.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

FYI, when you order the fried chicken dinner, do not, I repeat DO NOT ask for dark or white meat only. The server will look at you like you are a complete and total jerk for making such an strange request and tell you that you will get what they give you. What I thought was a normal process when ordering fried chicken is totally foreign to the locals of Ashford, WA. If you do make such a request, be prepared for her to be rude to you and ignore you the rest of the evening while giving the complete opposite service to all the tables around you. Apparently they didn't order the fried chicken.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomenicR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    20
    27
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little funky and rough.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Bar, pool hall, restaurant, karaoke bar, roadhouse. Ate there with friends one Saturday night, food average, service actually above average. Decor? A funky mish-mash. I can say that you probably won't leave this place hungry but don't expect no fancy kwee-zeen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank constant_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drive East....there are better choices closeby”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was a disappointment from start to finish. Dismal interior, doors open, flies buzzing everywhere. Not many cars at 6 pm-ish. Should have been the first clue and we should have turned around. Service was extremely slow - 4 of us had been seated at a table for almost 20 minutes before the waitress 'tossed' us some menus and brought a glass of water. That should have been the second clue that sent us packing. Then another 15 or so before she took orders, and another 15-20 to get a partial order of onion rings and a salad.really, we should indeed have simply walked out at this point leaving payment on the table for what we did receive. But we stayed - Spouse and I had ordered an Odouls to split, and the server smacked the bottle on the table between us... no glass to share the brew. more time to get the burgers and fries. It wasn't even terribly busy - one large table of 8 or so, our table and some folks sitting at the bar and another group of 4 came in after us while the big table was breaking up and leaving....
The onion rings were pretty good when we finally got them, but were only a partial order! We had to wait for the rest. The burgers were decent, prices on the high-reasonable side, but over $55-ish for 4 this is still not "cheap" for burgers and fries, etc.... Condiment containers were yucky and not clean.
Rest rooms - uh, no, don't go there.
It took well over an hour and half to get simple burgers, salads fries, onion rings. Would not return here, and cannot recommend in any way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5000Miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
232 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Dark 'skanky' looking in the day, but probably a great bar and...”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

their coffee was okay, service was good, food was average…bland and basic… but not expensive. They need some light in here for breakfast customers and turn off the news on the TV!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KOSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
530 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Huge "F" On The Soft-Serve Ice Cream!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Our family stopped for lunch at the Highlander. First impression - not good. It has the look and feel of a local bar. The restaurant / bar is crowded with tables, chairs, photos, even a disco ball. The food was o.k. for lunch until it got to the ice cream. We ordered a butterscotch shake. We got a vanilla shake. I ordered a German chocolate ice cream. I got vanilla with a little bit of butterscotch taste. Our waitress blamed it on a new girl. During our meal our waitress asked to close out our tab because of a shift change. The waitresses / cooks were loud and the "new" waitress who took over our table clearly didn't know what to do. We had stopped at the Highlander because of the big Ice Cream banner. They need to get their act together on that!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AreWeHavingFunYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Highlander Steakhouse & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing