We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth it.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basecamp Bar & Grill

Basecamp Bar & Grill
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not worth it.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Unless your staying at the complex your using their guides to climb I couldn't find a reason to eat here. The people working were very friendly and nice. But the place seemed disorganized which led to long cook times. My girlfriend ordered a salad and got a burger as well as some nachos as an appetizer. You order at the counter and then pick up at a couple of different places. We received her salad first, which she completed before the nachos were called then after eating that my burger was called. It i open air cooking and dinning. Would be a good place to go for a beer after a long day of hiking and climbing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bkrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhiannon F, Manager at Basecamp Bar & Grill, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for stopping in, we welcome feedback and will try to change or improve when possible. The freshness, quality and space all contributed your review as well as time of day, day of the week and the glorious weather.

Here's 10 great reasons to try Basecamp Bar & Grill in your future trip to the Mountain.
Freshness - Quality Food & Drink
Made to order - we are happy to hold the pickles...substitute or create for your special need from within our pantry including Gluten Free!
Atmosphere - fun, outdoors, friendly
Kids - run and play outside while waiting for orders.
Local Micro-brews on tap with chilled glasses
Awesome Washington Wines
Supports the climbing World, Visitors, Locals and Community
Affordable Prices
One central location for Lunch & Dinner, Coffee, Ice Cream, Shopping, Visitor Center, Public Restrooms, Wireless, Verizon Cell Reception, Recreational rental gear, and you can walk from your lodging.
#10 Best Pizza, Burgers, Brews & Fresh Salads around!!!


Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    32
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best Way to End a Day on Mt Rainier and/or with RMI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Ate here a couple of times while out to climb Mt Rainier with RMI. The entire RMI/Whitaker Mountaineering complex is well run, and the Basecamp Bar & Grill is a great place to bring a day on The Mountain to a close.

The burgers are excellent. I particularly enjoyed the Jalapeno Cheese Burger. I did not try the pizza, but several members of our climbing team did, and they all commented favorably on taste and size of the pizzas received.

It also helps that Basecamp Bar & Grill has good draft beer selections! The Pt Defiance IPA was my favorite.

This bar and grill is covered, but open air, and the seating area is perfect for handling groups. Enjoy the fresh mountain air as you and friends refuel after a day of exploring, hiking, or climbing on Mt Rainier!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“big burgers...bring your appetite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

had a chance to go to RMI. built up a good appetite every day. and was not disappointed. the food was excellent. the pizza and the hamburgers were great. try them all. dont forget to have some good dark beer. i think our favorite was Expedition.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank shark4rk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The pizza was great, the beer was cold and the atmosphere was relaxed. A must after spending some time hiking about Mt. Rainier.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Savoy6Valrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

When you're looking to have your last dinner before your summit climb or celebrating your successful summit climb, this is the place to go!

Food is grilled up outdoors on site and eaten on picnic tables. You might even find yourself sitting next to a legendary mountaineer telling the most fascinating climbing stories.

What better way to kick off your mountaineering experience than with the aptly named Summit Dog! It brought me good luck on reaching the top two days later.

Once you return, what better way to celebrate your summit than with a Pacific Northwest classic - the salmon burger (plus maybe a few beverages).

Every time I'm getting ready to tackle the mountain, I make sure to eat at the Basecamp Bar & Grill. Its the best.

Its on site with RMI/Whittaker's Bunkhouse so you should have all your pre/post-climb needs cared for at Basecamp.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linear U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Basecamp Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing