We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anniversary getaway-romantic”
Review of Alexander's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful anniversary getaway-romantic”
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We returned to Alexander's for our 1st anniversary...very romantic. Loved all the little details. The most comfortable bed, coffee in the morning, wine in the afternoon, the great hot tub for the aches after snowshoeing at Mt Rainier. Great variety to choose from at the complimentary breakfast. The staff was great...we will definately return again. Alexander's is one of our favorites!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maydaytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    88
    48
    28
    10
See reviews for
73
182
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We were the only guests for this weekend. The entire staff were attentive and wonderful. They catered to us by remembering what we liked. They saved us a special piece of their fantastic pumpkin bread for our trip home. The staff went over and above expectations. The Inn was comfortable and felt like home. Our room was nice with a beautiful view of the snow. Comfortable bed, quiet surroundings. We will be coming back again and are thinking of making it an annual event.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — bathroom was small
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jwsvensk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
Thank you for your kind words. I'm happy that you enjoyed your recent stay at Alexander's--and hope you visit us again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

I booked both the Forest House and Chalet to celebrate my birthday with friends and family. There were 10 of us altogether.
Both home/cabin were clean and comfortable. We all enjoyed our stay. The staff (especially Velta) were very helpful answering questions and getting our 10 sets of snowshows and poles to borrow. If you're trying to choose between the two, The Forest House is larger than the Chalet. The dining area is large.
It has 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. It's a single story and looks more like a house. If you stay in the winter, be sure to keep the bedroom doors open at night as the gas stove is the only means of heat. Our rooms were cold our first night.
The Chalet is 2 stories and looks like what I'd expect a mountain Chalet to look like---has alot more character than the Forest House. But, it's smaller. (Each room has own heat though.)
I was disappointed to find that it only had 1 toilet, sink and tub/shower. I don't know why they've got it listed as 1 1/2 bath.
Also had to walk on Hwy to get to the Inn from F House & Chalet.

  • Liked — Cabins are close together so easy to share and room for all in one cabin to eat together
  • Disliked — No cell service since it's between Ashford and Mt Rainier
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank westcoast250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your recent visit to Alexander's. I'm glad you and your friends had fun snowshoeing--and that the weather was picture-perfect on your birthday weekend.
I do apologize for not explaining that the Forest House does have central electric heat. (The thermostat is in the main hallway.)
You are correct, the Chalet is a one-bathroom house. Some groups prefer the Forest House. The Chalet's bathroom has a two-sink vanity and a door seperates the vanity from the commode/tub.shower.
The Forest House and Chalet are 75-yards from the inn. There is a wide-open field with a pathway between the houses and the inn. There's been so much snow this winter that the pathway has been buried for several weeks now---which is why you had to walk on the shoulder of the road.
We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

I cannot say enough good things about Alexander's. My husband and I were married at the inn in December. The day was perfect! The staff is amazing, helpful and so friendly. The service and food was excellent. There were accomidations for all of our guest and we got SNOW! If you are planning a smaller wedding (50 or less!) this is THE PLACE TO DO IT! You REALLY do get more than what you pay for. We will definitely be returning to Alexander's for more weekend getaways!

  • Liked — Staff/Food/Location/EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jennbWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hikergalTacoma, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2009
Congratulations on your wedding!
We loved hosting your event. It's a joy to see wedding couples celebrating their wedding with family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

My husband and I recently had our wedding at Alexanders and our family also stayed the weekend with us there. We had an absolutely fabulous time! The rooms were so unique and very clean. The staff treated us like we were the only guests there. The food was very delicous also. Overall our trip couldn't have been any better. I would definetly reccomend Alexanders for a weekend getaway or a romantic intimate wedding. We will be back soon!

  • Liked — The atmosphere was just beautiful.
  • Disliked — Having to go back home!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank karlihiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
I'm so glad to have meet you and your family!
Your wedding was so beautiful and filled with love, support and lots of joy.
Hope to see you back at Alexander's for your first anniversary--if not before.
Best wishes to both of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in September and had a wonderful stay. Just a mile or so from the park, the Inn is cozy, old but well maintained and very clean. The owners are on -site and helpful to all guests. Nice touches with wine happy hour, trout pond for your evening meal ( if you wish) and wireless. The food is very good; dinner was very good and reasonably priced and breakfast was a hit. Wonderful wait staff. Rooms are clean and bathroom had nice shower. All in all a great stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
Many thanks for your kind comments about Alexander's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

This inn was a really cute place near the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. The outside is beautiful with gardens and a pond. The inn itself is charming, our room was clean and comfortable. We did have dinner at the Inn and I felt it was quite overpriced for what we got, but I'm not sure there would be anything better in Ashford. There is no TV in the room, but they do have a media center downstairs with a huge projection TV. We chose to entertain ourselves and played Monopoly, some down time we took advantage of that we never do at home! We got a complementary breakfast in the morning which is always nice.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsies14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
16.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
167 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
202 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
1.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
137 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Lodge

Property: Alexander's Lodge
Address: 37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602 (Formerly Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites & vacation homes available. Free breakfast and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is seasonaly open( please call to confirm) , reservation is required. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Day Spa & Gift shop on-site. Trout feeding activity available on-site. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alexander's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing