We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot tub is a draw”
Review of Alexander's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Their restaurant has good food (fallen from great in recent years) and the location is perfect for exploring Mt Rainier, but the best part is the hot tub with a view of the trout pond. The rooms are a little cramped and dated, with creaky beds (read: not the perfect place for red-hot romance), but they are well-priced. If you book online, you get a discount.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
There are newer reviews for Alexander's Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 324 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Amazing place to stay. Every "get-away" we go on is compared to our stay here. Food is AMAZING and fresh. (Nothing beats the trout they raise in the back!) The staff was VERY friendly. Our waiter remember our favorite wine and brought it out automatically when we came down for dinner our second night. Eating breakfast while watching the deer, raccoons and humming birds eat theirs was wonderful!
Take one of their "packed lunches" with you on your way to Mount Rainer. Its fabulous!

Room Tip: There are no "bad" rooms! You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavFos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dave - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Alexander's with other travelers! We are delighted that you enjoyed our food (the fresh trout is exceptional!), great service and the wildlife that abounds in the Mount Rainier area.
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel. We only went there for dinner while visiting Mt Rainer for an overnight trip. The food was ok but reading the story about the property and what it has been through throughout the year was neat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank trh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Restful, relaxing, and right next to Mt. Rainier National Park. What more could you want? We had a lovely room, and the breakfast was delicious. This has been our go-to spot whenever we needed a Mt. Rainier fix, but we hadn't been to that entrance for a while, so we were happy to make a return visit. Everything was even better than we remembered!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aljbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

We are so glad that everything was better than you remembered! Alexander's is the perfect spot for a beautiful, serene get away!
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

First I will comment about the services provided by Jerry and Bernadette, the owners. During our stay one of our party of four seniors had a medical emergency and 911 was called. By the time we returned from the hospital, the dining room had closed. We had not had anything to eat since breakfast, and there are few places in the area at which to dine. Upon recognizing our plight, Jerry went down to the kitchen and prepared a meal for us. Two of the servers set a table in the upstairs parlor and we were treated to a very delicious, impromptu dinner.

Another indication of the fabulous service was when we commented to Bernadette that one of our party was concerned about falling while taking a shower. The next day, Bernadette went to a hardware store and purchased a suction-cup devise as a support aid for him to feel more comfortable.

Now for the wait-staff in the dining room. You could not find a more pleasant group of ladies anywhere. They were helpful and courteous, the kind of service you would find in a five star resort.

As for the inn itself, the building is over 100 years old and you find the kind of defects expected in such a building; narrow stairs, sloping floors, small rooms, etc. So don’t expect a Hilton. However, you can expect clean rooms and baths, plenty of bathroom amenities and, as I mentioned, superior service. We stayed in rooms 10 and 11. Room 11, the better of the two rooms we reserved, is the Lower Tower Suite and the bedroom has windows overlooking the water wheel and pond. Both rooms (suites) had a small “living room”, the bath and the bedroom. They are just off a very large common room, the parlor. There are no phones or TVs in the rooms. A second common room has cable TV.

The food in the restaurant was very good. The selection, while limited, was varied, but very good. Be sure to try the fresh trout, as it is caught in the on-site trout pond daily. We did not use the spa services or the hot tub, so I cannot comment. But if the other features of the inn are any indication of the quality, they should also be excellent.

The inn is only a few miles from the gate to the Mt. Rainer National Park and all it’s wonders.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TOMnLYNNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The inn is located very close to the state park and is a quaint establishment..like stepping back to another era. The property is charming with an operating water wheel and large stocked pond. Inside is a bit frou-frou for my taste, but it was clean and welcoming. The large parkour where wine is served in the early evening and coffee in the morning had a wonderful fire going in the fire place. A peaceful place to relax. There was also a large media room but we didn't take time to use it. The room itself was just OK, the beds just OK, the closet space was an old armoire, so not much room...plenty though for our short stay. We had a room that had a private bath across the hall- not en suite. The bath was awkward in that there wasn't any place to put any belongings or clothing. Other rooms may have been better. The room came with a breakfast credit in the attached restaurant and was delicious. Would we stay here again? Maybe..but definitely not in that room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank texastwosome22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Bernadette Ronan and Jerry Harnish, the owners of Alexander’s Country Inn & Restaurant, are terrific. Not only do they run a fine B&B -- lovely, comfortable furnishings and excellent food -- but they came to our aid when we needed it, and we will always be grateful.

Our son and his fiancée were planning an outdoor wedding the end of September 2013 at a rustic retreat near the base of Mt. Rainier, but on the Thursday before the Saturday wedding, torrential rains began and were forecast to last through the weekend.

When we arrived at Alexander’s, where we were to stay and where the rehearsal dinner was to be on that Friday evening, I quickly located Bernadette, and told her our dilemma.

During the dinner, Bernadette and Jerry made a series of phone calls that put us in touch with Lions clubs in Ashford and Eatonville, Washington. Bernadette and Jerry had known just who to call and persisted until they reached the right people.

We wound up moving the wedding to the Lions building in Eatonville, and it turned out to be a wonderful party.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Catherine - we are so pleased that we were able to make your son's wedding day a success - we do make every effort to go above and beyond!
Penny
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
15.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
215 reviews
16.9 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
177 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
3.7 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Lodge

Address: 37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602 (Formerly Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: $107 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites & vacation homes available. Free breakfast and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is seasonaly open( please call to confirm) , reservation is required. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Day Spa & Gift shop on-site. Trout feeding activity available on-site. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing