We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alexander's is top notch”
Review of Alexander's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alexander's is top notch”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Bernadette Ronan and Jerry Harnish, the owners of Alexander’s Country Inn & Restaurant, are terrific. Not only do they run a fine B&B -- lovely, comfortable furnishings and excellent food -- but they came to our aid when we needed it, and we will always be grateful.

Our son and his fiancée were planning an outdoor wedding the end of September 2013 at a rustic retreat near the base of Mt. Rainier, but on the Thursday before the Saturday wedding, torrential rains began and were forecast to last through the weekend.

When we arrived at Alexander’s, where we were to stay and where the rehearsal dinner was to be on that Friday evening, I quickly located Bernadette, and told her our dilemma.

During the dinner, Bernadette and Jerry made a series of phone calls that put us in touch with Lions clubs in Ashford and Eatonville, Washington. Bernadette and Jerry had known just who to call and persisted until they reached the right people.

We wound up moving the wedding to the Lions building in Eatonville, and it turned out to be a wonderful party.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Catherine - we are so pleased that we were able to make your son's wedding day a success - we do make every effort to go above and beyond!
Penny
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    85
    47
    28
    10
See reviews for
72
178
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pine Grove Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This inn is located close to the southwestern entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. The inn was constructed in the 1910's. It is dated, but functional. The rooms are small, with little storage space. The room rate includes a nice breakfast option (sans tip). Before we arrived, the staff kindly notified us there is no cellular service and the Internet is spotty.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have just left here after three nights and found the place charming. Furnished in keeping with the period in which it was built but without being stuck in a time warp, we had the petite suite so had plenty of room with a sitting/dressing room leading off from the bedroom. We had air conditioning in both rooms and a fan as the temperatures were 80-90 so we were glad of it. The parlour, where wine and chilled water are served at 5 pm and coffee and tea in the mornings, is a large, very pleasant room. There is also a modern media room for watching television and free Wi-Fi.

The restaurant is an attractive room. We had three breakfasts and they were filling and delicious. We also had a dinner there and enjoyed it very much. The portions are more European size so we never felt we had grossly overeaten. There is a good choice and daily specials for both dinner and breakfast. Staff were pleasant and good at their jobs. The housekeeping ladies were lovely.

If we had to look for faults or things we would change I would say that we would have liked a bigger wardrobe as the hangars wouldn't fit in so we had to leave the door open and hang some things on the outside. Drawers in the dressing room would have been nice too. We are on a month's trip so had more clothes than there was room for. Although we loved the petite suite, it was at the front of the building next to the road and the traffic up to Rainier starts early. The grounds are lovely but the flower beds need attention - a small thing but the outside should look as good as the inside!

Being on the road up to Mount Rainier and near the entrance to the Park, this is a near perfect place to stay if you want a change from bland, modern hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if you think this will bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

In a recent trip to Mt. Rainier, our party of 3 couples decided to spend 2 nights at Alexander's Country Inn. It's an old three story inn. There are no televisions in the rooms or air conditioning but it really didn't matter. We all felt comfortable, like being at your grandmother's house. The breakfast is included and it's a full breakfast, served in their restaurant dining room. The menu items were delicious. For a small fee, they'll prepare a well rounded box lunch for your day on the mountain. Don't hesitate staying at ACI if your traveling through Ashford, Washington.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GLaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
We are pleased that you and your group found Alexander's to be so comfortable. I know from personal experience how uncomfortable travel accommodations can sometimes be! We strive to make each and every guest feel welcome and relaxed. Also glad you enjoyed your breakfast and our Sack Lunches - they are perfect for a day out on the hiking trail!
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B with one of the best restaurants we have ever been too! After a day at Mt Rainier this was a wonderful place to come and relax! The trout from their pond was absolutely delicious and we enjoyed being able to sit outside by their trout pond before dinner with a glass of wine. Our room was just lovely and the hospitality was five star!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bluemoonistic_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review! We are so happy that you found Alexander's to be above and beyond your expectations!
Penny
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My dad and I stayed here one night. It was like home to me. Very friendly and helpful staff. Older historic property. Loved the atmosphere. No AC, but did not need it. Ate in the restaurant in the Inn. Delicious food. Breakfast was included with room. Breakfast was delicious fresh fruit and a muffin to start with and then we could order anything from the menu. All very good. We were seated by the window overlooking the gardens in front of the inn. We watched the birds and butterflies. Just lovely. There was a pond and patio in the back yard. A very peaceful retreat. No TV's in the rooms, but did not miss it. There was a TV room where you could watch TV if you want. There were several couples watching a Seattle Seahawks game the night we were there. It was fun to watch them cheer for their team. The Inn is very close to Mt. Rainier National Park. No elevators of course, so pack lightly because you have to carry your luggage up stairs to the second floor where the rooms are. We enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Beth, Thank you for sharing your impression of Alexander's with fellow travelers. We are so glad that you liked dining in our restaurant and hope that you took advantage of the bird guide books provided for our guests to use while enjoying their meals.
Penny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently stayed at this Inn during a trip to Mt. Rainier. Accommodations were very nice. Staff were very helpful. The food was incredible. We ate breakfast each morning at the Inn - and it was fantastic, not to be missed. We were late arriving (faulty GPS!) and when we finally got there, the restaurant was due to close in 5 minutes. We were starving after 12 hours of travel but we were assured that the kitchen wouldn't close until they fed us. We were so grateful! The other guests we met were cordial and we found we had lots in common. Oh and the wine at 5 pm was nice too. We loved that it was so close to the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clumbermom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Front Office Manager at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We find that many of our guests enjoy meeting and sharing their travel stories while relaxing with a glass of wine in our parlor or while taking in the beauty surrounding our Trout pond.
Penny
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
16.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Lodge

Property: Alexander's Lodge
Address: 37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602 (Formerly Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites & vacation homes available. Free breakfast and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is seasonaly open( please call to confirm) , reservation is required. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Day Spa & Gift shop on-site. Trout feeding activity available on-site. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alexander's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing