We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old property but great location!”
Review of Alexander's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old property but great location!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights hear while hiking in Mt Rainier. The rooms as small and dated but clean. The bed was comfortable. The shower was just a basic stall. It was fine for us because we were gone all day at the park doing long hikes Don't bother hurrying there for the "wine hour". It is the sweetest worst wine I have ever had. There is a large parlour in the inn which is nice to hang out in and talk to the other guests. It was very social!
We ate dinner there one night. We had a lovely salad and my trout was outstanding. My husband ordered the "special" trout which was explained as with cranberries and apples. It had a large portion of Thanksgiving type stuffing on it and was not a good combination. I referred to it as "Turkey trout". My pan fried trout was wonderful as was our dessert of mud pie. Service was also good. Just one wrong choice. The next night we ate at "Wildberry" across the street and it was awesome!
Breakfast were wonderful but do make sure you sign up early for a time. As we were hiking we wanted to eat and get on the mountain. They do a 7:30 am breakfast but only 2 parties at a time.
The best thing about the inn is they do lunches to go for $9 each. Great sandwich, fruit, candy, granola bar and drink all set to go so you don't have to worry about stopping anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageurfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    85
    48
    27
    10
See reviews for
72
180
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in a petite suite at the Inn, it was spacious, clean and at the rear of the Inn so no road noise. The breakfasts were delicious as well as the dinner we had in the their restaurant for the two nights we stayed there. So good value for money. The staff at the Inn were very friendly and extremely helpful. A good place to stay when visiting Mount Rainier NP.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
209 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've stayed at this B&B on two other occasions, and had dinners here twice that often.

The food is excellent. Alexander's is famous for two things: the fresh trout (grown in their own trout pond right behind the inn), and the blackberry pie. Oh my. I had the trout. My husband had the lamb and said it was perfect. We both enjoyed the pie.
So if you are hungry, don't miss the food.
The inn, though, has a few issues. Granted the building is very, very old, and as such, I suppose,should be given some leeway. While our room had no problems, my sister's room's smoke alarm beeped throughout the night. It being very late by the time she got to bed, she didn't think it was possible to have it repaired.
Our bed was comfortable, if a bit too soft. The thing that disturbed me most was the level of light in the room. I require a dark room in which to sleep. The lights outside the inn, one of which was the Inn's sign, shown in through the two windows, one of which was a stained glass one without any sort of shade. Their was a nightlight in the bathroom that was bright enough to read by. The lights shown under the doorway. Thus I didn't get much sleep.
The breakfast was unusual in that one had to sign up for it the night before, and they only took two parties at a time. The intervals were fifteen minutes. If you weren't paying attention, and didn't sign up for a reasonable breakfast time, you might find find yourself waiting until eleven o'clock for breakfast! Plus, they didn't start serving breakfast until 8 AM. If you want to hit the mountain, then, you'd not even be through the gate in time to see sunrise over the Mountain.

I had the scrambled eggs with ham and potatoes. I thought it odd that the ham was mixed in with the eggs, but it was still very good.

And I must mention the music in the restaurant. It was an interruption during the dinner meal, but when we entered the restaurant for breakfast, the music was literally so loud you couldn't hear the server telling you what was on the menu. I asked to have the music turned down and the woman looked at me as if I'd personally insulted her. The music was NOT turned down. It was a mix of jazz and rock, both of which are pretty hard to stomach first thing in the morning. Let's not mention that it is totally out of character for the ambiance of the restaurant. It would be as if you were eating at Grama's and she had heavy metal playing. The music clashed with the environment the owners have tried so hard to cultivate.

The owners need to understand that music in the restaurant is unnecessary, especially in as small a space as theirs. How can you enjoy the evening meal or breakfast when you have to strain to hear or shout to your companions?

If you're looking for a place to stay just outside the Park, this is a good place, but it's not the best overall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMeadowlark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Bed & breakfast Inn is very quaint and offer a nice atmosphere. The breakfast was wonderful and the service was good. Base on our observation the Inn need to updates some of the room. Our bathroom cabinet under the sink will not close and conststenly open. We do find the room has a musky smell sort of like a dirty diaper smell. The bed could use a upgrade mattess. We enjoyed the wine and the guests staying there that evening. We were able to enjoyed knowing them and the sitting room was very comfortable. We did not get enough time to use th Spa. Location was good for going to visit Mt. Rainer. We did not try the dinner but what we had breakfast it certainly was good. We will certainly recommend the place if you need a quaint place to stay..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kseow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

While this is a great 'jumping off point' to exploring Rainier, the price and description would suggest that this is more than just a place to fall into a bed after a long day of hiking- it isn't. When we arrived, we noticed the grounds were full of weeds and generally poorly maintained. The front desk 'greeter' was unpleasant and inattentive. The main parlor was saturated with a putrid mildew smell.There were opened doors (without screens) throughout the Inn that allowed mosquito's to roam freely, attacking the guests. The complimentary wine consisted of diluted, Franzia type white wine- no red, no beer. Our room the 'Tower suite' was described to us over the phone as having a Victorian spiral staircase- it was actually a dangerously steep loft ladder.The suite did not have a phone,clock, TV, mini-refrigerator / ice, AC or appropriate bath products including conditioner. It was stifling hot, so AC and a way to keep beverages cool would have helped a lot, and is something I would expect from even a low cost motel. They placed a card in the room saying 'contact the front desk if you need anything' but without a phone, I guess they want you walk down the three flights of stairs and try to find someone. Not having a clock is funny, since they make you schedule a time for breakfast- there was a wall clock on our floor but I found out at some point that it was an hour and 45 minutes slow, so almost missed out on breakfast. The Victorian décor (as described by the booking attendant) was actually out-dated floral wallpaper that would have been more appropriate to cover a dollhouse, or a Grandmother’s bathroom, than a romantic suite. I would also like to add that the only art on the wall was a moth-eaten, christening gown that would be better art for a Halloween themed room.
The food was actually very good, and you can stop here for dinner without being a guest, which I do recommend. I love this area so I hope I can find a decent place to stay for next time, but I have so few chances to take vacations as a hard working man so this will be it for the year- extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid the Tower suite if you don't like climbing ladders
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Jeff,
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Alexander's.
Some people don't care for the experience one finds in country inns or bed and breakfasts.
To address some of your points. You are correct, Alexander's does not have central air conditioning. Every room has at least one fan and, being in the mountains, it always cools off at night.
Our evening wine --usually a chablis--is complimentary. Alexander's Restaurant has domestic and microbrew beer as well as house wines and a wine list. Guests are welcome to purchase the beverage of their choice.
We have guest amenities such as clocks, hair dryers, toothbrushes/toothpaste, etc.
The christening gowns are family mementoes; framed with museum quality glass to preserve them. Some guests enjoy them.
I'm glad you enjoyed Alexander's Restaurant and hope you stop by next time you are on the Mountain.
You are always welcome to contact me directly.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We booked three nights at Alexander's because we wanted to do some day hiking in the Mt. Rainier National Park, and Alexander's is the closest facility to the Park. (The lodges in the park were booked.) Despite having seen some good reviews, we did not have high expectations, in part because we are not particular fans of "antique" facilities. We were delightfully surprised. Our "petite suite" was adequately roomy and spotlessly clean. We were there during a very hot spell and were at first worried that the lack of air conditioning would be a problem, but the window fans were more than adequate given the dramatic evening cool-downs. The grounds were beautiful, and all the employees were wonderful. The biggest surprise of all was the restaurant. The food was truly first class, both at breakfast and especially at dinner. The dinner menu included one of the best salmon dishes either of us could recall having.

We were on a three week trip from Seattle to San Francisco, with stays at many hotels and inns, and our stay at Alexander's just may have been our favorite.

Room Tip: The so-called petite suite gave us room to spread out that we may not otherwise have had in the anti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Alexander's Country Inn is just a short distance from the entrance to Mt. Ranier. The grounds are beautiful, but there is not view of the mountain. We stayed one night at the Paradise Inn at Mt. Ranier and wished we had spent two nights at Alexander's instead! Breakfast is in the restaurant, but was quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
16.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
165 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
199 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
1.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
134 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Lodge

Property: Alexander's Lodge
Address: 37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602 (Formerly Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites & vacation homes available. Free breakfast and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is seasonaly open( please call to confirm) , reservation is required. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Day Spa & Gift shop on-site. Trout feeding activity available on-site. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Alexander's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing