We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close as you can get to Mt. Ranier”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“As close as you can get to Mt. Ranier”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Alexander's Country Inn is just a short distance from the entrance to Mt. Ranier. The grounds are beautiful, but there is not view of the mountain. We stayed one night at the Paradise Inn at Mt. Ranier and wished we had spent two nights at Alexander's instead! Breakfast is in the restaurant, but was quite good.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    82
    47
    28
    10
See reviews for
71
175
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake Peekskill, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed 2 Nights at Alexander's Inn and Spa, which is 1 mile outside the gate of Mt Rainier National Park, and would have stayed longer but for our business apointments. The Inn is wonderful, charming and very clean. The resturant is special and has a great menu, from the twin trout from their own pond that I had to the lamb shank that my friend Ann had. After wandering around Mt Rainier for 6-8 hours it was a pleasure to get back to the inn and enjoy a great meal and a comfortable bed,

Room Tip: All the rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is such a relaxing place to stay. Built in 1912, the house is decorated in the old style. Very comfortable with a WONDERFUL restaurant. If you spend the night, the breakfast is provided and so good! The grounds are wonderful and you are only a mile from the entrance to Mt. Rainier. Truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Didn't expect much from this eatery out in the middle of nowhere, but it was a pleasant experience. Nice atmosphere, great service, excellent cuisine. Our server spent a lot of quality time with us and prepared our trout filets at our table

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovetown, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I were only able to stay one night on 8-4-12. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was incredable and would have cost at least $15 each somewhere else. We had to fill our camelback's for hiking and the staff was very accomidating with getting use ice to fill our packs. Super close to Mt. Ranier park entrance.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you want a private in-room bathroom if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very enjoyable stay at Alexander's Country Inn. We stayed 2 nights while visiting Mt. Rainier. Could not have been more comfortable. The innkeepers see to it that you have "extras" that you did not expect. the room was cozy and the food in the restaurant was quite good. Loved the breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just a mile from the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, we selected Alexander's from a long list of possibilities because it included a full breakfast and the restaurant on the premises served dinner. A lovely setting, nice grounds, a TV room, library, sitting areas, wine served at 5 PM. The trout pond supplies the restaurant with the most delicious fresh mountain trout, not to be missed.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the road. We got a corner room away from all noice. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devorah33851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your impression of Alexander's with TripAdvisor members. We're happy you enjoyed your visit with us. Hope you can stay with us again.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
16.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
159 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
89 reviews
4.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Lodge

Property: Alexander's Lodge
Address: 37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602 (Formerly Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites & vacation homes available. Free breakfast and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is seasonaly open( please call to confirm) , reservation is required. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Day Spa & Gift shop on-site. Trout feeding activity available on-site. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Alexander's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing