We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome B&B close to Mt. Ranier”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B close to Mt. Ranier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

This beautiful B&B is perfectly situated just a few miles from the entrance of Mt. Ranier National Park. We stayed in one of the suites, which was lovely and included a porch (perfect for relaxing and breathing the fresh air). The restaurant is great for dinner - the salmon is delicious and the friendly chef himself came out to see how we liked it. Breakfast was excellent too. The staff are very friendly. I wish we had been able to stay more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmb872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    83
    47
    28
    10
See reviews for
72
176
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed at Alexander's Country Inn for just one night in late August 2011. We had a very enjoyable stay! Kimberly, the inn keeper, was very hospitable, very gracious and made us feel right at home. We arrived after lunch was over, but she offered to fix us some soup and a sandwich, which was delicious. We also had dinner there that night and breakfast the following morning. For dinner I had trout which was out of this world. Try their own homemade salad dressing, very tastey. We were enligthened about the Inn, as well as Mt. Rainier. Our room, Old Tahoma, the previous Indian name for Mt. Rainier was very comfortable. The parlor was very confortable and homey. We were made to feel at home and were treated as though we had been friends forever. We even got to feed the trout. It was a thoroughly enjoyable stay, we have told others about Alexander's and certainly when we come back to this area we will again stay at Alexander's. Alexander's is what I feel a country inn should be. My daughter and her husband had stayed at Alexander's about 20 years ago. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don_Ashland_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I was looking for a special place to take my wife for her birthday weekend, and I could not have done better than this!! From the moment we pulled into the inn to the moment we left we were treated like VIPs. The owner herself greeted us at the door and provided us with best room in the hotel. The room was spectacular and was very cozy with old style charm. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. We dined two nights at the hotel's restaurant and are now officially addicted to Dan's French Onion soup. Also, the hotel allowed us to use snow shoes for free, and we had an amazing day snow shoeing at Mt. Ranier. Once we returned to the hotel we warmed up in the hot tub overlooking their spectacular pond. We loved it there so much, we booked an extra night on our last day so that the magic would not end.

I have traveled around the world to many different places, but few places have had such a positive impact on me as Alexander's did. It had it all, great scenary, great staff, and great accomodations. Thanks Bernadette, Penny, Jennifer, Bonnie and Dan!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzyjazz1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
We enjoyed meeting you and your wife and I am so happy that she enjoyed her birthday celebration at Alexander's. Also, thank you for the travel tips about Florida! We had a great time in Miami and hit some of the sites you suggested. Hope you two can make it back to Alexander's sometime soon.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkpen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had a comfortable small suite.The restaurant was good and the staff were excellent.When I had a flat tyre the staff rallied around and helped me sort out the problem which the car hire company failed to do although I had paid for the premium roadside service! I managed to limp back to SeaTac for the flight home to UK.There are walks from the grounds and the inn is very convenient for Mt Rainier.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emmanbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for posting your positive comments about Alexander's. Car trouble is never fun but it especially troublesome when you are on vacation and miles from the car rental office. I'm glad our staff was able to assist you with getting in touch with the car company. Hopefully you can make a return trip to Mount Rainier--sans car trouble--in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay if you can not get into Paradise Lodge. It has wonderful quaint rooms, very nice employees, beautiful grounds and EXCELLENT food in the restaurant.
We met people from all over the US who found this little "hideaway" by Google ! We wil stay
there again when we come back to Mt. Rainier. It's only a mile from the entrance to the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Sandi--
Thank you for taking the time to review Alexander's. I am happy you enjoyed the inn and our restaurant. Hope you can come back soon!
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

When we arrived, we were served the most delicious soup for lunch, Our room was wonderful with a fine bed. The hot tub was great with the beautiful view of the mountain, pond and waterfall. A delicious breakfast was served. We felt very pampered and enjoyed our first night in Washington.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astrid5255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Alexander's and I hope the rest of your vacation was enjoyable.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We were married at Alexander's Country Inn on October 1, 2011 and our entire wedding experience was simply amazing. From the time we booked our event, we were warmly welcomed and assisted with every aspect of our planning. We rented the Inn for the evening prior to our wedding and all of our guests were treated with individualized care and attention. Our rehearsal dinner was superb, and all of our accomodations, including rooms, reception food, wedding cake and overall experience were without reproach. The owners of the Inn, Bernadetta and Jerry, and their entire staff went out of their way to ensure every detail of our wedding went smoothly and met our every expectation. The Inn is beautifully maintained, and the charmimg parlor where our ceremony was held allowed for an intimate, warm celebration with close family and friends. The trout pond, waterfall, waterwheel, and other outside scenes allowed for breathtaking photography by our photographer, Andrew Lynch of Graham, WA. We have heard nothing but glowing reviews from each of our guests regarding all aspects of their experience at the Inn. Special requests were met quickly and without reservation and our wedding ceremony and reception flowed smoothly and effortlessly. Our wedding experience far exceeded our expectations, and we cannot thank the owners and staff at Alexander's enough for their friendliness, professionalism, flexiblity and attention to detail. We recommend Alexander's Country Inn without reservation for all prospective wedding parties and overnight guests, and look forward to many more special visits to the Inn. Mary and Bob

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexandersCountryInn, Owner at Alexander's Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Mary--

My staff and I enjoyed every minute of hosting your wedding and we feel lucky to have you and Bob as friends.
We are always happy to see you--and the girls--at Alexander's.
Bernadette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
16.8 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
16.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
4.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Lodge

Property: Alexander's Lodge
Address: 37515 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9602 (Formerly Alexander's Lodge & Restaurant)
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexander's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic inn and restaurant located in Ashford, WA. One-mile from Mount Rainier NP. Queen rooms, suites & vacation homes available. Free breakfast and WIFI included in daily rate. Restaurant is seasonaly open( please call to confirm) , reservation is required. Beer & wine list. Moderate prices. Day Spa & Gift shop on-site. Trout feeding activity available on-site. Famous guests to this place include Presidents Theodore Roosevelt & William Taft. Alexander's Lodge is listed in the Washington historic registry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Alexander's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant & Day Hotel Ashford
Alexander`s Country Inn, Restaurant And Day Spa
Country Inn Ashford
Ashford Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing