We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MoreThan Almost Parasie”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Almost Paradise Lodging
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our third stay with Carol and her family at Almost Paradise. It's always a welcome rest and retreat from day today life to come to the Cabins. We love the homey touches from bathrobes and slippers, to breakfast left for us in the cabins. Having our own piece of paradise is worth any drive. It's amazing to spend all day up at the mountain just to come "home" to a relaxing soak in the private hot tub, dinner by a campfire, and watching a movie in front of the fire. Every detail is perfect from the right sheets on the bed for the weather to bundles of firewood for the campfire. Carol gives it a home touch feel with her warm welcome and movie library to borrow from, but you still get that private peaceful experience. We have loved each visit and will be back many more times.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 70 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Rainier cabin, it was so peaceful, set in the woods apart from the main house. Carol was the perfect host, we knew she was available if needed, but not intrusive. We had travelled from the UK to Portland, stopped to pick up groceries on the way. We spent the days hiking, and the nights chilling out in the hot tub, bbq ing, the cabin had everything we needed breakfast was good & the freshly ground coffee superb. Not almost Paradise, definitely, Paradise, thank you Carol

Room Tip: Rainier was perfect, privacy & solitude
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue&mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very secluded property just a few minutes off the main highway and located vey close to Nisqually entrance to Mt Ranier.
The property is very well maintained, accomodations are well represented on the website. Each cabin is secluded from the next, hot tubs are large and covered and our cabin had a sauna.
We visited in June and unfortuneatly it rained so much we were unable to see or do much on the mountain but the accomodations were great.
I did struggle with the fact there is no TV service as I do like to watch some television while on vacation, I suspect that if the weather had been better I would have never thought twice about this.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salemduckfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Almost Paradise is by far our favorite place in the area. What an absolutely gorgeous location. Only an hour drive for us, and we feel like we've left the hectic world behind for a few days of peace and tranquility. We've gone up every spring since 2008, six straight years now, and can't imagine missing a year. Our year wouldn't be the same without our escape to Almost Paradise. We'll continue going back every year to recharge our batteries!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Mere words cannot fully express the magnificence, mesmerizing character, and harmony that resonates in this well-detailed comfort zone, located off the beaten path (yet highly accessable and easily located) to any persons who wish a blissful encounter in nature with all the comforts. We truly look forward to our 'alone time' at the Almost Paradise cabins whenever possible, where we can reconnect with our spirit, and nourish the soul, in the natural settings.
This lodge is professionally owned and operated by a very accommodating family and staff, whose sole purpose is their dedication to your privacy and comfort needs, and they do it superbly! My wife and I have never been dissapointed. From the time that you arrive until the time you leave, every special detail is tended to in an effort to make your stay as warm, friendly, safe, and comfortable as possible:-)
We have traveled all over the world, and can honestly attest to the fact that the Almost Paradise Lodge is where we long to be when we come back. It is also perfect for a romantic getaway from the pressures of the world. The special hot tub and steam bath make for an additional attraction whenever we can make the opportunity to visit:-) Their special greeting dog, (Dugan,) is a well-behaved and protective addition to the area. The cabins are always professionally cleaned, sanitary, and virtually bug free (cedarwood) which is certainly a 'plus' in our way of thinking:-)
Whether you like to cook indoors, or outdoors....the accomodations are there....and covered in case of rain. Everything has been so well thought out, that I could not think of any way to improve on what is already in place:-) There is nothing to distract you from the trappings of the outside world, when you stay in one of the well-maintained cabins.
My wife and I would HIGHLY recommend experiencing a few days at Almost Paradise, as a relaxing alternative from home. Also, I've noticed that we tend to have more creative thought when surrounded by the cedarwood! Perhaps Solomon knew something about cedar, that aided his wisdom? Just a thought:-)

Jaymes & Debbie
Washington State

Room Tip: Any of the 4 cabins are great. For maximum seclusion, the RAINIER cabin is what we prefer....but whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forensics2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at Almost Paradise for 5 consecutive years and it has become a favorite destination. I have travelled all over the world and have not found a place that competes for experiencing natures beauty, and providing rest, and relaxation for a romantic getaway or just to experience the tranquility the area. Carol and her family are a joy and she does EVERTHING possible to make your stay what you're looking for. The proximity to Mt Rainier National Park provides the opportunity to get out and enjoy hiking, sightseeing, etc., or you can just chose to stay in the lodge and cook a romantic dinner (yes, there is a small kitchen or outdoor barbeque area), relax in the private hot tub and steam room. I will continue to go to Almost Paradise and highly recommend it! Thank you Carol and James (and Dugan) for continually making my stay so special! I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have stayed at Almost Paradise several times, sometimes driving long distances just to be there. Never been disappointed! We are always made to feel special, had personal requests accommodated down to even what temperature the hot tub is. Everything is always clean, well-maintained, and high quality amenities are provided: linens, kitchen supples, etc. Cabins are designed for privacy, inside and out. It is truly a quiet, romantic paradise! The owner, Carol, is very welcoming and pleasant, making sure all your needs are met. We love this place and often call it "our" cabin. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruthie415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
2.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
330 reviews
2.6 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
17.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
294 reviews
2.2 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
150 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mountain Meadows Inn
Mountain Meadows Inn
#1 of 3 in Ashford
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almost Paradise Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almost Paradise Lodging

Address: 201 Osborn Rd, Mount Rainier, Ashford, WA 98304-9736
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range: $120 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Almost Paradise Lodging Hotel Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing