We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple but comfortable cabin resort”
Review of Mounthaven Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mounthaven Resort
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this resort, which is a combination of cabins and some RVs, to overnight while visiting Mount Rainier Park. The resort is under new management, with a very lovely husband/wife team. We stayed in one of the newly renovated cabins and were very happy: it was well appointed in terms of amenities (towels, shower products, a selection of tea and coffee, microwave and kitchenette, even wifi), looked fresh and clean, and had everything one could want (no TV though, but that wasn't a concern for us).
The calm and quietness at night was wonderful and the deer that wandered around at dusk were a nice added bonus :)
Would definitely recommend for couples or families (some of the cabins are for couples, others are larger and can accommodate up to six people). The entrance to the park is only minutes away by car and there are several nice restaurants right around the camp as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013alsacienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Mounthaven Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent a week in the small "Oak" cabin, which is attached to the owner's home and the original cabin on the property. The owners were incredibly friendly, helpful, and take great pride in their facility. The two minor issues we had were resolved quickly. I have a great photo of "rush hour" at Mounthaven - four deer on the driveway! Despite being very close to the National Park Highway, it is quiet and peaceful. Although a part of me just couldn't let go of the internet, having to walk to the laundry room to use it pretty much forced me to enjoy my time away from cell phones, internet, work, and worries! We'll be back, and plan on bringing all the kids and grandkids when we return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent four nights in a small, very clean, cabin. The facilities were perfect for our daily hikes in Rainier NP. It is less than 1/2 mile from the entrance to Rainier NP.

The newly remodeled interiors provided us with a quiet restful place to stay. The kitchenette was fully equipped with dishes, a coffee maker, toaster, etc. There was a wood stove, which we did not use, but would have been great in cold weather. If we visit the Paradise side of Rainier again, we will plan to stay.

We recommend Mounthaven to people who wish a cabin, RV types, and tent campers.

R & H

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For the price, this is a great place to stay. The grounds are supurb, with many guests and children playing outside. It has a campy feel to it. Fireplaces in the rooms, firepits outside with seating areas. The only complaint was that our room's mattress wasn't four star quality, but we slept well. The owners are fabulous. Very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BugleBoy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Day one: deer walked right by the cabin. Very comfortable accommodations with a nice fireplace and layout. Cozy and inviting with everything clean and in order. Super close to our recreation sites at Mt Rainier. At times wished the wifi was more consistent, but we didn't go to surf the Web. The grounds are well kept and provide a little exploring with neat nooks to be found.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We rented a small cottage. Everything was in perfect condition and clean. The place is located half a mile away from the national park entrance.
The cottages are located in a RV park but have enough privacy.

I can recommend this place

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JS90525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

My father and I stayed in the "birch" cabin at the end of May. I can not say enough about how incredible this place was. The owners are great. The resort is impeccably clean. Its a "little slice of heaven" near mt. Rainier. The personal touches that have been added leave this resort in a class by itself. Thank you to the Ball family for a wonderful stay! I look forward to bringing my husband and son next year, this time for a week!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
15.6 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
324 reviews
2.4 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
177 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
5.4 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
100 reviews
16.8 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounthaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounthaven Resort

Address: 38210 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range: $120 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mounthaven Resort offers 8 family-friendly cabins and 16 full-hookup RV sites in a wooded setting just 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. Our cabins have full kitchens, fireplaces or wood stoves, some are right on the creek. Enjoy the peaceful quiet surroundings and wildlife outside your door! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing