We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A different experience, very nice”
Review of Mounthaven Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mounthaven Resort
PEMBROKE PINES
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A different experience, very nice”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed one night in this all-cabin resort, and wished we could have stayed longer. Our small 2-person cabin was situated in a picturesque setting, located close to the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. The cabin was clean and comfortable, and had a full kitchen. We had our own front porch with chairs, our own front yard with a picnic table and a fire pit, and there were walking paths leading from the cabin through the nearby woods. The highlight of our evening was the in-room fireplace, with kindling and firewood supplied by the new owners, Zandy and James. While they advertise a no-pet policy, they will occasionally allow a small dog under 15 pounds, if you call and ask in advance. With no TV or cell phone coverage, we were free to enjoy the quiet and the natural beauty of the Mt. Rainier area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgalper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    16
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
56
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

May 16th, 2013

Just returned this afternoon, having spent time at Mounthaven Resort on Mt. Rainier, WA. I was prompted to immediately write this review because of the wonderful new owners, Zandy & James! As a senior lady and solo RVer, they treated me with respect and kindness. Actually, I learned so much from them! Coming from Minnesota, and having owned a resort there, they brought their talents to this little piece of heaven on Mt. Rainier.

Robin L. Sutton
Lakewood

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here two nights in the large "Sequoia" cabin that sleeps nine people.
The cabin was perfect for us! The cabin was clean, cozy and comfortable. It was equipped with everything we needed to stay in for the weekend and cook meals. We were supplied with ample firewood, kindling, coffee, cocoa and toiletries were included in the bathroom e.g. shampoo, soap, conditioner, etc. The cabin is also well stocked with bedding and linens.

We made all of our meals and everything needed to cook was supplied. If you go to the office, there is a large selection of board games. We borrowed several. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. During the day we drove up to the park and went snowshoeing. When we returned, the cabin was the perfect place for relaxation. There is a TV with DVD/VHS player. There are a few VHS tapes available for viewing. If you plan on watching a movie during your stay, I suggest bringing your own DVDs.

I highly recommend this place and definitely plan on coming back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pocahontess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We got lucky and found this place on our way to Mount Ranier. The owners, Joan and Craig, are very nice and accomodating. The weather was rainy so we enjoyed board games from the office. My family now has a love for Scrabble! The maple cabin was clean and spacious. The property is beautiful. We left my son's baby blanket and they were so kind to ship it to us. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I are on sabbatical living in 24' RV and we are traveling the National Parks of the Pacific Northwest. We are staying in a wide selection of RV parks. Mounthaven Resort is by far one of the best we have stayed in. The grounds are very clean and RV spaces are level while large enough for comfort. There is a nice walking trail and the resort is located just outside of Mount Rainier National Park. The resort is picturesque with large trees, wildlife, flowers, running streams and great natural energy. Craig and Joan were excellent hosts and very knowledgable of the area. We would highly recommend Mounthaven Resort while visiting Mount Rainier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyRegier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Owners were great, very accommodating. Nice, clean cabins. Quiet area. Had all we needed kitchen-wise. Was in town for Rainier climb and worked great. There's not much in Ashford, and Mounthaven is only 4 mins from Ashford and grocery, also only 60 seconds from Copper Creek restaurant which is worthy of eating once a day. Craig and Joan were great hosts and very helpful. (stayed in the Fir cabin). I can't recall one negative from my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellaBoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a wonderful experience. The owners, Joan and Craig, are so welcoming. While the cabins are older, they are spotlessly clean and no musty smells. Wonderful furniture on the porch to sit out and enjoy the peacefulness and to watch the deer come to eat. Kichen is very well equipped for cooking just about anything (but do be sure to pick up groceries before arriving, not much for many miles). Very close to the entrance of Mt. Rainer National Park. Joan was very helpful in providing information on hiking in the park. We visited in mid August and the wildflowers in the park were spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwrite258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
0.5 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
301 reviews
16.4 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
165 reviews
15.5 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
90 reviews
5.1 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
1.6 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mounthaven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mounthaven Resort

Property: Mounthaven Resort
Address: 38210 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mounthaven Resort offers 8 family-friendly cabins and 16 full-hookup RV sites in a wooded setting just 1/2 mile from the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. Our cabins have full kitchens, fireplaces or wood stoves, some are right on the creek. Enjoy the peaceful quiet surroundings and wildlife outside your door! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing