We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed with service or quality/cleanliness of cabins” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stone Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed with service or quality/cleanliness of cabins”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed at Stone Creek cabins for one night while visiting Mt. Rainier NP and weren't terribly impressed with the room or the service. We had been promised a crib for our baby when we made the reservation, but there were none there when we arrived. The manager? (owner?) seemed checked-out and wasn't particularly welcoming or helpful. The location is very convenient to the park, but we found the quality and cleanliness of the cabin somewhat lacking for the price we paid. We were there during off-season, and the place is for sale, so maybe that accounts for some of the issues we encountered, but we wouldn't stay there again, especially with so many other options in the area. (We were also the only people there on the night we stayed, so maybe others have experienced the same problems we did - they were definitely less busy that other hotels/cottages in the area.)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorefamily19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    40
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
84
125
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

No toilet function unless you're just urinating. Went to breakfast last morning to return 2 hrs before check-out and find our bags packed and moved to laundry room. Sandy told the housekeeper she saw us drive off. Yes, to get breakfast. (And of course we always leave our luggage behind...) I was very upset but she was making a quick escape to another cabin. I guess she was anxious to get the next dollar moved in. Never again. Rude, weird and Bates Motel....

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

We were pleased we choose Stone Creek Lodge. Our cabin was more spacious for the 3 of us than we expected, with an equipped kitchen and full size refrigerator, living area, and picnic table to the side of our cabin. A gas stove for cool nights and small bathroom completed the cabin.

Sandy, the owner, was there to greet us and introduce us to the area. Each cabin has a full book of Mt. Rainier information and local restaurants. The entrance to the Park is truly 200 yards away. It takes about 25 minutes to get to the Paradise Visitor Centre and it's a pretty drive with incredible views of Mt. Rainier as you go up. Very nice waterfalls, too. And Paradise area gets very crowded in the afternoon, so we really appreciated returning to the quiet of our cabins and watching the deer stroll by.

We were there 3 nights and Sandy had a campfire each night. It is an added pleasure to sit and talk with others. We liked this aspect a great deal as it enhanced our experience. Also, Sandy has created a small area within the campfire structure so we were able to grill our dinner each night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliFromBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

This wonderful cabin setting is just what us hotel-weary travelers needed. We loved all three nights that we stayed. Our cabin was perfect, warm and cozy. We had plenty of space for all our "stuff", a great hot shower and large comfortable bed. The kitchennette took care of all our food needs. The water is great by the way! Our hostess Sandy provided us with great input on local attractions. eateries, even weather reports. The evening campfires were wonderful and we met some really great folks. One night we even cooked our dinner over the fire which was a special treat and respite from restaurant-food. The marshmellow roasts were just the best. We will definitely return when we revisit Washington State.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Sandy met us at the entrance and was both expert and professional about making sure our needs were met. The perfect balance was struck between making her guests feel welcome, yet privacy respected. Each evening an optional community campfire encouraged visitors to gather and roast marshmallows and share stories of the day's excursions. Sandy was an expert on ALL the local (and not so local) venues, and gave great advice about what to make sure you make time to do.

The cabins offered all one needed to enjoy a getaway for a few days. Although the pilot lights had been extinguished on the stoves, on a chilly night Sandy came around and offered to relight them in case we were cold. Hot tubs offered reprieve from sore joints after a long hike. The beds were wonderfully soft, cabins were clean and well maintained. Not all cabins had kitchen area but you could cook over the campfire if you were not interested in going out to eat. We were in one cabin with a kitchenette, and one without. Sandy made sure we had all we needed to make the most of the facilities we had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SQ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2010

If you want to stay at a place where you can watch deer outside your window, see spectacular views and enjoy the peace of Mt. Rainier National Park then stay at Stone Creek Lodge. Sandy the owner will respond to any reasonable request that you may have during your visit.

The bed is comfortable, the big chair is perfect to take a 'nap in' and the hot tub perfect for an after hike 'soaking'.

I would recommend Stone Creek Lodge for those who wish to have a slightly different experience than a more traditional 'hotel'. Stone Creek Lodge offers peace, quiet, and and enjoyable experience at the base of a very special place called: Mt. Rainier National Park".

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank william_crone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

My wife & I stayed at one of the cabins (Cascade Cabin) in the last week of May for 3 nights. We selected Stone Creek Lodge based on the positive reviews that were posted on this site. Since this was to be our first time staying in a cabin, we were naturally pretty excited. However, our experience turned out to be otherwise.

In order to be fair, I will first list the pros and then the cons based on our personal experience, so that anyone wanting to stay here can make an informed decision and not regret later:

Pros:
1. Location: Very close to the Nisqually entrance of Mt. Rainier National Park.
2. Surroundings: Quiet and peaceful. Early morning & late evenings, you can see deer on the property.
3. Host: Sandy (the owner) is very friendly and helpful. Since the cabin that was alloted to us did not have a microwave oven, she provided us with a spare one along with a few dishes and table ware.

Cons:
1. No Housekeeping service: Call it our ignorance (in hindsight we should have asked either at the time of reservation or during check-in), but there is no housekeeping service. On returning to the cabin the first evening, there was a note in the room (Sandy had come in to repair the shower handle) to that effect and to re-use the towels. That was fine with us.

2. Lack of space: The first thing that stuck us as we entered the cabin was lack of space. It was a small one room cabin with most of the available space taken by the bed, a small writing table & chair, a rocking chair and another small table. The microwave that we had requested was placed on the writing table with a table lamp taking up the rest of the space. The other small table had a Micro-refrigerator (not the usual mini-ones) with a coffee-maker and condiments filling most of the space. The carpet looked as if it had not been changed in a decades.

3. No closet or chest: Since we were on a 10 day trip to Olympic and Mt. Rainier National Parks, my wife & I were carrying a 25" suitcase each alongwith my camera backpack. Since there was no closet in the cabin, I had to keep my suitcase on a small stand with the my wife's suitcase and the rest of our belongings on the floor. As there was no chest nor any drawers to keep our stuff., it was a daily struggle in the morning to take out what was needed for the day and pack in the soiled clothes.

4. No Clothes hangers: There were 4 wooden knobs where you would place the clothes hangers. But to our surprise there were no hangers in the cabin. We had to knock on Sandy's door to provids us some.

5. Tiny shower area: The shower area measured just about 2 ft x 2 ft with the curtain rod almost diagonal. So once you step in the shower, you just cannot move without banging your head or elbows on the side and with the shower curtain sticking to your body till you step out. I am not kidding when I say that not even an average or a slim person (which I am lucky to be) can have a decent shower here. I already mentioned about the stuck shower handle which required all my strength to turn it in the 'on' position.

6. Dysfunctional Bathroom Heater: In order to re-use the towels (when you return in the evenings after hiking in the national park), it is essential for the towels to dry. However, when I tried to switch on the old bathroom heater, the knob (or whatever it was) just fell to the floor. So we had to place the wet towels on the chairs in the cabin to dry out.

7. "Large, fluffy towels": We dont know why the website as well as the small brochure in the cabin specifically makes a mention of this. These just happened to be regular sized towels that anyone would use at home, nothing fancy about them. These towels seemed to have been in use for quite some time. We had no option but to use them. As for napkins and hand towels, we used the ones that I was carrying to protect my camera & photo gear from the rain & elements.

8. Wireless Internet: This issue was not a big deal for us at all, since we had come to enjoy the park......I am only mentioning it here in case some of you are habituated to checking the net or your mails every day, even when on vacation. We just wanted to check the weather forecast for our hikes the next day & also check-in online for our return flight. Inspite of many attempts, I was unable to log on to the wireless internet on our second day due to the error 'Connection timed out'. This may be a technical issue with the service provider or gateway (since we were able to connect at every other hotel that we stayed during our trip). I was able to get going on our final night, but the speed was excruciatingly slow. So be prepared accordingly.

Both, my wife & I consider ourselves to be very flexible and adapt to whatever conditions we find ourselves in. In all the places that we have stayed during the course of our travels to the National Parks over the past 4 years, this was 'the' place we were extremely dissappointed. Even though we stayed during the 'off' season, I consider the price that we paid for our stay as a 'rip-off' due to the reasons stated above.

Needless to say, we will have to explore other lodging options including staying at Paradise Inn or Longmire Inn, the next time we visit Mt. Rainier National Park.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Photographer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanalt, Owner at Stone Creek Lodge, responded to this review, June 16, 2010
The cabins at Stone Creek Lodge at Mt. Rainier are not Best Western or Holiday Inn in the woods. They are, however, cozy, clean and comfortable for guests wanting to explore the forests in and around Mt. Rainier National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
0.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
16.0 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
15.1 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
4.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Creek Lodge

Property: Stone Creek Lodge
Address: 38624 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 yards outside of the Nisqually (Paradise) entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, Stone Creek Lodge offers natural cedar cabins with vaulted ceilings, picture windows, private baths, gas fireplaces, and comfy queen beds to mountain guests who are searching for a clean, quiet, cozy retreat in a garden setting tucked against towering cedar and fir trees. Five Garden Cabins with kitchenettes accommodate small families with children; four Mountain Cabins with hot-tubs sleep two adult guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing