We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, lacks amenities”
Review of Stone Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cozy, lacks amenities”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location, only a mile from the entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park. The "Garden Cabins" (really a duplex) are cozy, but ours lacked amenities. The kitchenette includes a microwave, mini frig, sink, coffee maker and the bare essentials for food prep. The bathroom is adequate size for 1 person at a time, but lacks storage for toiletries and the shower is tiny, almost RV size tiny. There is a queen size bed and a trondel for 2 singles or convert to another queen. 1 rocking chair, a small dining table with seating for 4 and 2 heaters. For those warmer days, open all the windows and plug in the fan. They boast wifi, but we had very poor service and unable to access e-mail or check-in for our flight home. Sandy, the owner, offered her front porch and internet service was fine there. The grounds are pleasant and deer come during the evening to graze on the lawn. Their web site and other reviews talk about get togethers around a camp fire and we saw the area where that would happen, but there were no fireside chats during our 3 night visit.
In reading other reviews, it appears that each cabin is appointed differently. We stayed in Garden Cabin #5. Sandy is very nice and accomidating, so maybe a phone call to get details about the unit you reserve would be a good idea. The place is for sale if anyone is interested.

Room Tip: The cabins are appointed differently, call the owner to get details about the unit you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelB94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    40
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
87
134
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here last month during our visit to Mt. Rainer National Park. I looked at staying in the Park, but I found the accomodations there to be too high. The property is right outside of the park so the location is excellent. The cabins are very cute and clean. The owner Sandy was very nice and gave us excellent recommedations for dinner. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTravelNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in a garden cabin. It was very clean and well appointed. The grounds are lovely although it is right on the main road but that didn't seem to bother us. It is virtually at the entrance to the national park so the location is great. There is also a grassy main area in the middle where there is a fire most nights and you can roast marshmallows or have a nice visit with the other guests. The mountain cabins are for two people and they have shared hot tubs. The garden cabins do not have any hot tubs but that was okay with us. Lots of good information at the office and in the cabins regarding the park and trails and other activities offered nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiibound02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here recently on a trip to the Mt. Rainier area. Stone Creek Lodge is located within a stones throw from the main Nisqually gate of the park. Our cabin was one of the "Garden" cabins and was quite cozy. It offered a single bedroom with a queen bed, a full bath with tub/shower as well as the main room with kitchenette, gas fireplace / stove and day bed which could be made into another full sized bed.

Parking was right outside and the grounds were well maintained and comfortable. Sandy, the proprietor was friendly and helpful, providing plenty of local information about where to eat, where to go, etc. Prices were reasonable, especially considering it was the peak of tourist and wildflower season on the mountain!

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is nothing not to like about these cabins. Stayed in one of the mountain cabins. the cabins were super cute and cozy. Added bonus was having a mini fridge and basic utensils and bowls/plates, so at the very least we could have cereal and sandwiches in the room. The hot tub was a nice touch after a long day on the mountain. Didn't get to do the campfire - apparently there was only one or two other guests the nights we were staying, but the place was full the night before and after we were there.

Room Tip: Mountain cabins have the hot tub. Other cabins don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in a garden cabin with our 2 kids. The cabins were super cozy and clean. We made smores by the campfire in the middle of the property one night and it was fun to meet families from all around the country. The cabins just have a small fridge and microwave with plates, bowls and utensils so you can't really make a real meal besides light breakfast. You can grill right over the fire if you ask.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Ludlow, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We celebrated my husband's 76th birthday by spending a night at Stone Creek Lodge in July. Sandy, the owner, was a gracious, friendly hostess. We initially made reservations for the smallest unit, without a hot tub, but decided to upgrade, if there was one available when we arrived. Happily, a cabin with a shared hot tub was available, and we enjoyed lounging in the warmth with the water jets after spending the day on the Mountain. The other cabin was vacan that night, so we had the hot tub all to ourselves. The cabin was cozy, with a bathroom and shower, a queen sized bed, a desk, and a sofa. A small refrigerator and coffee maker were very adequate for our needs. We ate dinner at Copper Creek Inn a mile or so down the road towards Ashford.

Sandy builds a nice bonfire in the evening for the guests to enjoy together. Some like to roast marshmallows.

The surroundings are very quiet. The resident cat came by several times to say hello. The forest is all around you, though the cabins face an open grassy area with a fire pit in the center.

The facilities are nicely kept. The location is perfect after a day on the mountain. We were a bit surprised to find so much snow on the mountain in early July, but no difficulty getting around, just didn't get to go on a wildflower walk up behind Paradise Inn. Walking to see falls, and sights of interest along the road were no problem. No snow there.

I would highly recommend Stone Creek Lodge for friendliness, cleanliness, location, price, and the "cabin" experience at Mt. Rainier....plus a friendly hostess.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenwanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
0.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
301 reviews
16.0 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
165 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
90 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
4.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Creek Lodge

Property: Stone Creek Lodge
Address: 38624 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 yards outside of the Nisqually (Paradise) entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, Stone Creek Lodge offers natural cedar cabins with vaulted ceilings, picture windows, private baths, gas fireplaces, and comfy queen beds to mountain guests who are searching for a clean, quiet, cozy retreat in a garden setting tucked against towering cedar and fir trees. Five Garden Cabins with kitchenettes accommodate small families with children; four Mountain Cabins with hot-tubs sleep two adult guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing