We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and very convenient”
Review of Stone Creek Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone Creek Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Sandy is a very friendly hostess. Affordable cabins are cute, warm, and clean. We have stayed in this area several times and I think we may have found the place we will return to regularly in the future. We were treated to a communal bonfire in the middle of the common area between all the cabins and met some very interesting folks from all over the country as well as the local pacific northwest. We had our bikes on this trip so we were able to ride directly into the park from our cabins as Stone Creek is only 200 yards from the Mt. Rainier park entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
There are newer reviews for Stone Creek Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2007

This was an ok place, but for the price, I wouldn't recommend it. It's a one room "cabin". There is a small sitting area, a decent kitchen with a smallish refrigerator, a full size bed (which I'm pretty sure had been advertised as a queen), and a single bed with trundle. All mattresses were awful. I slept on the trudle and slept horribly, and woke up with a backache.

The tiny, oldish great bathroom is arm's length from the main bed, and the pocket door didn't close all the way. The shower just didn't look inviting and I didn't use it, though I admit I'm pretty picky about my shower.

On the positive, the owner was nice, though she didn't go out of her way to help us find a place to eat. Rather, she told me to look in her book of menus. At such a small place, I expected more personal service, but maybe she was just busy then.

There is a campfire at night which was very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aug60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

Stone Creek Lodge is located within sight of the gate at the Nisqually Entrance to Mount Ranier National Park. This could be an advantage to bikers or avid hikers, but most people will be driving into the park, so being that close has minimal advantage. You can’t see the mountain from there.

The cabins themselves were clean with no ugly surprises. This is a cabin, not a Hilton. Our cabin had a dorm size refrigerator, a stove and sink and a kitchen table. There was a decent set of cooking and dinnerware. Bed linen, towels, soap and shampoo (bulk dispenser in the shower) were all provided. The cabin was not large, and doesn’t have separate rooms. The only inside door was a sliding door for the bathroom which needed a little help staying shut. The bathroom was small with a sink, toilet and shower. The double bed was next to the bathroom and the twin beds were stacked (one pulls out from under the other) in what served as the living area. Fine for a couple or with small children, but more than two adults would be a bit cozy. The internet add talks about hot tubs, but these are for four specific “mountain” cabins and not available to everyone. There is one phone for the site - outside the office. Sandy, the owner, was quite friendly and helpful. She does expect you to be out by 11AM.

The grounds have a small park-like area in the center with the cabins arranged around it. Sandy has a bonfire there every evening where you can meet other travelers and sit and share stories. There was also a nice flower bed between the cabins and the road. The site is right next to the road and there is some noise, but we did not find it enough to be bothersome. There wasn’t constant traffic, rather minutes between cars. The “mountain” cabins are at the back of the property, but you could hear a passing car about as much in front of them as anywhere else on the property.

There are no hiking trails at the immediate site and no particular scenery there (and some junkiness at the side and back periphery). This is a place to base from rather than to spend the day. In the immediate area, one could walk or mountain bike on a flood control dike on the Nisqually River. This is within an easy walk from the cabins (right out the exit and right down the first street). Sandy said the dike goes into the park up to the washed out Sunshine Point Campground.

Stone Creek looked to be consistent with the cabins in the area – they all looked small, and many not as nice, from the road. If this isn’t what you’d be looking for, there are a number of condos for rent in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aBadgerandaGopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2006

We just loved the place!
The location is great, just 200 yds from the main gate (Nisqually entrance) of the park. Actually, for someone who want to hike at Paradise or drive to the many park attractions and viewpoints, it is just as convenient as staying inside the park.

The lady in charge (Sandy) was very friendly and helpful. She even had accepted our reservation for only one night, even though the regular policy calls for two nights mininum. But we actually regretted that our travel schedule did not allow us to stay longer! Inside our cabin, there was a binder with a lot of up-to-date information about the park, hiking trails, driving distances, services nearby, etc.
Our cabin was clean and well decorated in "LL Bean style". Very cozy and comfortable. The bathroom had only a shower (no bath) but we did not see it as a problem, because a semi-private spa was available just outside our door.

Definitely, we would recommend this place to our friends and wish we could go back soon.

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank Fairandmoderate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Sandy is a pleasant host and has done a great job with this place. The cabins are very cozy and clean with convenient ammenities. The gas stove is a nice touch.

The only thing I was not absolutely thrilled with was our bed -- it was too soft for our taste and was pretty short. There should be a queen in there...our feet hung off the end of the mattress when we were all tucked in. I think it was a full size mattress which is usually okay if there is a headboard, without one, unless you sleep with your pillow against the wall, you loose some space from the top.

The location is absolutely perfect. Also, Sandy has put together a nice little guidebook that is in each cabin. We would surely stay here or recommend the Stone Creek Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowcrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2005

This is a really nice clean place. My hubby and I and our friend had a great time there. If you have to have noise, you are at the wrong place, but if you long for peace and quiet, make your reservation. The cottage was clean, and the fresh linen smelled really good. The first night we saw a fawn outside the window at dusk. The owner, Sandy was very nice and helpful. The mountain closes out the cell phone signal, so forget that, also no TV or radio. We loved all of the above, but some people might not survive. We visited Mt. Rainier and saw lots of fog and snow, which were both beautiful. We give this place a "thumbs up" for someone who wants a good nights sleep.

6  Thank granpeggy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Tacoma, WA
13
Reviewed August 12, 2004

Stone Creek Lodge is the most inviting and pleasant places I have ever stayed. The hospitality is probably the main reason our visit was so special. Sandy made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed, even offering from her own kitchen. The hiking information she had was written just for our needs. And the cabins are so cute and comfortable!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
0.9 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
323 reviews
16.0 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
175 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
100 reviews
5.4 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
4.5 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Creek Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Creek Lodge

Address: 38624 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9742
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Ashford
Price Range: $75 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 yards outside of the Nisqually (Paradise) entrance to Mt. Rainier National Park, Stone Creek Lodge offers natural cedar cabins with vaulted ceilings, picture windows, private baths, gas fireplaces, and comfy queen beds to mountain guests who are searching for a clean, quiet, cozy retreat in a garden setting tucked against towering cedar and fir trees. Five Garden Cabins with kitchenettes accommodate small families with children; four Mountain Cabins with hot-tubs sleep two adult guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing