We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, Clean rooms near RMI and IMG climbing guide centers”
Review of Nisqually Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nisqually Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed here prior to a Rainier summit with RMI. The owners are gruff, but the value is good. Nice, quiet sleep prior to climb with a little breakfast to boot.
No Check in before 3 for no apparent reason.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orthodromic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (284)
There are newer reviews for Nisqually Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 284 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2011

We found this place and were so glad we did! We are budget travelers, so this place felt really "nice" to us and the price was the same as we were paying at our haunts. Our room was large and comfy and the view was nice--something we normally never have. The rooms were clean. The temperature was even--not too hot and not too cold. We fought with heating units all over Washington--either we froze or we fried. It was a relief not to have to fuss with this. Extra blankets were in the room--how nice!!! Great value and great location to see Mount Rainier from. And the lobby had magazines and books to peruse. Breakfast was just fine--even danish. It had a lot of charm and ambiance.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieP6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Adequate for our needs! The staff is very helpful and friendly even with difficult customers as they had 2 night that were being extra obnoxious and very over the top in their needs. We were sitting in the lobby enjoying the fireplace and enjoying some rest and relaxation and one was complaining of noise! What noise we're not sure as we hadn't heard anything and nobody else was complaining. The other was complaining because the one and only DVD player was already in use and by another guest and this guest was especially rude about that. Couldn't believe there was only one dvd player for 24 rooms!!! I have stayed in hotels/motels where there wasn't any dvd player!
Breakfast is basic--nothing fancy and nothing special! But its so close to restaurants that food wasn't an issue. There is a restaurant across the parking lot but that one is awful! Really bad food! Choose the Highlander or the Cooper Creek which are about a mile either side of the lodge. Gallerys are close as well as park entrance. All in all its a wonderful place to stay and very cheap in the off season!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel7469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This place looks nice enough. It's clean. But the bed was very uncomfortable. Others have commented about the staff -- and I witnessed an interesting interaction as the people in front of me were checking in. They were given two rooms on ground floor next to the soda/ice machine. When they expressed concern about the noise, the person at the desk said it wouldn't be a problem and said no other rooms were available. However, that wasn't true because our room was on the second floor and many doors to empty rooms were open. As others have said, Ashland doesn't have much -- which is surprising considering it's location just outside the park . We had dinner at The Copper Creek Inn and it was good.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RochesterSicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights prior to climbing Rainier - cute little motel! Room itself was basic, a little dated but completely adequate & clean. Our room opened out onto a little balcony with a sitting area and a view of the trees. The downside to this is that it gets a bit noisy if other folks are out enjoying their balconies with some brews too :) Didn't bug me but others might feel differently.

I really liked the cozy great room downstairs where they laid breakfast out in the mornings. We were always in a rush and jamming food down our throats, but I remembered I liked the pastries, fruit cups and loooots of coffee. Also, free wireless internet! Not the fastest, but totally doable when I had to VPN in to work late one night :(

We arrived late the first night - even though we'd originally told them 3pm, we weren't able to get there until 11pm. No problem though - left the keys for us and we had no issues unloading our stuff and getting into the room. Nice of them!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun-days945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Perhaps due to the proximity of Seattle, the Mt Rainier south-west gateway town of Ashford did not seem to sport a wide offering of hotels. The name brand chains were noticeably absent. Those lodging properties that chose to market over the internet had minimalist websites. So we made our choice based on curb appeal and selected the Nisqually Lodge. It looked nice on the outside and turned out to be the same on the inside. The smallish lobby area was even enhanced by the ambiance of a gas fireplace.

Our room was very clean, sufficiently spacious, and functional. The bathroom was clean albeit with what appeared to be a low-end linoleum floor. And we could hear shower noise from adjacent room[s]. Good thing our neighbors were otherwise quiet. Decorations were tasteful and adequate albeit inexpensive. The lodge had wireless internet which worked very well. There was a nice breakfast with excellent fruit and brand name cans of juice as well as the usual coffee, bagels, etc.

The biggest plus of the Nisqually Lodge was its location – just 10 minutes from the Rainier National Park entrance. The biggest minus of the Nisqually Lodge was that it sits in an area without cell phone coverage. We needed to make a few phone calls and thankfully the wireless internet setup handled a voip connection.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Location very convenient and room was clean and quiet. We found the staff friendly and equally enjoyed conversations with other guests from around the world! I would only suggest to separate the drinks from other continental breakfast items so more than 2 people may make their breakfast at the same time. An nice addition would be instant oatmeal? Best for us was it was one of few area lodgings that offered 1 nite only lodging. We would definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sing4fun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
3.7 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
324 reviews
19.3 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
215 reviews
20.4 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
19.3 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
100 reviews
2.6 mi away
Copper Creek Inn
Copper Creek Inn
#2 of 3 in Ashford
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nisqually Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nisqually Lodge

Address: 31609 State Route 706 E, Ashford, WA 98304-9001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range: $130 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nisqually Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Unit cozy hotel located minutes Mount Rainier National Park. We offer free Wi-Fi, flat screen tvs, microwaves and refrigerators in every room and much more! King suites and conference room available. Small pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nisqually Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nisqually Hotel Ashford
Nisqually Motel Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing