We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic!”
Review of Wellspring

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ashford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wellspring
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very romantic!”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spent one night in the Grace West room. It is attached to the Woodlands Spa and you get the spa facilities to yourself after 9pm (or earlier if there are no massage appointments) and until 11am the next day. The Woodlands Spa is located in the back corner of the grounds and is very secluded. There is a hot tub in the woods, a stream (man-made I think) babbling past your door and forest behind. It is very secluded while the other spa location (Turiya which is next to the Greenhouse Spa) is right by the entrance road, separated by a 6' fence.

Until 9pm you share a bathroom with the massage room (doors at each end of the bathroom) but that was not a problem since we arrived after the last massage. If you are there earlier in the day (checkin is 3pm) you might have to be careful with that.

The room has a very comfortable queen size bed with a feather quilt, a small fridge, CD/Alarm clock, microwave and coffeepot. There is a heater if needed. The room is not huge, but very adequate.

The grounds and hot tub make this a very special room.

The only complaint I had is that the shower is very small. Barely large enough for one. What would be perfect would be an outdoor shower for the spa.

The breakfast basket was nothing to write home about (especially since I am allergic to nuts and yogurt, the main items) so we went just down the road and had a great breakfast at the Copper Creek Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    27
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
19
74
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

First let me say that the owner did, belatedly, do the right thing, gave us a refund and apologized for the condition of the treehouse.

The treehouse could have been a fun place to stay. Unfortunately, it was terrible. The main problem was the bed and bedding was extremely old and musty. The description indicated it had a queen bed, but aside from what appeared to be a one inch memory foam topper, the "bed" consisted of cheap worn out urethane foam that completely collapsed as soon we laid on it. The foam was covered with some sort of disintegrating cover, indicative of it's age. The sheets had holes and stains as did several of the musty old pillows.

A comparatively minor issue was the tiny breakfast basket, which included yogurt, was left unrefrigerated in the bathroom at some time in the afternoon before our arrival. It also featured blueberries, some of which were moldy. The quantity of food was more like a snack than a breakfast.

When we arrived for our planned 2 night stay and saw the condition of the bed, we immediately went to their phone and asked them to cancel both of our nights and give us a full refund (they had required pre-payment for the first night). After spending an inordinate amount of time on the phone, they refused and only offered a 20% discount on much higher priced accommodations. We turned that down as we did not want to reward them with more money for having allowed the treehouse to become a dump.

After sleeping one night, with the help of Ambien and finding it even more unacceptable than it had appeared, we emailed the owner (detailing the problems) and also used the customer service phone to notify them we'd neither stay or pay for another night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNNY1432, Owner at Wellspring, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
I am so thankful, as painful as it is to read, for guests willing to be forthright and honest !

We dropped the ball here, and when they brought it to our attention, immediately replaced all of the bedding and refreshed everything in the Treehouse ! !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. louis, mo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Treehouse was an "adventure" for a one-night stay, but not big enough for more than that! The area is beautiful and very close to Mourt Rainier. Access to the treehouse can be a little tricky but eventually you get the hang of it. We never actually saw any workers or staff (which was kind of creepy) so really can't comment on them. Breakfast was left in the bathroom (down the ladder and across the small yard to a very well-kept facility) the night before-cookies, yougert, cheese sticks, etc and would have preferred that be fresh in the morning-concerned about leaving yougert and cheese out overnight. All in all, a decent value for the cost and very peaceful.

Room Tip: Be prepared to no have much space but be willing to try something different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stlmom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife, son and I stayed in the Timbuktu cabin in late June on the front end of 4 days at Mount Rainier. Our cabin (tent) was rustic yet very comfortable.
The adventure begins as you follow a winding trail through old-growth forest to access the cabin. We were even greeted by a young deer right at our front door. The night was cool, but our room was (more than sufficiently) heated by a wood stove. Great memories.

Room Tip: Be sure to spend some time exploring the grounds of Wellspring. There are many "secrets" f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getteedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I went back to Wellspring this past weekend for our 1 year anniversary. It's our favorite spot to relax and reconnect. We chose the Tahoma cabin because most others were already booked but we were not disappointed! It was gorgeous, handcrafted and as special as we remembered. The best thing to do, if you are able, is to book the Turaiya room. It's gorgeous and attached to a pond and you're allowed to use the hot tub after 9pm which makes it the best value to me.

Regardless of the cabin you choose, you're going to have a wonderful stress free time. We'll be back for years to come!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieStrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very peaceful area, set out in a forest and there is only like six rooms. Wellspring also has a spa, and lots of hiking trails. But a con is that there is no phone service there

Room Tip: Don't expect a pool or a place to eat inside the hotel area, there is a spa but no pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

What a special place to stay and oh-so-close to Mt Rainier. My husband and I normally make the drive from Seattle and back in one day, but this time we opted to stay the night. I sure am glad we did. This place is an amazing find. The grounds are beautifully landscaped in a peaceful environment. Wellspring is located off the main road far enough to feel like you are miles away. There are several cabins available as well as a tree house. We stayed in the tree house! There are hot tubs and other spa facilities. We rented the hot tub for an hour (private) and had great converstation with the owner. This would be the ultimate place to get married!

If you are headed to Mt Rainier, we highly recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: The treehouse was fun, though very small. There are larger cabins for rent, some near a creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiksterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashford
2.2 mi away
Alexander's Lodge
Alexander's Lodge
#3 of 6 in Ashford
317 reviews
18.0 mi away
Mountain View Lodge
Mountain View Lodge
#1 of 5 in Packwood
207 reviews
2.5 mi away
Whittaker's Motel and Historic Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Packwood Lodge
Packwood Lodge
#2 of 5 in Packwood
170 reviews
18.0 mi away
Cowlitz River Lodge
Cowlitz River Lodge
#4 of 5 in Packwood
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Nisqually Lodge
Nisqually Lodge
#1 of 6 in Ashford
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellspring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellspring

Property: Wellspring
Address: 54922 Kernahan Rd. E, Ashford, WA 98304-9761
Location: United States > Washington > Ashford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ashford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wellspring is a spa and retreat center nestled in a quiet forest three miles outside the southwest entrance of Mt Rainier National Park. Comprised of rustic log cabins, two independent spa facilities, a modest lodge and a variety of outdoor gathering facilities including a 30' gazebo, Wellspring is an ideal retreat for couples, family reunions or commercial group retreats as large as 30. Our forest sanctuary is an incredibly unique and magical setting for a Pacific Northwest wedding. Wellspring hosts fifteen to twenty weddings every year, mostly in the summer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wellspring Hotel Ashford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing