We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding reception” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moat House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moat House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Certificate of Excellence
penkridge
2 reviews
“wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have visited The Moat House on several occasions for various functions and it never fails to please It is a beautiful house in a wonderful setting The food has always been excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly I was delighted that my daughter and future son in law chose this venue for their wedding reception I knew that they would not be disappointed as the hotel has a good reputation locally in the neighbouring village of Penkridge The theme for the wedding was "Winter Wonderland" the decorations in the dining were excellent and in keeping with the occasion The lovely grounds were perfect for taking photographs with the snow still carpeting the lawns and ice still on the lake
This time I was fortunate to have an overnight stay I had a lovely large bedroom over looking the moat with views out to the canal The room was immaculate and the huge bed was clean and so comfortable The ensuite was spotless
The Wedding reception meal was good I had Sea Bass couldnt fault it... .excellent!.. ...
At breakfast the next morning the table was beautilully laid for twenty people the breakfast was also good I normally only have cereal and fruit but this time I was tempted to bacon and scrambled egg and it was perfect
I would like to express my thanks to the manager and staff who made my daughter and new son in law 's day so perfect and enjoyable I will continue to recommend you in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annette570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    155
    53
    21
    12
See reviews for
181
237
14
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Since our visit to this hotel on the occasion of my sons wedding reception I have recommended it to everyone.My daughter and I found the room we were in comfortable and spotlessly clean with plenty of toiletries,tissues,soft white towels,tea ,coffee,biscuits and bottled water.The view from our window was wonderful and the grounds very pretty.The reception in the library before the meal was nice and we were served canapes by a pleasant girl who engaged in chat with everyone, and steadfastly holding the heavy tray refusing to put it on the table because that was what was expected of her! The evening meal was served in an oak- beamed room beautifully set up with an almost christmassy effect with good lighting effects.The table was set out with white linen, candles and sparkling glasses.About 32 guests were served by 3 waiters. The only complaint that I heard was from those who had opted for soup all saying it was rather bland. I can honestly say that we enjoyed a hot and tasty meal,our main course was chicken.The wine waiter came round on at least 5 occasions to top up our glasses if needed.After the meal we went to the library for the rest of the evening where a waiter came to ask for drink orders.The next morning 16 of the guests who had stayed over sat together for a lovely hot breafast. May I say that all staff were pleasant and helpful . I can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: all rooms as stated by those who stayed with us could be recommeded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband & I attended our dear friends wedding on the 26 th Jan 2013. It was a beautiful snowy day at The gorgeous Acton Trussell Moathouse. The room we had the meal in was just amazing with it's oak beams, crisp white linen and twinkly lights, it looked like a winter wonderland with white christmas trees candles and beautifully decorated. The staff were very professional, friendly & efficient. Gorgeous food very well presented & great timing between courses. My glass was never empty! Always topped up with out having to ask :-) the style is stylish & in keeping with the 14th century character, warm & cosy.
After the meal we retired to have a go on the casino table in a lovely private area, the library, which i believe the hotel offered free which was perfect to relax with Neil & dawns family & friends and have fun.
Although we were not staying over night we were lucky enough to join them, in the morning, for a gorgeous breakfast, which our taxi driver recommended!! & it didn't disappoint! I have worked in a wide range of hotels over 28 years and appreciate good service, good food & beautiful surroundings & this hotel has it all!! It was a pleasure to be a guest here & I'm sure the bride & groom will have wonderful memories of their special day :-) thank you!

Room Tip: We didn't stay as we only attended the wedding meal & breakfast, so that is why i can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwich
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Mini reunion with friends for evening meal and overnight stay. No complaint whatsoever about the atmospheric restaurant, good food and faultless service. Groundlloor room was quiet and peaceful. Room was too hot overnight but windows opened easily to let in fresh air. Well situated from exit 13 on M6 for those wanting a comfortable overnight break.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my granddaughter (13), the rooms were nicely furnished with en suite facilities. The bed was very comfortable and the room was lovely and warm. We had a great nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was fantastic, there was so much food to choose from we were really spoilt for choice. All the staff were very friendly, from the minute we walked in to the minute we left we were very well looked after. Would highly recommend the hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonoltay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have eaten Sunday lunch at the Moat House on a number of occasions and have found it one of the most consistent restaurants in both quality of food and service. More recently we had a Christmas party night which saw a large number of people seated at the same time. Again the service was very efficient. On the odd occasion where something was not quite right Luke and his team acted quickly to remedy the situation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Moat House as a wind down after Christmas and New Year (it is 1/2 way between families!). Never stayed here before but is was excellent. The hotel is very well appointed and maintained and during our stay offered a feeling of calm not always found even in 4* establishments.

We dined one night on the Two AA Rosette restaurant which was again excellent. If I was to be picky the main course could have been a little hotter on arrival at the table.

Second night we eat in the bar and again the standard of food and service was excellent and for the quality of food very good value for money

Room Tip: Executive room was very nice indeed and bathroom was very good. Beware some double rooms are twin zi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nwsmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acton Trussell
3.5 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#6 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
6.1 mi away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#1 of 11 in Stafford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stafford M6 Jct. 13
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Stafford M6/J14 Tillington Hall Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stafford North (Hurricane) Hotel
4.9 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moat House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moat House

Property: The Moat House
Address: Lower Penkridge Road, Acton Trussell, Stafford ST17 0RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stafford > Acton Trussell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acton Trussell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moat House 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moat House Staffordshire, an independent, family run hotel with four coveted AA stars....a unique and very special place. The luxury Moat House Hotel boasts a canal side location in the picturesque village of Acton Trussell. It extends a warm family welcome which guarantees industry leading professionalism and service. Whether your need is for accommodation, fine dining, a wedding venue or the best in corporate hospitality, our beautiful, historical buildings provide the perfect solution. Close to junction 13 of the M6 and within a short drive of Stafford, The Moat House combines a taste of history with leading-edge facilities and unrivaled service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Moat House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Moat House Acton Trussell Hotel Acton Trussell
Moat Hotel Acton Trussell
The Moat House Acton Trussell, UK - Staffordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing