We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 1/2 hours for 2 courses - SERIOUSLY???”

Orangery Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“2 1/2 hours for 2 courses - SERIOUSLY???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a table of 9 this week for a business dinner. The restaurant was quiet when we arrived but became pleasantly busy for a wednesday evening. There appeared to be lots of restaurant staff but the service was just awfully awfully slow. Half of the party ate off the early diners menu and the other half off the a la carte and portion sizes across the board were pretty mean. We sat down at 6.30pm, had starters and main courses and by 8.30 had started to lose the will to live. We decided to skip dessert and go straight to coffee - but after half an hour, we just got up and left (we did pay the bill on the way out!).
Lovely venue, pleasant staff, , ok food, terribly let down by what can only be kitchen inefficiency.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2 Thank Pickle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The 'Early Doors' Menu is exceptional value for money with extremely good quality food of a consistently high standard served by young, enthusiastic and well-trained staff.
This is a 'Must Go' restaurant for anyone within an hour's drive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Tad disappointing"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I visited the orangery restaurant with my wife for her birthday, as part of the afternoon tea deal with living social. We were shown to the orangery restaurant, where we wanted to eat outside because of the nice weather. The front of house chap was not keen on this idea, and told us "it's a bit far to bring the food,and we are strapped for staff". Not really the response I was expected or wanted. w
We were shown to the table by the fire exit, and later shown the selection of tea. We then had our afternoon tea, which was average, the cake on the top layer of the tea platter was dry, and not very nice. We later did have our drink outside, by the duck pond, but only after we had been to the bar and took it outside ourselves.

Given that this restaurant, professes to be one of stafford's best, I was disappointed with the service and the some of the food.

What was the problem with sitting outside? No idea I'm sure, a reply of its too far to bring the food and we strapped for staff is a poor response.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1 Thank RileyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLMilwich, Owner at Orangery Restaurant, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor regarding your Afternoon Tea.

I am sorry that you did not receive our usual standard of service - whether you sit outside or inside the level of service should be the same. I am appalled that the member of staff spoke to you in the way he did advising you not to sit outside because of staffing issues. This should not have happened.

I have spoken to the Chef regarding the quality of the Afternoon Tea as well. I am sorry that this fell short of our normal high standards.

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention, it is only with comments such as yours that we can improve our standards for future customers.

Chris Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Early Doors Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a table for 6:30pm on a Friday night. If you dine between 6:30 and 7:30 you can take advantage of the fabulous 'Early Doors Menu' which is superb value for money at around £20 for two courses or £22 for 3 courses. We also chose to add on the sorbet between the starter and main for an extra £2. All 3 courses were cooked to perfection, local in season food carefully prepared and cooked and served by a host of fantastic and polite waiting staff. The Early Doors Menu changes every two weeks, so we will definitely be back to sample more!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsPoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday meal as excellent as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We ate here to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful dining experience. The service and food were both perfect, all the staff were pleasant and there were lots of them involved in taking orders and serving food and drink. Can't wait till we go again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeverleyH374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orangery Restaurant also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire

Been to Orangery Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing