We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Got back from a 2 night break at the Lyncombe Lodge. We booked this hotel from a Groupon offer and paid £49 for 2 nights including breakfast.

I will start off with the positives as the location of the hotel was really nice. The breakfast was also really nice, with a really good selection.

Unfortunately the room we were given was below standard. We stayed in one of the 'chalet' rooms which are located outside the hotel, I felt it was on the small side but I cannot comment on the rooms within the hotel as I did not see them. The room itself was pleasant enough but avoiding the spiders & cobwebs outside the room under the porch was a task in itself. Inside the room it looked as if it has not been cleaned properly. I found cobwebs down the side of the bedside tables, cobwebs and spiders in the corner of the room (I would like to point out I am petrified of spiders).
The bed itself was nice, the mattress sloped down on both sides so you felt like you were going to roll off the bed in the night.
The bathroom was in an awful state, hairs in the shower, dirty marks in the seat, the toilet seat was loose and kept moving around. The shower wouldn't give any hot water so we called someone to come and have a look, we waited 45 minutes and after another phone call someone came to have a look. My other half also mentioned the cleanliness on the phone to reception but nothing was ever done about it and by then I just wanted to get on and enjoy my short weekend away.

All in all, I would never return to this hotel. I felt like we were put in the dregs because of the money we paid. If I had paid the full rate for this room I would have been disgusted, the chalet rooms need some attention and love and care.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fairycake1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 302 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I and another couple stayed recently at Lyncombe Lodge and we were very pleased indeed with our 2 day holiday there. The rooms in the main lodge were not large but adequate although the rooms in the chalet in the garden were quite small although our friends did not find this a problem. All the staff were very friendly and polite and we could not fault them. They must have an excellent chef behind the scenes because the food really was top notch and reasonably priced. We had the lamb the first night which was wonderful, cooked to absolute perfection. My wife and friends said it was the best lamb they have tasted. Next night two of had the steak and the ladies had the salmon. Both meals were again beautifully cooked.
The location is tucked away in the woods and is very quiet and there is a circular walk through the woods which is very pleasant with somewhat of an incline as the location is cut into the hill side.
Summing up, we could not fault our holiday dispute the weather not being too good!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank row1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for one night to visit Cheddar Gorge, which is only a 10 minute drive away. We stayed in one of the chalets next to the lodge itself. The lodge is set in a beautiful wood, very pretty and I'm sure a lovely place to explore. The chalet was small but functional, the walls were quite thin so I felt quite sorry for our neighbours as we had a small baby with us! We made several requests to reception to store milk and sterilise baby bottles of which they obliged. The food and wine were excellent, we had the house red and lamb main, very much enjoyed! Breakfast was also a good standard. Only negative was seemingly lack of staff in the evening, and a very formal atmosphere that did at times feel awkward.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lauraJpantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

We really glad that you sampled our menu in the restaurant andthank your your comments about the lamb. I have passed your comments about the staffing on to our General Manager.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights 18/19 September as a gift from our daughter for our silver wedding anniversary,The hotel is away from the main road and up into the woods and near a ski track.
We were warmly welcomed on our arrival and all through our stay,Ann(e) was our host for most of the time that we were there, and nothing was too much bother for her.The decor was nice and the rooms comfortable,The biscuits and bottle of spring water in our room was a nice touch.The dining area is very relaxing.The food which was not expensive and was very good quality and also presented well, Another thing is that the bar was no dearer than your local pub which made a change as hotels usually bump the cost of a pint up.The surrounding area and the location is very quiet and beautiful.Overall our stay was everything we expected and a very nice place to stay,i would not hesitate to go back again and shall tell all friends about this lovely find.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

Its great to hear that Ann was so attentive during your stay and may we take this opportunity to congratulate you on your Silver Wedding Anniversary.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter or follow us on Facebook.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I visited Lyncombe Lodge hotel in September 2013 on a Groupon deal. This made it really amazing value, at £39 for two including breakfast. We paid an extra £15 each for two children to stay in addition.

If I had paid the standard tariff I might have been less impressed, as the hotel is really quite basic and the decor tired. Our room was fairly clean, but not impeccable. The beds were comfy and there wasn't too much noise. Our friends in room 7 suffered from kitchen noise, so that might be one to avoid.

The hotel is in a lovely situation, though - right in the woods and next to the chair lift for the dry ski centre next door.

The highlight of our stay was the dinner that we enjoyed. I was surprised by the quality of the food. It wasn't cheap, but that's probably because it was so good we treated ourselves to several courses and several rounds of drinks. The service was helpful and friendly at dinner.

Breakfast was tasty too, but was served by an extremely grumpy and impatient lady who really let the hotel down. She tutted at us when we weren't ready to order 30 seconds after sitting down. She hadn't even given us a menu.

During our stay we visited Cheddar Gorge, which is really nearby, and although it's quite expensive I'd probably do it again, as the kids (4 and 6) loved it.

Weston Super Mare was not such a success. The Seaquarium was disappointing, being old, tired, and over-priced. Many of the interactive elements were out of order.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant and taking the time to share their experience with others.

I do apologize that you felt your room wasn't of an impeccable standard for you. With any issues we do recommend that our guests point them out at the time so we can do our very best to resolve them. We are a very small team and try our best to offer the best experience for all of our guests. I have passed your comments on to our General Manager for his attention.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter or follow us on Facebook.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a special deal for 2 nights on the weekend.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were nice and clean and the food fantastic especially the homemade chutney......

All in this was an outstanding value for money mini break, our thanks to all the staff sure we'll be back

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lechlade_cherries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter or follow us on Facebook.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped here for a couple of nights in August. What a lovely find! A great base and in a lovely setting.
Yes it is up a hill - but no there isn't a dirt track to get there. Don't get me wrong - I wouldn't like to have to gain access to it during heavy rain or snow/frost.
From the outside the hotel looks quite small - we were pleasantly surprised when we walked into reception. It is like the tardis!
We had a family room - for two of us, this was great.
The hotel is literally 'in' the Avon Ski Centre. As you approach the hotel you go under a bridge - it's only when you stand in front of reception that you realise that the bridge is in fact one of the ski slopes!
We visited Weston and Clevedon (for you Broadchurch fans - this is where a lot of it was filmed!) and went to Bath on the other day. As I have already mentioned - a great base. We were only bed and breakfast and although fine -not enough choice. I am happy with a full English but my husband like breads, cheeses and meats but they did not have this. We did have a full breakfast one morning but it was not to our liking (nothing at all wrong with it - just not for us). The next morning we ordered scrambled eggs on toast - this was done no problem.
The staff were all lovely and friendly. The rooms were homely and clean - no complaints at all.
We went on a special offer and as a thank you - they give you a voucher for another special offer on your next visit. We are trying to arrange this as we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayandAnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

Please come and see us again soon and take advantage of the voucher that we gave you.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
4 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
6.7 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Penscot Inn
Penscot Inn
#1 of 1 in Shipham
95 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Lyncombe Drive, Churchill BS25 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Churchill
Price Range: $78 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyncombe Hotel Churchill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing