We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Timeout deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Churchill
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Timeout deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for two nights as part of a Timeout deal for £69. It was a pleasant stay. The room was comfortable, clean and a decent size. The little kettle, tea and biscuits in the room were handy. I prefer herbal tea and was promptly given some teabags when asked. The staff kindly supplied some in the room for the second night without us asking which was a nice touch. On the first night we ate at the lodge, the food was delicious and well cooked. For breakfast I had the cinnamon and banana oats and couple slices of toast while my partner had the full English and we both thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast. The hotel is placed close to Cheddar to visit the caves and placed roughly equal distance from both Bristol and Bath, we visited all three with the hotel as our base. What really made our stay was the warmth and friendliness of the staff, so if we are ever in the area again we would stay at the lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innocent99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

I'm so glad to hear that the staff were so helpful. I will pass all of your lovely comments on to them as it will mean a lot for them to hear when all their hard work is really appreciated.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    76
    16
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
172
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had a family bithday party sunday lunch a while ago and decided that when we were visiting relatives in the area again we would look at staying at the hotel. Looked up their website where we came upon an offer we could not refuse. Telephone straight away and booked a two night stay and what was remarkable was the lady greeted me as if it was only a few weeks ago that we had lunch there and remembered my name. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted warmly and directed to our room . The room was at the back of the hotel unfortunately without a view across the valley, however it was very clean and comfortable. We went down for our dinner, which was included in our rate. The meal was an absolute delight, the venison we ordered was cooked to perfection the cheese board was out of this world. We have had many a cheese board in other hotels and they could very well learn about what a cheese board should consist of and its presentation. We sent our compliments to the chef and we do indeed look forward to having the great pleasure of eating there again.
Going down for breakfast the next morning i wondered how we would fare after such an excellent dinner. No need to have worried because my full english breakfast was well presented , very tasty, the fried eggs we cooked to perfection. My wife had smoked haddock and poached eggs which she thoroughly enjoyed and the eggs again were beautifully cooked.
The service at all times was very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome and indeed we were very well looked after.
The only reason i did not rate the hotel as excellent was because of the shower which was run off the bath taps with no temperature control whatsoever and consequently was met with either exceedingly hot or freezing cold water poured over me. As i am unable to take a bath this was an issue. Having said that there were one or two problems with the lighting in our room and this was promptly dealt with.
We will definitely be dining here again and with the chef they have got at the hotel I would go out of my way to eat here and recommend others to do so.
We will definitely be staying here again and look forward to meeting everybody again and hope that the issue of the shower can be addressed by then, if not, the warm welcome is well worth comong to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swtraveller186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

I can assure you that we have now addressed the issue that you have with the shower and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently returned from a two night KGB deal stay at lyncombe lodge. We booked an extra night on top to get the most of our much needed break away. Our deal included a 3 course meal which was excellent and my husband and I were amazed that this little gem was seemingly unknown to the locals, and they really are missing something special. I had mushroom starter followed by steak, which was advertised as being served with a peppercorn sauce, I asked if this could be changed and without hesitation I had my favourite stilton sauce. To finish a truly scrumptious chocolate ganache tart. My husband had a seafood starter followed by venison steak and a more than ample cheese board! The food was top quality and the full english breakfast backed this up! The first night we decided upon a bar meal rather than the a la carte menu which was a very high standard too. We told the staff to advertise more to the public and locals as the ambience in the bar area was a little flat, and a bit of life and soul would do the place a world of good,. The staff themselves were helpful and friendly and I really couldnt fault the hospitality we received from all of them. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and little touchs made the stay comfortable, like a home from home. I would particularly like to mention Ann , who ran the bar and reception on the 2 nights we ate at the hotel, she was friendly and a great asset to the hotel. Thanks Ann! The surroundings of the hotel were great, almost like you were in a chalet in the austrian alps....A dry ski slope was right next door and the feel of the hotel up in the trees was very cosy. It would appeal to both the adventurous outdoor type or equally for a romantic weekend away. In saying this I'm sure a family stay would be just as pleasant....the only negative about the location is the fact it is tucked away and unless you look hard you could easily miss the sign. We were in room 1 of the hotel. It had a fantastic view once the mist had cleared and were told the best view in the hotel. We were advised that the hotel was 3/4 way through a complete refurb and unfortunatley our room was one of the rooms that was not freshly decorated. However this didnt detract from the comfort of the room and the cleanliness, which was to a very high standard. All rooms were well appointed with flat screen tvs and ipod docking stations. Tea and coffee and also biscuits and bottled water daily added a nice touch. The only negative was the shower which didnt have much power behind it but am sure this will be addressed at some point in the near future. In conclusion I would recommend this lovely hotel/lodge/restaurant if not for a stay just to go and have a top notch meal. Locals you are missing out!!!!! There are outdoor chalet accomodation which looked lovely and cosy and is suitable for people with dogs, so they really have got every base covered.Thanks Lyncombe lodge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

Its really good to hear such wonderful comments about our restaurant and staff and I will pass this on to all involved. Its great to have good feedback and it makes all the hard effort that they put in worthwhile.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We recently returned from a kgb deal given to us as a present. A two night stay for two including one evening dinner for £99.00, we were somewhat concerned as to the standard or service we would receive. We need not have worried however, as our short stay was an absolute delight (although the same cannot be said for the weather - widespread flooding in the area). This is a very friendly establishment located at the top of a winding lane surrounded by woodland and adjacent to a dry ski slope. Our room was clean, well appointed and included tea and coffee making facilities, a bottle of sparkling water each day and TV. There is a delighful restaurant overlooking the countryside having a baby grand piano, bar and lounge seating area adjacent. The three course dinner ( a la carte) was lovely, the courses not too large but sufficient and beautifully served. Tremendous value and thoroughly
recommended - we shall be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pontypool
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The staff are excellent, the chef immaculate and all were so friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was multi choice full english,continental,smoked salmon and scrambled egg, smoked haddock. Tea, coffee, toast and jam. Lovelly food and we were well tended to.

We had one evening meal and that too was very good indeed.We ventured out on our second evening to a local pub but food was so poor, we wished we'd have stayed at the hotel to eat.

Very quiet during our stay. The locals really don't know what they are missing so get up there and have yourselves some nice food instead of that local excuse for good food.

Lovelly comfortable room, bed was great and room warm. Only critisism is, the shower mixers are not the best quality and go hot and cold on you and the hot is hot! Some Grohe quality ones would sort that out I'm sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tcb180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

We appreciate your comment about the shower and im sorry to hear that you experienced problems with it. We have been having issues with our boiler and I have been told that this has now been resolved.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here on a kgb deal. Always a little apprehensive when buying a deal like this whether you'll still get the service. We absolutely did!!! Lyncombe lodge was delightful. The sat nav took us right to the door. When the website says local attractions, avon ski centre is on the door step-thats no joke, you drive under the slope to approach the car park, so even if you don't have a sat nav, you can follow the ski centre signs. We were pleasantly greated on reception, asking if we'd had a good journey, directed to our room, and offered help with our bags. We stayed in room 7, very nice. Comfortable double bed, tea/coffee and kettle provided. Shower was not very powerful-but that may just be personal preference? So i had a bath instead :).

The three course meal we had in the resturant was amazing!! Service & presentation 11 out of 10!! As others have said in previous reviews, regret not going there on the second night. Although our meal was included, the prices were reasonable. I had duck, then lamb, then treacle tart and my partner had onion soup, steak & cheesecake. The portion sizes were just right and the presenation & taste was outstanding!! Breakfast was also very similar, both having the full english-very high quality.

Although we're not really 'into' walking the location seemed perfect for those who do. We drove to Weston Super Mare, only about a 15 minute drive, and were kindly advised by hotel staff how to get there and where to park.

Overall a lovely, relaxing time. Highly recommend! Thank you to all of the staff for the experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 89_Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others.

It means a lot to us to have such nice comments written about the hotel and the staff. I will make sure they all see your lovely review, and get someone to check the shower to see if there is anything that can be done about it. Thank you for drawing our attention to it.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

There are times in life when one may feel truly blessed and very fortunate.
My wife and I have just returned from an exquisite stay at Lyncombe Lodge celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary.
I feel blessed firstly that she has stuck with me for so long and even more so that she appears to want to continue the arrangement. I feel further blessed that I chose Lyncombe Lodge in the hope it would be a fairly romantic little Inn which would meet a few basic requirements by way of decent food, ambiance and general hospitality.
I can tell you, Lyncombe Lodge Didn't meet those needs ....it gave us a whole new level of outstanding food, ambiance and very stylish hospitality.
Dear reader I feel hugely fortunate for another reason entirely.
We checked in around 3.00pm on Sunday 11th November and thank-you thank-you thank-you God... It seems that you performed a miracle for my wife and I.
It seems you persuaded the vastly over weight and hugely revolting Mr John r ( see the nasty spiteful pack of lies in the review below) to check out before we arrived, (a day early)... and to take his vastly over weight and hugely revolting wife with him!!!
Consider that for good fortune....., we didn't have to sleep in the same building as them nor eat from the same kitchen as them....and hopefully we missed them with sufficient time, that we didn't even have to breathe the same beautiful fresh Somerset air as them........ Praise the Lord!!!!!!
You may wonder how, if we haven't met, I can be so scathing about Mr John r and the long suffering Mrs John r.
Oh but dear reader, I do do do know all about Mrs and Mrs John r.................we all do!!!
We have all seen them or at least their exact stereotypes.
Go to any "all you can eat" £ 3.75 carvery pub for a cheap and cheerful bargain and .....there are Mr and Mrs John r causing mayhem at the front of the queue, abusing the staff and trying to balance 37 Yorkshire puddings on top of plates of food piled so high, the Millennium Dome resembles a size 36 c Bra Cup by comparison!!!!
Likewise, we are guaranteed to see them at the head of the queue in the £ 9.95 "all you can eat" Chinese Buffet Restaurant, again abusing the normally charming Chinese staff, holding Millennium Dome like piles of food, containing of course a whole gastronome sized serving dish worth of King Prawns....and of course leaving none for any one else!!!!
Oh yes, Overweight Mr and Mrs John r and their like are world class at squeezing a bargain until the pips squeak.and complaining so loudly and viciously any self respecting coal bucket would blush.
But rejoice dear fellow TripAdvisor reader .........let me point out another miracle which should make us all feel truly blessed.
I quote, overweight Mr John r in his libellous review .............. " I would never stay here ( Lyncombe Lodge) again".
Yes dear reader......these people have promised never to darken the door of lovely Lyncombe lodge again.
Rejoice rejoice rejoice, this little jem of a hotel is all ours now to enjoy at leisure with no fear of bumping into those "guests from hell".
And should Mr and Mrs John r ever change their mind and visit Lyncombe Lodge while you are there, stay calm, point at them and say..........."LIAR", then look up to the heavens and say, "sort them out God".......... and I promise your troubles will be ended!!!

N.B, contrary to what you may infer from these thoughts of mine, I am not remotely religious but thanks to being spared from these people I now believe in miracles!!!

To finish
A very big thank you
to Nick the Manager, for a wonderful room with a view, restaurant service with real style and an overall stay with true charm.
To Anne for a lovely check in and first evening (what times your anniversary sir!!!)
To Chef for truly 1st class food
and to all the stunning morning ladies who seemed to be doing all the hard, work serving breakfast, servicing the rooms and keeping the hotel spotless, with such charm and style.

Thanks guys

Room Tip: Ask if Room 4 is available.....it is truly charming but all of the rooms in the main hotel looked ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kickiskogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy H, Marketing Coordinator at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for the review that you left for Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant. It is always great to hear when someone has enjoyed their trip so much that they take the time to share their experience with others and your comments and kindness are overwhelming. I have passed on all of your kind words to our staff. It is just the boost they need after a recently receiving some unfounded negative comments.

If you wish to stay with us again or would be interested in receiving future deals and special offers please don't forget to visit our website and sign up to our newsletter. We have some great deals that you may be interested in for your next visit.

We hope to see you at Lyncombe Lodge Hotel and Restaurant again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Sidcot (A38) Hotel
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
9.4 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
4.5 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Lyncombe Drive | Churchill, Churchill BS25 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lyncombe Hotel Churchill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing