We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Beeches Churchill
Ranked #1 of 6 Churchill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Steve and Mandy are brilliant hosts - welcoming, friendly (and do a mean breakfast!). The Beeches is perfect as a jumping off point for the Mendip area and Bristol. It also has a "proper" pub - The Crown - only 200 yards away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
119
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Booked a night here prior to flying out of Bristol early the next morning. Steve and Mandy were excellent hosts who could not do enough for us. They give us all the local information on the best places to eat and drink. They laid out an early breakfast for us as we were leaving before six a.m. the next morning. On our initial arrival we were upgraded to an en-suite room which was immaculate and homely. My only wish was we could have stayed longer and enjoyed their cooked breakfast. Perfect location to fly from Bristol, we would definetly book again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithandsheridan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Beeches has very friendly owners. Our room was very nice, overlooking the church. The room (as well as the rest of the house) was well decorated, and everything was very clean, and had a comfortable large bed. We liked the selection on the complimentary plate including hot chocolate and a bottle of water. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order, and I particularly appreciated their lovely fresh fruit salad. There are beautiful friendly cats to stroke.

Churchill is a lovely small village – if you have half-an hour to spare, just walk up the hill for 10 minutes behind the house and you get to see a wonderful view of the village, Mendip hills, as well as Bristol Channel and Wales in a distance. The only small thing that took the edge off perfection was that our room took a while to warm up on the first evening.

We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fidgetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Having to fly out of Bristol at 6.30am with 2 young children and coming from Cornwall, we decided that staying near to the airport was the best option. Having scoured the internet I came across The Beeches Churchill. After a conversation with Steve about the accommodation, airport transfers and family rooms, there was no hesitation to book and we were not disappointed. The room, host and location were impecable. We could not have asked for more. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLovegrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthcawl
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed on 23 March 2012 before an early flight from Bristol Airport. We booked directly with Steve and he managed the booking extremely quickly and professionally. Mandy and Steve were very welcoming and recommended local places to eat. The room was very comfortable, clean and quiet - perfect for a good night's sleep before an early flight. Steve was up very early for our airport transfer and dropped us right outside the airport terminal. On our return, we simply called his mobile and he was there within 2 minutes to collect us. In the past we have always used Silver Zone or the long stay car park. We can't imagine using these again for an early flight, where a stay with Mandy and Steve is an option. We have recommended the B&B and transfer service to our family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyrose82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for a wedding in the vicinity. The hosts were out of their way to help us before and during our stay. The bedrooms are luxurious. The hosts cook the full breakfast at your request. Very convenient for airport and to explore this beautiful part of Somerset.

Room Tip: Book in advance during spring and summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manolo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My mother and I were looking for a convenient base for a few days to explore North Somerset area and decided on the Beeches because of its central location and excellent reviews.
We were not disappointed!
Steve and Mandy are truly excellent hosts and make you feel welcome the moment you arrive.
Their house is set in lovely grounds and views with plenty of room to park your car.
The rooms are spacious, spotless, and very comfortable.
The attention to detail is first class and Steve is always on hand to attend to your every need.
We visited during a particularly cold spell and Steve always made sure our rooms were warm and cosy for our return.
Both Steve and Mandy were very helpful in answering our questions about the local area and making suggestions for places to eat and visit.
Breakfast is a feast and by far, the best I have ever had. The dining room where breakfast is served looks out onto the garden and is immactuately and stylishly laid out by Mandy. There is a copious choice of fresh fruit, cereal, toast, croissants, tea, coffee and a full english breakfast, perfectly cooked by Steve.
One day on our return from a day sightseeing, we arrived while they were entertaining friends and were promptly invited to stay for a glass of wine whilst we were introduced to everyone. We were very touched by their hospitality and generosity and were sad to leave them. We know that we will be back there on our future visits
Thank you Steve and Mandy for making our stay in Somerset so memorable!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manonlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
0.7 mi away
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Redhill House
Redhill House
#1 of 2 in Redhill
314 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches Churchill

Property: The Beeches Churchill
Address: The Beeches Front Street, Churchill BS25 5NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Churchill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Mandy Harvey look forward to welcoming you to their part 18th century home situated only 6 miles south of Bristol airport, just off the A38 at Churchill, on the edge of the Mendip Hills, designated as an area of outstanding natural beauty. The Beeches is ideally situated for guests using the airport as well as those wishing to explore this part of Somerset and all it has to offer, with easy access from junction 21 of the M5 motorway. Bath, Bristol, Wells, Cheddar, Glastonbury and Weston-Super-Mare are all within easy travelling distance. We have four rooms available all complete with central heating, digital television, tea/coffee making facilities, comfortable king size double and single beds. All rooms offer simple comfort set in quiet surroundings, away from the flight path. The Beeches offers off road on-site parking for residents and by prior arrangement can cater for those wanting to leave their cars with us whilst away on business or leisure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing