We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
117
86
23
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
86
23
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb the pub leopard hills spice route en provence paris room roman road fish and chips roman room wine list steep stairs lovely food two nights made us feel beautiful room well worth a visit two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 252 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely old pub, good beer, comfortable rooms, hearty breakfast!
We stayed on a Saturday night meeting up with old friends. The location was excellent with the pub set in wonderful countryside and after a quick pint we explored the local area. Later we spent a super evening in the bar, drinking and eating a good meal chosen from a varied menu.
After a comfortable night's sleep we had an excellent cooked breakfast.
Highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding. It was absolutely fantastic. Absolutely couldn't fault it. Beautiful very individual cute but gorgeous room. Dinner was brilliant, so much so that we didn't eat anywhere else because we wanted to try and eat EVERYTHING on the menu! Also very dog friendly, our lab had a lovely time, great big epic dog walking country. Really great breakfast. Busy recommending to all our friends and family.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Returned to this establishment some 9 months after our first and only visit (not impressed on that occasion) and can only be positive about the Lamb Inn. The food was delightful, the wine very good and the staff excellent - fun but professional! Would definitely recommend The Lamb......lovely setting, and pleasing atmosphere.

A most enjoyable visit.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sabrehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the spice room. it was just out of this world.

Our stay was amazing. The room was out of this world and the bed very comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful, and the food was just brilliant.

I would recommend this for anyone looking for a reasonably priced stay, with very, big character, on par to. A five star hotel.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights across the August bank holiday. And quickly found that our first impressions were correct as this little gem was everything we had hoped and more.

This is a fantastic location (very central) to surrounding attractions and historic villages etc.
The rooms here are all decorated to different world themes. We stayed in 'Leopard Hills' which was beautifully designed with a four poster bed and traditionally styled en-suite bathroom.

The staff here are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. If you stay here an absolute MUST is to eat in the restaurant at least once during your stay, it won't disappoint. The menu is small in terms of choice, but this obviously means they are able to execute each dish beautifully. I had Lamb Rump with Lyonnaise Potatoes, beans and Lamb Jus, which second perfect timing in the cooking had obviously led to the meat simply melting in the mouth! I commented that I can't ever remember eating such perfectly cooked food (I pride myself on my cooking and we eat out posh, a lot!) Initially, we thought that the price of £16 (approx.) a plate was a little expensive, but on eating it, we both agreed that a similar dish in London or the South East would be in excess of £25 a plate.

We found out while we were there that the future of the place is un-certain however, as the current lease holders have purchased a freehold at the other end of the village and so will be leaving this one when their lease runs out in 2/3 years time. Which is sad as they are doing a wonderful job and although we tried their new place for drinks one evening, it was a little too light and modern for our taste. So the rules are, take advantage of this super B&B/Pub/Restaurant while it is still with the present management!

The only negative points I am able to make about our experience are really personal choice issues more than anything else, and they are that we found the sausage served with breakfast a bit herby for a breakfast sausage (would have preferred a straight forward butchers or Cumberland recipe). And we found the bed/mattress a little hard, but we have a memory mattress at home, so we find this everywhere to a point!

We shall definitely be back! And we have decided not to share the name of the place with our friends and family to ensure that it remains our secret get-away. Looking forward to many more visits in the future.

Delightful!

Room tip: They have great photos of all the rooms on their website. We booked through booking.com, but I will book directly next time, as it is very slightly cheaper for some reason(?)
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews