We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor little lamb has lost its way?”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived full of hope after all the rave reviews and the expected designer bedrooms, but I was extremely disappointed. We stayed in the Paris and Provence room, which was more shabby than chic. The flooring was stained, the covering on the Chaise Long was stained and the bedside table nearest to the main door was also not clean...looked like red wine or blood stain. The room is extremely dark and the window almost shuts. We reserved a a table for dinner in the small section of the restaurant but were given the pub area which was o.k. We ordered the steak which arrived almost cold! The tomatoes and salad accompaniment was good, as was the one wild mushroom the six twice cooked chips had been in my opinion lying around and not worth £20. No check was no check made when we were at table to see if everything was satisfactory and it was not until my husband was back in his room and I had left the bar that I was asked how the meal was.
At this stage I was offered various gestures eg dessert, coffees etc all too late.
Breakfast the next morning was a very different affair, really tasty and served warm.

Room Tip: Avoid the Paris and Provence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oapcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 236 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lovely old pub, good beer, comfortable rooms, hearty breakfast!
We stayed on a Saturday night meeting up with old friends. The location was excellent with the pub set in wonderful countryside and after a quick pint we explored the local area. Later we spent a super evening in the bar, drinking and eating a good meal chosen from a varied menu.
After a comfortable night's sleep we had an excellent cooked breakfast.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding. It was absolutely fantastic. Absolutely couldn't fault it. Beautiful very individual cute but gorgeous room. Dinner was brilliant, so much so that we didn't eat anywhere else because we wanted to try and eat EVERYTHING on the menu! Also very dog friendly, our lab had a lovely time, great big epic dog walking country. Really great breakfast. Busy recommending to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Returned to this establishment some 9 months after our first and only visit (not impressed on that occasion) and can only be positive about the Lamb Inn. The food was delightful, the wine very good and the staff excellent - fun but professional! Would definitely recommend The Lamb......lovely setting, and pleasing atmosphere.

A most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sabrehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in the spice room. it was just out of this world.

Our stay was amazing. The room was out of this world and the bed very comfortable.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful, and the food was just brilliant.

I would recommend this for anyone looking for a reasonably priced stay, with very, big character, on par to. A five star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for two nights across the August bank holiday. And quickly found that our first impressions were correct as this little gem was everything we had hoped and more.

This is a fantastic location (very central) to surrounding attractions and historic villages etc.
The rooms here are all decorated to different world themes. We stayed in 'Leopard Hills' which was beautifully designed with a four poster bed and traditionally styled en-suite bathroom.

The staff here are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. If you stay here an absolute MUST is to eat in the restaurant at least once during your stay, it won't disappoint. The menu is small in terms of choice, but this obviously means they are able to execute each dish beautifully. I had Lamb Rump with Lyonnaise Potatoes, beans and Lamb Jus, which second perfect timing in the cooking had obviously led to the meat simply melting in the mouth! I commented that I can't ever remember eating such perfectly cooked food (I pride myself on my cooking and we eat out posh, a lot!) Initially, we thought that the price of £16 (approx.) a plate was a little expensive, but on eating it, we both agreed that a similar dish in London or the South East would be in excess of £25 a plate.

We found out while we were there that the future of the place is un-certain however, as the current lease holders have purchased a freehold at the other end of the village and so will be leaving this one when their lease runs out in 2/3 years time. Which is sad as they are doing a wonderful job and although we tried their new place for drinks one evening, it was a little too light and modern for our taste. So the rules are, take advantage of this super B&B/Pub/Restaurant while it is still with the present management!

The only negative points I am able to make about our experience are really personal choice issues more than anything else, and they are that we found the sausage served with breakfast a bit herby for a breakfast sausage (would have preferred a straight forward butchers or Cumberland recipe). And we found the bed/mattress a little hard, but we have a memory mattress at home, so we find this everywhere to a point!

We shall definitely be back! And we have decided not to share the name of the place with our friends and family to ensure that it remains our secret get-away. Looking forward to many more visits in the future.

Delightful!

Room Tip: They have great photos of all the rooms on their website. We booked through booking.com, but I will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed at The Lamb Inn and what a great choice! We stayed in the Spice Room which was very tastefully decorated, but as some previous reviews have stated, I would advise choosing one of the others for your stay if you don't like background noise.

Food was good and the staff were very pleasant especially the owner who made the effort to spend time with her guests.

Highly recommended. Very good value for money and a fantastic location for the beautiful sites of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonkeentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
7.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,313 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
286 reviews
4.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
752 reviews
7 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
548 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: High Street | near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range: $124 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Shipton Under Wychwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing