We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Room was excellent (French room) although there was insufficient hot water for a bath which was quite disappointing. Pub served excellent food and the breakfast was good. Nice location to be able to walk into the village and surrounds.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 235 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a great place, stayed in the Spice Route room. Very comfortable 4 post bed and nice decor. Room is above the bar so a little noise but quiet as soon as the bar closes. Fabulous food in the restaurant and good breakfast with cereal, fruit and cooked. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveGCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

a very cozy place. I was there last weekend for 3 nights and it was execellent. I slept in the leopard room and it was very comfortable. breakfast was very good. one evening I had dinner at the pub and everything was delicious and they were so kind to prepare a special request meal for my daughter aged six /by the way there is also a children menu that is very good). the price for B&B is really ok! I would go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had. Great food, great staff and my husband enjoyed the lovely selection of beers and ales on offer not to mention the fine selection of wine to go with our delicious home cooked dinner. A beautiful area with some of England's finest countryside to enjoy. Will definitely be going back there !! Rooms super too with a different theme to each one. Lovely !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are themed and difficult to say which one is best as they are all lovely !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197LynnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food is pub grub and then some. Refined but still encapsulating that home cooked feel. Top quality ingredients and great presentation. The fish and chips is presented on faux newspaper with a mini deep frying basket for the chips, excellent!

Will always pop in for lunch when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights, three days. The sumptuous breakfasts were enough to keep us going well past lunchtime. Fresh local produce was well presented and served from friendly staff. The great choice of evening meals, left us wanting to return at a later date to sample the other delights. The food was of an excellent calibre and at a reasonable price, once again served by very courteous and efficient staff. The wine list was great as was the guest ales of which we sampled our fair share. The Leopard Hills four poster room was very quiet and comfortable, accessed by a slightly steep staircase but incontext with a 15th Century Inn, as is its bowed ceilings and floors which all adds to the character of the Inn itself, definately, not a modern designed hotel.

This modern chic restaurant/ hotel look can be found at the newly opened Wychwood some 500 yds down the road, which is coincidently owned by the same family. Well worth a visit too.

Room Tip: Leopard Hills Room very well furnished and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in Spice Room which was beautifully decorated and to a very high standard, with a lovely 4 poster bed and a very modern bathroom. We did not have any problems with the ceiling height in this room as we have read on some of the other comments, however the bed was up against the wall on one side, so access was not easy for one of us!
The hotel is approx. 15 minutes from Bourton on the Water, where we went in the evening and when we returned at around half eleven the noise from the bar below was booming through the ceiling to the room. We could literally hear every word being said! Once the noise eventually died down well after midnight, it was lovely and quiet as the Lamb Inn is situated on a peaceful country lane and the bed was spacious and comfortable.
The following morning we went down for breakfast, where there was a small selection of cereals and yoghurts as well as a cooked option, which was very tasty and well seasoned.
However, when we went back up to the room, the young staff put on some loud music in the pub below (the pub was not open yet) and again the music was blaring through the ceiling to us. We are a young, easy-going couple and are aware that we have to expect some noise if staying above a pub, but do feel that at these prices the rooms should be more hospitable. It was not the most relaxing start to a Sunday morning and although it was a lovely room, we feel that with the noise levels in this particular room it was a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Try not to pick one directly above the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
3.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
744 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,302 reviews
6.9 mi away
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Restaurant
Number Four at Stow Hotel & Rest...
#2 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,882 reviews
7.0 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
547 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Address: High Street | near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range: $131 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Shipton Under Wychwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing