We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
116
84
23
11
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
84
23
11
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambthe publeopard hillsspice routeen provenceparis roomroman roadfish and chipswine listwell worth a visitsteep stairslovely foodmade us feeltwo night staycooked breakfastlovely weekendfriday night
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 249 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience we had. Great food, great staff and my husband enjoyed the lovely selection of beers and ales on offer not to mention the fine selection of wine to go with our delicious home cooked dinner. A beautiful area with some of England's finest countryside to enjoy. Will definitely be going back there !! Rooms super too with a different theme to each one. Lovely !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are themed and difficult to say which one is best as they are all lovely !!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197LynnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The food is pub grub and then some. Refined but still encapsulating that home cooked feel. Top quality ingredients and great presentation. The fish and chips is presented on faux newspaper with a mini deep frying basket for the chips, excellent!

Will always pop in for lunch when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for two nights, three days. The sumptuous breakfasts were enough to keep us going well past lunchtime. Fresh local produce was well presented and served from friendly staff. The great choice of evening meals, left us wanting to return at a later date to sample the other delights. The food was of an excellent calibre and at a reasonable price, once again served by very courteous and efficient staff. The wine list was great as was the guest ales of which we sampled our fair share. The Leopard Hills four poster room was very quiet and comfortable, accessed by a slightly steep staircase but incontext with a 15th Century Inn, as is its bowed ceilings and floors which all adds to the character of the Inn itself, definately, not a modern designed hotel.

This modern chic restaurant/ hotel look can be found at the newly opened Wychwood some 500 yds down the road, which is coincidently owned by the same family. Well worth a visit too.

Room Tip: Leopard Hills Room very well furnished and quiet
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in Spice Room which was beautifully decorated and to a very high standard, with a lovely 4 poster bed and a very modern bathroom. We did not have any problems with the ceiling height in this room as we have read on some of the other comments, however the bed was up against the wall on one side, so access was not easy for one of us!
The hotel is approx. 15 minutes from Bourton on the Water, where we went in the evening and when we returned at around half eleven the noise from the bar below was booming through the ceiling to the room. We could literally hear every word being said! Once the noise eventually died down well after midnight, it was lovely and quiet as the Lamb Inn is situated on a peaceful country lane and the bed was spacious and comfortable.
The following morning we went down for breakfast, where there was a small selection of cereals and yoghurts as well as a cooked option, which was very tasty and well seasoned.
However, when we went back up to the room, the young staff put on some loud music in the pub below (the pub was not open yet) and again the music was blaring through the ceiling to us. We are a young, easy-going couple and are aware that we have to expect some noise if staying above a pub, but do feel that at these prices the rooms should be more hospitable. It was not the most relaxing start to a Sunday morning and although it was a lovely room, we feel that with the noise levels in this particular room it was a little overpriced.

Room Tip: Try not to pick one directly above the bar!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarryEyed14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We spent just the one night (for my birthday) in the Leopard Falls room. Lovelly,comfortable 4 poster bed.Well furnished and very clean. The service from the minute we arrived to the time we left was nothing short of 1st class; attentive and courteous rather than overbearing,pushy or arrogant. Nothing was too much trouble for either the landlady or her staff. The evening meal was mouth-watering , the ale was first class as was their Malbec. Breakfast this morning was tasty and filling with locally sourced produce. We even returned for Sunday lunch which was to die for ; beef (and veg)cooked to perfection ! Good mix of pub and hotel guests . We never heard any noise even though our room was over the restraunt .Our grumbles were minor 1) the water pressure when running a bath in the morning was nearly non existant ( got there eventually!) 2) the tread for the stairs was very small, this is a cotswold inn so this is to be expected and finally 3) my biggest gripe , not just with this hotel but many others, the gratuity is almost taken for granted both on the meal bill and on the credit card reader.This does irritate me as i am prepared to offer a tip when service is as good as it is at the Lamb but i stubbornly refuse to when i am almost forced into it.
I would thoroughly recomend this Inn for both food and as a relaxing break and we really cannot understand the(very few) negative reviews on here !
Btw, the tea/coffee facilities in the room were well stocked and included bottled mineral water which is a nice touch !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WurzelCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews