We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food not great but the Restaurant was lovely with friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food not great but the Restaurant was lovely with friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We thought that the Restaurant was presented beautifully, the staff were very friendly but we did not love the food. My ravioli starter was not fresh enough (it was the same ravioli from the main meal and was more like heated through pea and mint rice pudding). The steak was very tasty but not as tender as I would have expected and the sausages did not taste nice. Very pretty and nice people but I would not visit again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    74
    14
    10
    13
See reviews for
30
132
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend away at the Lamb. Yes it was a bit on the pricey side but then we knew we were paying a supplement for staying on Saturday night and we were not disappointed. The welcome, service and home cooked food were all excellent, we ate in the bar on Saturday night so our dog could join us after a full days walking and the place had a friendly feel about it aided by the roaring log fire. Sunday breakfast was full of choice and cooked to order and meant that even after a walk around the local gardens restricted Sunday lunch to a huge bowl of home made spicy soup and crusty bread (delicious)
We stayed in the perfectly adequate, clean and cosy Leopard Hills room and yes the stairs were steep, but then you can't go messing with original features in buildings of this age and character. Paul insisted on carrying our heavy weekend bag up the stairs anyway.
We would have no hesitation in recommending The Lamb at Shipton and would stay there again if we venture to the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Arrived for dinner having booked table in restaurant. On arrival, told that our booked table was not available and were placed in the bar right by the entrance door. Service abysmal. No apologies for delays, but staff found plenty of time to ask if we wanted to buy more drink. Eventually, had to go to bar to ask landlord when meals would arrive. Food appeared after more than 1 hour's wait. I live in Shipton near the Lamb and will not eat there again, having had a similar bad experience on my one and only previous visit. There are far better pubs and restaurants in the surrounding villages.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank 0bjectivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visted the Lamb for the weekend along with our dog and we had a lovely stay. What more could you want than a cute inn with a log fire whilst enjoying gorgeous homemade food and a great selection of wines.
We had read that the odd person made comment on the noise whilst in the bedrooms, but whilst the floorboards may be thin this is what happens when the pub is an old country inn Full of character. A great spot for visiting local historic towns and dog walking!
We will be back! Thank you a wonderful stay in this charming country inn!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexbee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited on a snowy Saturday to stay over and dine. This is a high grade country inn - the rooms are comfortable and nicely decorated - lots of additional heaters for cold winter night. Bathrooms not city chic but well appointed with lots of hot water. Rooms are not inexpensive but are a fair price. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Food was excellent with good range of real ales and a well priced wine menu with excellent wines.

We have been to The Lamb once before and on both occasions were delighted. We will go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bad food but absolute arrogance about how good they are. They do not accept criticism at all. So many problems with meals over the course of a weekend. Do not go there. Overpriced and really not worth their "cosy" reputation. Tiny rooms and steep stairwells.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabeena Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Walked in and asked if they had a table and do they allow dogs, the said yes and then moved some people who were just drinking so we could sit and eat.
Staff were fab kept coming over to check if we needed anything, had prawns then fish and chips then ice cream.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipton under Wychwood
3.6 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sheep on Sheep Street
Sheep on Sheep Street
#5 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
5.8 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: High Street | near Chipping Norton, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Shipton under Wychwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shipton under Wychwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Shipton Under Wychwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing