We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bog standard has a new competitor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I booked this hotel at short notice to fly from stansted (the hotel is less than 10 minutes away).

I paid over £60 which was reasonable compared to £100 for other hotels in the area. But that's about it for compliments.

The hotel is very much a relic of the 70's, horrible carpets and decor throughout, a damp atmosphere through the hallways, then we enter the room....

As expected, an average bed with very average comfort. A TV (which was modern) received the two channels from the 70's. And a single plug socket that is shared with the kettle.

The bathroom was tolerable but is in desperate need of a deep clean or renovation. The same goes for the whole hotel, I think I will take my business elsewhere from now on. Other leading hotel chains nearby have much more up to date facilities and are closer to the airport.

Anyone with any military experience will understand what I mean if I say it's like living in the block. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 443 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

We arrived at this hotel at 12 o'clock after a flight, reception was all fine, although they tried to make us pay again. Corridors had very overpowering air freshener, as did the room but not quite as bad, probably to cover up the damp smell that became very clear after a quick glance in the bathroom, I wish I had taken a picture now, if it hadn't have been so late and we weren't so tired we would have asked for a different room. The bed was clean which was a consolation, but we left very early as didn't want to stay there any longer than we had too...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I stayed here after a return flight, so could have slept on a galloping hedgehog. It was a nice room, although the decor and bathroom was slightly dated and showing signs of wear.
My room was quiet, and i enjoyed the stay.
They did let me park the car there for free one extra night (while I was away), which was a nice touch and saved me a £20 airport parking fee!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emma b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Booked online and got a bargain deal for an Executive room for £25 on a Wednesday night.

Friendly and professional check in and check out staff. Room was a good sized double, with small fridge, and nice butter flapjack. Clean and tidy with minimal noise from the service station.

Excellent value for money

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I'm glad I didn't read the reviews because I probably wouldn't have booked this B&B. It's certainly no place for travellers expecting luxury, but if you need to be close to Stansted airport and want a good night's sleep in a clean, spacious double room (with extra bed), then ask for room no 2. It was nice and warm (much appreciated), with tea and coffee making facilities, TV, free WiFi, and a comfortable mattress. En suite bathroom was also clean with plenty of hot water. Don't expect a lot from breakfast, it's VERY basic, but then you really only pay 45 GBP (no parking charges as one reviewer mentioned). Will definitely go there again if we need a place near Stansted.

Room Tip: Ask for room no 2 if you need a double (with an extra bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudrun O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is just a place to stay. We have been on a number of occasions and there are some good deals to be had in terms of cost, especially if you need two nights. It is cheap, clean and quiet. A downside is the fact that then eating is usually too high and the. Airport and motorway are very close and noisy if you open the window. There is safe parking and cafés, restaurants and pubs within easy access. We don't use the service station for food as there are excellent places within a short drive....even for breakfast! We always go into Bishops Stortford. The Days Inn staff are helpful, friendly and efficient. Central London is less than an hour's drive on Sunday morning which is the best time to visit. Don't stay here if you want 'luxury '. Do stay if you want good value.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

There isn't much to say about this hotel other than that it's convenient to the M11 and that the staff do their best inside a property that smells as though it ought to be condemned. The room, at the end of a long corridor laid with what seems like outdoor carpeting and lined by prefabricated walls reminiscent of some eastern-bloc hospital, smelt strongly of must and mould. The walls were scuffed. Reception was responsive and welcoming when we arrived with no advance notice; we were knackered and needed to book a hotel quickly as we hadn't planned for a road closure on our drive home to Norfolk. The staff sympathised with us when we pointed out that the walk-up price significantly exceeded the web price, and as a result we booked on the web whilst standing in front of the reception desk. Great staff doing their best with a bad property in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
0.1 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
561 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,987 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Airport
Holiday Inn Express Stansted Air...
#4 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hampton By Hilton London Stansted Airport
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
0.8 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn London Stansted Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn London Stansted Airport

Address: Birchchanger Green Service Area Dunmow Road | Welcome Break Service Area, Bishops Stortford CM23 5QZ, England (Formerly Days Inn Bishops Stortford M11)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bishops Stortford
Price Range: $58 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn London Stansted Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes’ drive from Stansted Airport, this Days Inn is accessible from the M11 and provides free parking for guests. It offers rooms with private bathrooms and free Wi-Fi. Rooms at Days Inn Stansted Bishops Stortford include a TV, along with tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Guests can make use of ironing facilities, and bathrooms provide toiletries. Continental breakfasts are available, and guests have access to the range of dining options at the motorway service area. Bishops Stortford Rail Station is a 10-minute drive away, while Bishops Stortford Golf Club is nearby, just 5 minutes’ drive away. Mountfitchet Castle can be reached in 10 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn London Stansted Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bishops Stortford m11 Hotel Bishops Stortford
Bishops Stortford Days Inn
Days Inn Bishop's Stortford
Bishop's Stortford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing