We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively place”
Review of Baroosh

Baroosh
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Baroosh bar & kitchen is about you. We have five beautiful venues that are located in prime, high street locations in affluent towns and cities around the Home Counties. We focus on fresh food, wine, craft beers and classic cocktails from around the world. We try to do the simple things exceptionally well, striving to exceed expectations, whenever possible. The Baroosh vision is to provide an environment that will make you feel great and stay for longer! Our teams are rated by guests as friendly, attentive, interested & knowledgeable. We use renowned bar designer, Philip Harrison to ensure every bar welcomes you into a warm, relaxed and contemporary space. Edyta, Manager.
Cambridge UK
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Lively place”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

In my opinion, whether Baroosh is good or bad depends on what you are expecting from it and the purpose of your visit. When I've eaten there, there have been times when a waiter has been particularly nice and there is a dish I have especially liked and I've come away feeling "that was OK", and on another occasion a waiter was very slow, food mediocre and I've come away disappointed. After half a dozen visits I've now come to the conclusion that probably I will not bother to eat there again. But, as a meeting place for a group of friends, a place to have a drink (or two) amidst a lively and trendy atmosphere with, maybe, a few interesting nibbles before the whole group gets together and then goes on to the cinema, the theatre or even to another local restaurant where the atmosphere is a little quieter, less crowded, more intimate then it is ideal. So yes, it's great for that but it wouldn't be my first choice locally for dinner!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidBCambridgeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    46
    20
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Baroosh, all you need in one place.”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have visited Baroosh on several occasions. Their are two roomy areas to sit, either on the comfy couches and booths, or tables for all sizes of party. Great designer decor. Usually visit around 5.30 and have a few drinks, always served with a friendly smile. Stopped in one morning with girl friends to find the place filled with the morning coffee crowd. On another occasion had lunch and shared 3 items on a platter from the 'nibbly sharing menu'. Fat juicy sausages, freshly cooked fingers of fresh mackerel, and a pot of fish pate....great portions more than enough for 2 - couldn't actually finish it. All for £10 plus drinks. So Baroosh has several different faces, morning coffee shop, lunch , afternoon tea, wine bar, restaurant and I am sure a great night out. Don't know about the evening/nightclub scene - 'fraid my clubing days are over!! - I can highly recommend Baroosh.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ideal for a lunchwith friends”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

From working very close to Barrosh I would often pay it a visit at lunchtime when dining with a friend. I thought the food was nice and the staff friendly but a little slow sometimes, it is a little over priced but the decor and atmosphere are very up to date. A popular lunchtime choice and I would recommend it for a bite to eat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riri_ibb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've visited Baroosh in the evening but this was the first time at lunch. Really enjoyed it! The food was tasty and well presented - had a choice of sharing dishes and they were top quality. The place had a good laid-back atmosphere - plenty of people, good background music, no children and the service was excellent. Will return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tried to eat here twice - gave up twice”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Well on 2 occasions I have tried to eat here for breakfast on a Saturday and given up and left twice. We have eaten there in the past and found it passable but not memorable.
The decor and feel is wonderfulk and elegant but once we sat down ourselves (no maitre D to show or greet you) we sat for about 10 minutes and no one came by or near with a menue or for drinks. The first time we just left, with no one challenging or asking why.
The second time the place was a quater full with no one actually eating. Again we waited for a menu and eventually I went for one myself. As I picked up a menu a rude staff member barked "if youre thinking of ordering coffee's or food it will be about 20 minutes to half an hour". I dont know what else I was going to order in a bar at 10.30. Again we got up, dressed and left along with another couple who were waiting before us.
No one seemed to be in charge and there was little to no customer service. The place appears to be more style than substance and I doubt they will get a third chance to impress me. So many bars and restaurants open and close in Stortford, I think this wont last with this poor attitude and service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob.PLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baroosh also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Baroosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing