We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Sunday breakfast”
Review of Cafe Rouge - CLOSED

Cafe Rouge
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Late Sunday breakfast”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A friend and I wandered in, looking for breakfast after our morning walk and chose a nice table with comfy seats and relaxing, dim lighting. We ordered salmon and scrambled eggs and omelette breakfasts with a pastry basket to share. The service was professional but slow and we had to ask for our pastry basket to be served before breakfast was ready which took some time. The breakfasts were delicious and good portions but the bread served with the breakfast was very poor, somewhat like melba toast and not the fresh morning baguettes we expected. The pastry basket was poor too but the bread was better, we were given too little butter and one tiny jam jar to share. The latte was excellent. A good choice for a lazy breakfast/brunch if you don't mind the kids and prams eager for lunch!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    19
    10
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for Birthday's”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Been there a couple of times for friends birthdays nice food lots of space and polite staff good for parties!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ihavethreehearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Quite good chain restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a pleasant, comfortable restaurant, well situated. My friend and I both started with King Prawns with Chill & Garlic. (£6.50) These were tasty and good. My friend then had the Lemon Sole which he enjoyed. (£14.50) It appeared to be perfectly cooked. I had an 8oz Sirloin Steak with Fries (£15.50) This had no garnish but tasted okay and was perfectly cooked medium rare.
So, no complaints. The prices are, I suppose, fairly standard for a chain restaurant but I always feel slightly on the high side. I suggest looking for a voucher on the web. You may be lucky!
Incidentally, my wife has had a Lemon Sole at a different Cafe Rouge, which was overcooked and with a different sauce. So, don't blame me if you have one which is not perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience on 2 occasions”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Normally a fan of Cafe Rouge, but the Stortford outlet has too many covers, and too few customers. Lack of atmosphere and bustle doesnt fit well with French cafe style theme. On the occasions we visited, staff seemed bored and not very attentive, despite us having the place almost to ourselves. Sorry!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dcw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Quality Food”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Had a lovely meal for two. Took a voucher from the voucher codes website so was a bit restricted for choice but planned what we wanted to eat ahead of visit. Food was good quality especially for £12.50 for two main meals. The service was good. However, the waitress forgot our second order of drinks to go with our main meal. On pointing out the delay and replacing our order with coffees the manager brought the coffees to us and the waitress came over and had arranged for them to be on the house. An enjoyable meal and at good value.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LEESA65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing