We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent cafe for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Thyme

Cafe Thyme
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This cafe used to be called Phillers. It has been taken over by new owners and has been open for just over 1 year.
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Attentive staff who serve excellent value for money food. The owner oversees the quality of the food and the freshly cooked meals.

Pop in for a very good sandwich and coffee or a more substantial meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    12
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a hungry worker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I visit this cafe regularly for lunch on my breaks from work and have always been greeted will a friendly atomsphere, I'm surprised other reviews mention small portions as I feel the oppersite, anything I've ever ordered is normally overflowing especially the jacket potatoes, that's why I've never minded the higher pricing as I am getting the portion Ive paid for!! Overall a lovely little cafe and one I will continue to visit!! Oh also there homemade cakes are delicious!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolalos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced + not good value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I visited Cafe Thyme with a friend Mon 6 Aug (2012). The tea was so weak it might as well have been hot water + the slice of cake tho nice was ridiculously tiny. My friend`s coffee was ok but the scone she`d ordered was dry + crumbly so half was left. For this we were charged £8.50! Why are they so mean with their portions? the cake at its widest end was no more than an inch + half! Never again! Feel totally ripped off.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We had lunch at this cafe whilst away on a two night break nearby. We ordered sandwiches which arrived promptly together with crisps and salad. Both were generously filled and were very flavoursome. Cafe was clean, light, modern and airy. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Only negative comment was that we were surprised they didn't accept cards - only cash or cheques - perhaps need to think about moving in to the 21st century?

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank footballlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Good food, prompt service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Had lunch in this busy little cafe. The service was prompt, and the food was typical cafe fare, jacket potatoes, toasties etc. all well presented and portions generous. The scones were fresh and served with a good quality jam!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joanandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Thyme also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Thyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing