We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian with a difference”
Review of Chutney Joe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chutney Joe
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Indian with a difference”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Saturday evening spent in the excellent Chutney Joe,s. Very attentive and informed service and a good wine list. The restaurant is spacious and beautifully presented. The menu offers both Indian and Nepalese dishes. One of our party selected from the Nepal dishes and loved it and the remaining members sampled Indian. I believe the Chef is Nepalese and the influence is clear to taste in the delightful dishes. Well worth trying if you have not all ready.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This one wont be around for much longer!”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I visited this restaurant yesterday evening (13th May 2012) at 17:00. When one of the dishes arrived we took a bite each, it was awful. We turned it round. The waiter insisted we try something else. Releuctantly we accepted. When the dish arrived it had the same meat in it from the original dish.We know this because it had the bites missing from when we tasted it. We asked to speak to the manager to complain. The manager was very unhelpful. He refused to listen or apologise. All he had to say was that we had ordered the wrong food (even though we had spent a lot of time speaking to the waiterexplaining exactly what we like and asking for recommendation). The manager just stood infront of us ripping the lamb with his hands. We will not return to this restaurant. With all the high quality local competition we were shocked by the managers attitude. Avoid!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSBrett1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fantastic foods”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

a visit to this restaurant is a must for authentic tastes and flavors service and help was extremely good. A restaurant we will visit again when in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonyraymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Canfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst indian in a while”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Terrible food, even worse service and they tired to charge us for a meal that wasn't touched and sent back because it tasted disgusting. Avoid!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Looba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Some really nasty toilets!”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Food ok but fairly bland. Onion bhaji oily. Ladies toilets dreadful. Loo brushes would put you off your food. Made me worry about cleanliness in other areas! If I had seen these first I wouldn't have eaten in there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cramers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chutney Joe also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing