We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No room at the Inn!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Horse Shoes

Three Horse Shoes
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“No room at the Inn!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Called in there last night, which I appreciate was New Years Day but was turned away at 7pm as they said they were running low on food and they had been unable to order during the sessional holidays and as they had a large party coming in they could not take any more guests who wanted to eat, the place looked half full and we felt really let down. It look lovely and we would probably visited again and again if we had liked the same. What a let done, I must say the lady who spoke to us was very pleasant but in the age of recession surely pubs need all the trade they can get??

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamacer2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Horse Shoes, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear dreamacer2005,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise about the service you received at the Three Horse Shoes. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    111
    50
    57
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We have visited this pub often as it was good value for money. However we visited about 6 weeks ago and they had no pie of any variety left and there were also a couple of other things that they were apparently sold out of. We gave them the benefit of the doubt and returned last week but again they were out of a few options so really it's just badly managed! The service was slow and the waiter seemed to be in a permanent state of confusion (I assumed that it was the weight of the big rhinestone earring just weighing him down)!! The tables on this occasion were sticky and the place was looking very unkempt with curtains hanging of their rail and dust deep enough to cause the best of us to cough, but the toilet was spotless!

Helpful?
Thank Tralsiboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Horse Shoes, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear AlsBW,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise for your recent experience to the Three Horseshoes. We have passed on your comments to our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Chef & Brewer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great beer, good food, good for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Being a no nonsense tripadvisor reviewer with high standards I was pleasantly surprised by this good value gastro pub. The beer was outstanding (Ghost Ship), the food for all 14 of us was excellent and it had an ideal informal relaxed atmos, great for kids. We sat right by rear doors so garden was on hand. Staff were freindly.

Most of my reviews find places wanting, but for a good value pub restaurant this would be hard to beat.

I can imagine it going badly on occassion as the menu when we visited was very large so could be prone to the 'jack of all trades' effect. We are booked to go again in late 2012.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morocinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Need new chef!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have visited this restaurant previously and on that occasion the food was adequate.
On the evening of the 19/11/2012 the food was not up to standard.Poorly presented and not
a good dining experience.Granted we did arrive at 20.10pm, we should have been informed
that the kitchen was not in full production.I will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Airwaves255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Three Horse Shoes, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Airwaves255103,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of your latest experienceand have asked our management team to investigate the issues you have raised.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr Eamonn Abbott”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have visited the pub before but on this occasion (1/11/12) we were disappointed. I rang and booked a table. On arriving there was no booking recorded, we were given a table that was next to the outside door which was cold ever time someone walked through. We asked for Jacket Potato instead of chips, to be told that they had run out, which at 18.30 we thought was bizarre. When our meal arrived the mash potato we had ordered instead was cold. This was taken away and heated. On return my wife's seasonal veg was missing off of the plate . By the time the veg had been replaced my wife had eaten her dinner otherwise that would have been cold. All in all not a good experience. Try somewhere else...........

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eamonn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Horse Shoes also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Three Horse Shoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing