We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value in a Friendly Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value in a Friendly Pub”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The rooms are good value for money in a town location with all mod cons including multi channel TV and free wifi
Its got a motel arrangement and I liked it as I could park my car directly outside my room and had the choice of either being completely independent of the pub or going in it. You can come and go as you please.
The staff are very helpful and the pub is not expensive and great if you want good beer and a typical friendly English pub atmosphere. It would be good if they offered food all day but local eateries are close by
I have recommended it to friends

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    12
    7
    6
See reviews for
11
21
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The prefabricated lodge style rooms are only 30' (10 meters) from busy road where the traffic runs throughout the night, so if you want to sleep forget it. Because the rooms are made from a lightweight prefabricated material, there is little insulation for either noise, nor heat/cold. Carpets were dirty, toilet was 'streaked' in the bowl, basin did not drain. TV was tiny with a badly pixelated picture. Noisy because of night club next door so drunks shouting in the middle of the night is a given. Staff were superficially polite; I was charged £ 20 for not checking out before 11.00 am, I was not told about this, when I complained, I was told if I wanted my bag back, I would have to pay the £ 20! I would not stay here again, I found Bishop Stortford charming with the notable exception of this very expensive (for the level of accomodation and service) 'hotel'. This is all that epitomises 'rip-off' british hotels, they ought to be ashamed of themselves.

Room Tip: Avoid the place at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 789Tonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishops Stortford hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The rooms are good for the price but the carpets could do with a wash.the staff are very grumpy and when you want to order a drink from the bar you will need to go outside to the smoking area where you will find the bartender with the regular customers.this hotel is ok if you just want somewhere to lay your head with no involvement from staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregster140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

The rooms were chalet like next to a pub and were very good. Wireless internet was a bit hit or miss, was offline more than it worked. During the week it was pretty quiet but beware if staying on the weekend. The pub is close to a busy nightclub which does not close until the early hours and there are groups of young people outside all night, Fighting, drunken police involvement I did not get much sleep either Friday or Saturday night.
Amenities in the town were excellent, food in the pub was average.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pastyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sala, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

When arriving late at Stanstead airport, or when leaving early from Stanstead airport, this can be a useful place to stay. Bishops Stortford is the first station after Stanstead airport when using Stansteadexpress, second station when travelling with local train from the airport. We paid £2-3 per person for the tickets when coming from Stanstead airport.
When trying to find the "pubhotel", Jolly Brewer, please ask taxidrivers outside the train station or take a taxi (max 2 minutes) if you are carrying suitcases. We arrived late (around 23PM) and it was dark and hard to find the right street despite good directions from helpful people.
We had recieved the roomnumber and access code for the door by email so we didn't needed the help from the owners of the pub to get acces to the room. They charged our credit card so we didn't need to see them in the morning.
The room was simple and clean, beds a little bit soft, bathroom was small but ok. The furniture in the room was on the cheap side and a little bit dented. TV didn't work and it was too late to get any help fixing it.
There was "going through traffic" on the road outside (South Street) which was annoying and affecting the possibilities to sleep sound.
All in all; you get what you pay for...; £59 doesn't get you much but it was cheap.

  • Liked — It was near Stanstead airport
  • Disliked — Annoying traffic on South Street outside the "hotel"
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bishops Stortford
1.5 mi away
Ramada London Stansted Airport
Ramada London Stansted Airport
#2 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
Days Inn London Stansted Airport
#1 of 3 in Bishops Stortford
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Stansted Bishops Stortford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
292 reviews
2.3 mi away
Novotel London Stansted Airport
Novotel London Stansted Airport
#3 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
2,210 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Stansted Airport Hotel
Premier Inn London Stansted Airp...
#1 of 4 in Stansted Mountfitchet
3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge

Property: Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge
Address: 170 South Street, Bishops Stortford CM23 3BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Bishops Stortford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Bishops Stortford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jolly Brewers Travel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing