We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Host Restaurant

Host Restaurant
Price range: $8 - $47
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Amazing food, great atmosphere, great service! We were lucky to get a table for 2 on a busy saturday night without booking but were seated immediately by a very friendly (if not a little OTT actually...!) waiter. The menu is lovely with some exciting things to try - I had the halibut and my friend had Moroccan lamb, both were very well cooked and really tasty. The drinks menu is extensive too - some excellent cocktails! Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    48
    24
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Without booking, came here for Sunday lunch. The restaurant was quite busy, which is always a good sign. The staff were very professional and friendly, and soon took my order. My wife and I both ordered the Sunday lunch. Pork for her, and I had the beef. Wow! very tasty. You get a good portion of meat, with plenty of vegetables. Before the main had a starter Scallops for my wife and salmon for me. Again that was very enjoyable. With a nice dessert the bill came to £20 each. Well worth it. Great food and great friendly service. Although we have been here before, will come here more often.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackjHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love the food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been to Host downstairs, many times for lunch over the last ten years and the standard is always good. The staff are friendly and accommodating to individual needs and the food is cooked to order. We have tried other restaurants for lunch but this one is the best value and the best food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb Birthday garden party catered by "Host" in a marquee.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

We can highly recommend Host for their outside catering skills.We had 75 friends and family recently at a birthday party at home and Simon and Lucy the owners brought together the whole event helping with a four course menu choice best suited to the arrangements etc. All food was prepared and cooked freshly onsite and was really delicious and appreciated by everyone.
After the event everything was cleared away,tidied and left with little or nothing for us to do,
personally speaking we would not look any further than HOST if we have another party.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gulliver007London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood
Level Contributor
149 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant in the town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Good menu, good service, nice surroundings.
I have never been let down in this reasonably priced restaurant. A good atmosphere, perfect for a business lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alistairbarnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Host Restaurant also viewed

Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
Bishops Stortford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Host Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing