We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Review of Percy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Percy's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Certificate of Excellence
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It does exactly what it says on the tin!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you are looking for spas, games room, gym, or sauna Percy's is not for you!
If you are, however, looking for somewhere that you can go to for complete relaxation, to unwind in beautiful surroundings with superb food, then Percy's is the correct choice.
Dogs are welcome, and with acres of land to roam around your creature comforts are also catered for.
Tina and Tony are always the perfect hosts, willing to share their time to ensure your stay is memorable.
This was our 5th visit, and is certainly not going to be our last!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PercysOrganic, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Keith and Liz, what can we say.......... we feel lucky to have couples such as yourselves stay with us, you are more 'house guests' than customers! Thanks for another super review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    9
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
17
108
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Percy's is perfect for a weekend get away or a longer stay, providing a haven of peace and tranquility The accommodation is luxurious with masses of hot water and a big comfortable bed. The food is fabulous, imaginative, expertly cooked and beautifully presented. This was our third visit and we shall return again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PercysOrganic, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We are very appreciative of your great yet succinct review. It is always a pleasure to see visitors such as yourselves returning, which is an endorsement in itself. Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife & I recently stayed at Percy,s with our two dogs to celebrate our anniversary. We were warmly welcomed and the accommodation was very comfortable, the atmosphere very relaxing and the food delicious. Great walks around the extensive grounds completed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PercysOrganic, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your stay. We very much enjoyed seeing you here again and are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our first visit to percy's hotel and we were not disappointed . Extremely comfortable accommodation , a warm welcome including chocolate cake on arrival . The restaurant was in the main old house which had been extended and decorated in a bright , crisp and clean decor . The food which was cooked by Tina was wonderful and served by her husband Tony . Before we sat down to eat we had a drink in the bar / lounge area , enjoying the sunset and watching four horses frolick around their paddock . After a delicious breakfast we enjoyed a lovely walk around the estate .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PercysOrganic, Owner at Percy's Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are very appreciative that you took the time to comment on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us on your wedding anniversary and wish you both the very best for the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is our second stay here and we cannot fault the rooms or meals. The room was very warm and spacious, with armchair and sofa. The log fires in reception and the dining room coped well with the cold weather this Spring. The surrounding countryside is well away from any hustle and bustle and the farm/woods are good for a stroll (but wear the wellies provided because it can be muddy). Very relaxing. The food was fresh, healthy and beautifully presented - the best we have ever tasted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJB4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

sorry to say that this did not live up to expectations; the rooms are in a converted granary - the decor (curtains, upholstery) is faded, carpets a bit grubby and the sofas very uncomfortable. Although advertised that this separation of accommodation from the restaurant gives peace and quiet, sadly our whole meal in the restaurant (where we were the only guests) was punctuated by the full sounds of the kitchen - washing up, cooking, clattering - far from peaceful. The bar area is very small and the set up - having to walk across the courtyard to get to it and the restaurant - would be very frustrating if it was raining. Food was OK but nothing special - and at £40 per head for a set menu , no choice, very average and very overpriced we thought - we've eaten better this week for a lot less and even tea and coffee is extra. Unlike other places we stayed during the same week's holiday, Percy's was sadly lacking in ambience and personal touch. In fact, we invited the owner and his wife (who had been cooking) at the end of dinner to share our champagne and have a glass with us - as a toast- as it was our silver wedding anniversary that day. We still can't understand why he thought it appropriate to whisk off the remains of our champagne with alacrity - never to reappear with his good lady to toast our celebration. We can only hope they enjoyed quaffing our champagne!! Not only was there no acknowledgment of our special event - they weren't even there to say goodbye the next day. Very disappointing. Wish we had been aware that ,this is a B&B in nicely converted outbuildings - not, in the traditional sense, a country hotel with the cosy public areas, and amenities such as a pool, spa or games room one might expect. Nice cotton sheets!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We dined at Percy's for the first time recently and were the only group in that evening. Service was attentive and the hotel had been aware of our non-meat requirements and had provided a fish alternative. We had an aperitif in the lounge area (a small nibble would have been nice - nothing too much, but nice with our champagne). The seating was very comfortable and the wood-burning stove was very welcome.

Our meal started with an amuse-bouche which was delicious, followed with smoked salmon and avocado on assorted leaves. We had fish for the main course and our friends had lamb. The dessert was a highlight and truly memorable - a superb combination of flavours which really went superbly.

We took coffee back in the lounge.

We enjoyed the meal, but thought it would have been nicer if there had been other diners as we felt a little inhibited - not the hotel's fault and it was the beginning of February!

New diners should be aware that there is a set menu with no choice so if there are vegetarians or if you have dietary requirements you should contact the hotel and inform them. They do send you an email with the menu, but ours didn't arrive until late in the afternoon the day were dining. Maybe the website needs to make that clearer or maybe we didn't notice it.

We would certainly try there again, and now knowing what to expect would let the owners know in plenty of time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornishsnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginstow
5.9 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
4.3 mi away
Lifton Hall Hotel
Lifton Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lifton
329 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arundell Arms Hotel
Arundell Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lifton
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
482 reviews
18.4 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
22.2 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Percy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Percy's Hotel

Property: Percy's Hotel
Address: Coombeshead Estate, Virginstow EX21 5EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Virginstow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Virginstow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 50-acres of stunning countryside, streams and woodland, the panoramic views extend over both Bodmin moor and Dartmoor. This luxury privately owned country hotel offers peace and tranquility in a relaxed and informal environment with extensive organic kitchen gardens and 50 acres of pasture & woodland. Unpretentious dining, free Wi-Fi and parking. Dogs welcome in some of the rooms.Hotel awards include South West Small Hotel of the Year for two years running and runner up for Small Hotel of the Year for Great Britain. Each of the 7 en-suite bedrooms has its own unique character. All of the rooms are spacious and are equipped with king size beds, Egyptian cotton linen and fluffy towels and robes as standard. What they do share however is a homely ambiance infused with luxurious touches and comforts. Every room includes complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV, DVD player, designer toiletries and much more besides. There is a range of room types available, from Standard, Superior and Deluxe options as well as one suite.Among the many restaurant awards, an article written by by Giles Coren gave Percy's 9/10. Diners are well looked after and are treated to a culinary experience to remember. Specializing in modern British cuisine, everything is cooked to order beautifully presented. Flavoursome rather than fussy, all dishes are made from the very finest locally sourced or homegrown organic ingredients. Lamb & pork are reared on the Estate and the kitchen garden provides vegetables, herbs, salad leaves. The two orchards provide apples which are juiced and offered to guests for breakfast.The peaceful surroundings and excellent grounds make Percy's an ideal venue for special celebrations and private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Percy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Percys Hotel Virginstow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing